We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view overlooking the Nile River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Giza
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Beautiful view overlooking the Nile River”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

After back-backing throughout Egypt for 16 days, spending our last night on the 9th floor of the Sheraton Cairo (Nefertiti Tower) was absolute heaven. Very posh, clean hotel with many of the amenities one would expect, keeping in mind this is Africa, not North America or Western Europe. The bedroom was large with a small sitting area, bar fridge, tv, quiet air conditioner and comfortable king-size bed with huge soft pillows. The bathroom was very clean & modern - my only complaint would be the toilet paper was very rough; seemed odd for such a luxury hotel. Our balcony overlooked the Nile and we enjoyed the view with a bottle of wine (we got from the Pub downstairs). Hotel staff were great; extremely friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The location seemed good - a short walk to the Nile River and the Kasr el Nile bridge however, we didn't find any nice restaurants nearby and the food & drinks at the hotel are definitely on the expensive side (as is the hotel of course).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that the Hotel aspects and services have met your expectations.

Please rest assured that we have taken into our consideration any other comments you have mentioned in your review.

May I take this opportunity to convey to you that we have decided to close the Hotel for several months in order to speed up the renovation process. Hoping that you will give us another chance to host you at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel after the completion of the renovation in the last quarter of 2012.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    139
    65
    25
    21
See reviews for
52
112
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino end of June. I had a seminar there at the Nefertiti meeting rooms on the 23rd floor. The staff were really helpful in organizing the seminar, and the lunch prepared for the seminar was also good. It was held at a room adjacent to the Nefertiti meeting hall.

The pictures attached with this review, show the view of Cairo from the 23rd floor, the hotel's rooms, swimming pool, the Nile River, the Pyramids, and Sahit Al Midan. The view from the hotel is great, and you can see the Nile River, from any room you choose.

However, my stay at the hotel was average. Most of the restaurants were closed for construction work, and had breakfast and lunch mostly in the "Tea Garden". Big portion sizes, however they were too slow in serving the meals ordered (around 45 mins), and the quality of the food was poor, too oily, too fried.

As for the breakfast buffet served also at "Tea Garden" it presented a variety of turkey slices, white cheeses, yellow cheeses, boiled eggs, strained yohurt, one type of cake, grilled potatoes, bread/baguettes (the thyme baguette was delecious!), fruit salad, fruits, and others. But all were medium quality- nothing special.

I also tried the "Sapporo Teppanyaki", the Japanese restaurant, which is not to miss!

The rooms were average, and they seemed old. The porter and housekeeping people wouldn't leave easily without giving them tips!

All in all, if I visit Cairo again, I would prefer to stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and efforts to write about your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino. We really appreciate your positive comments you were so kind to give on the Hotel aspects and services and would like in return to thank you for your patronage of our Hotel.

Meanwhile, pertaining to the other comments, I would like to assure you that all points have been taken into our consideration for improvement.

Let me seize this opportunity to inform you that the Hotel is now closed for complete renovation which will take several months. We have taken this decision for the well fare of our guests and their satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino after the completion of the renovation where you will notice a tremendous change then.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Where to even begin how bad this hotel is? I'll just go on a number basis.
1. Hostels that charge 10$ a night have better service.
2. They charged us 220$ when most rooms were about 50$. Rip off we weren't aware off, since someone else booked it for us. Thought this was a Starwood property, so obviously it was trustworthy, but HELL NO.
3. The Concierge names Muhammad (everyone's named Muhammad lol) overcharged us for the stupid Giza pyramid trip. Then the guide who came to get us was a sketch bag named Mossad who kept giving us attitude. Mossad was an associate of Muhammad. It's like in Delhi or Kolkata, you refer your own or business is done through some one you know.
4. The 25$ breakfast we were charged for was so disgusting it's best not to talk about it.
5. Starwood (and the owner) let hte property go to hell. It was clearly nice at one point but now looks like a dungeon where creepy people might jump out behind you. No nothing like the Shining, but give it another year... actually what am i talking about, atleast the hotel in the Shining was nice... ...
6. The door guy ... the door guy the door guy. sketchy sketchy sketchy. This whole place. They all help each other out to rip off the tourists. (if you are white, please be aware). When we were trying to leave, the door man (they act like they are REALLY nice but have practiced the art of lying to a perfection. Acting is probably a better career for these desperate poor workers). he refused to let us get into a taxi. We had to literally scream at him to let us get into a taxi of our choice!!!! It was ridiculous we were elbowing our way through a hoard of taxi drivers fighting over us (and the doorman who's supposed to help us was instead referring us to this one dude - probably his friend or relative) the situation was so ridiculous i can't believe it even happened.
7. no bottle of water: they told me that no hotels in cairo (including the 5 star ones) keep water bottles in the hotel rooms.
8. the bed looked like someone had slept in it before we got there.
9. the housekeeping dude wouldn't leave us alone when we were leaving in the hopes of extra tips
10. UNICEF children's fund: im not sure if this is acceptable but usually from my experience if you want to leave any money for a charity whether it be UNICEF or the Emirates fund, or WHATEVER, you are normally asked ahead of time. They went ahead and added the money anyway! Without even asking or giving a notice.
11. BIggest peeve and irritable factor. Charged me for internet but there was NO WIRELESS CONNECTION in the stupid room. Ironically, the internet connection was labelled 'The Way Out'. And I took the advice. on top of that, it was wildly over charged.
12. SEcurity: ummmm... if you are a woman, please don't trust this 'security'. Creepy much?
13. The Cafe downstairs serving Illy coffee: great coffee, too bad dude can't make a cappuccino to save his life, and on top of that, the chair my friend was sitting down BROKE.
Positives: a) the AC was very much functional so that was awesome b) Bathroom was great, awesome hot water, the view was absolutely amazing. The beds were alright.
c) the lobby area has huge potential but relatively nice (this is on the first floor). d) restaurant on the Ground level seemed like itw as very nice but completely empty.

Overall, this property and the service was a a huge disappointment, especially because it claims to be a 5 star hotel, and is a Starwood property. Starwood needs to do a better job keeping tabs on what's going on. Other hotels in Cairo are not falling apart like this and there is no excuse for the despicable state this property is in. This is no way to run a business.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Cairo. I have thoroughly reviewed your comments and would like to assure you that all your concerns are put into our strictest consideration.

Meanwhile, would appreciate providing us with your contact details via the following e-mail address:-------- in order to be able to discuss with you your experience and investigate the matter accordingly.

Awaiting for your reply.

Sincerely yours,
Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giza hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
206 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I've stayed here several times for business in Cairo. Good location, near the Nile but don't expect to walk anywhere - you'll need a taxi. The hotel is large, has decent restaurants, a pharmacy etc - just like most major hotels in Cairo. Rooms are large but not great in terms of comfort/decor, they charge for internet and it doesn't work very well at all (spotty service and slow). The gym is large, but equipment is old and very outdated with a few new machines mixed in. One time I arrived around 10pm and they said they didn't have a room for me.....only after a major 'blow up' w manager etc did they finally 'find a room' for me.....but the amount of time and effort expended was unacceptable. Big breakfast buffet is fairly good, but not always included in rate. There are better options in Cairo for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Guest,

It gives me a great pleasure to read your positive review regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel and I would like to thank you for your words of your appraisal you were so kind to give on the Hotel aspects.

With regards to the other points, we have put them into our strictest consideration for improvement.

Hoping that you will give us another opportunity to host you.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Everything was brand new in this hotel and so gorgeous. You can see two of the three major pyramids directly over the pool and the fake waterfall. The food in the restaurant was expensive, but so good. The pizza was incredible! Drinks were a bit costly, but the outer lounge area was nice to sit in after the hottest part of the day had passed. We visited in low season, and the staff seemed to be very attentive. I think they were bored with no one to attend to.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback you were so kind to give on the Hotel aspects as well as the staff performance. It is really a great pleasure to learn that the Hotel location came to your liking.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
1.7 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,301 reviews
1.0 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.4 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.0 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 El Galaa Sq. Dokki, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Giza
#11 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,755 - ₹ 18,205
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Closed For Renovations Until April 30, 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers Hotel Giza
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers And Casino
Cairo Sheraton
Sheraton Cairo Hotel & Casino Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing