We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Zamalek”
Review of Horus House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horus House Hotel
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good value for Zamalek”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Friendly staff. At least adequate breakfast. And some of the rooms have fast Wifi (make sure you ask for that). Lots of things don't work here but they are always willing to help you. The location is prime, and this is a friendly, helpful place. Much better than other budget options in Zamalek.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
10
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Ridiculous price for what you get. Best I can say is that the rooms are clean and the sitting room has a bit of old Colonial charm. Otherwise it's a dank, oppressive place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccssgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Located in a relatively calm street of Zamalek, this small "hotel", located on the 4th floor of the same building where Longchamps hotel is (!), offers clean simple rooms and a warm welcome despite the cold entrance of the building. Old but clean furniture, nice bar, very kind personnel, and some interesting people living there for years! Breakfast poor. Good shower, internet free access from rooms. It reminded me of "Yaacoubian Building" novel. Make sure to meet Nabil,one adorable resident. Will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed at both the Horus Hotel and, upstairs in the same building, the Longchamps hotel. If you like modern plastic hotels, they are not for you. If you like big hotels, they are not for you. But, if you like an inexpensive hotel that is cozy and familiar, you can't beat these two hotels, their meals, the service or friendly atmosphere in the common areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankhlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We had a great experience at Hotel Horus. My wife and I arrived to the airport at different times and terminals as we were meeting in Cairo to begin a vacation. My wife was taken to a different hotel by a Taxi driver and told this was the Hotel she asked for. It took 24 hours to locate her after several trips back to the airport as well as use of the Hotels computer and phone. The staff were supportive and helpful in all areas of our stay. There were residents who make there home there who were very helpful as well. We stay in contact with our new friend there still today.
One must understand the "Egyptian way" and be prepared for the enviroment.
The hotel was clean,staff helpful with good value in regaurd to meals and transportation. After expriencing the rest of Cairo the hotel was a welcome site at the end of the day. Located on an island in the Niel, the hotel is in the area with the embassy's of many countries as well as private schools. As a result many of the locations around hotel had posted gards 24/7. We felt safe walking the streets even at night. The location is central to many sites we wanted to see and was in walking distance to local shops and Very good resturants because of he clientel in the area. The one thing we noticed was how Quiet it was there compared to the other hotel locations we experienced in Cairo, that was worth it after a long day of hageling for EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.7 km away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#56 of 138 in Cairo
9 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#33 of 138 in Cairo
489 reviews
2.8 km away
Tolip El Galaa Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.8 km away
Beirut Hotel
Beirut Hotel
#62 of 138 in Cairo
27 reviews
13.3 km away
Arabia Hotel
Arabia Hotel
#53 of 138 in Cairo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horus House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horus House Hotel

Property: Horus House Hotel
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,209 - ₹ 5,520
Hotel Class:3 star — Horus House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horus House Hotel, a 3 stars hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Buffet breakfast, an outdoor terrace and ticket service are available.Horus House Hotel’s rooms each have satellite TV and a work desk. A minibar is also provided, and guests can order in-room breakfast and room service.The staff at Horus House’s 24-hour front desk are available to assist with currency exchange or airport shuttle arrangements. Express check-in/check-out is also offered.Hot buffet breakfast is available each day, and guests can enjoy a drink on hotel Horus House’s outdoor terrace.Located in Cairo’s quiet Zamalek district, Horus House Hotel is 1 mile from both Ramses Train Station and Gezira subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Horus House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing