We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Ranked #93 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Expected better!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Ok so this is a 3 star hotel I was told but seriously, I have been to better 3 star hotels.I would rate this more like 1.5-2 stars.

If you want peace and quiet, this is not it! We were in room 301, a 2- bedroom apartment but we were facing the main road and this was downtown Cairo. The incessant honking of the cars were enough to drive one crazy and in the end , just to get some sleep, I had to put on ear -plugs!

The rooms were dark and reeked of cigarette smoke mixed with a musty smell.The tables and the windows were very dusty. It was December, so it was a bit chilly at night but the heater was not working.The bathroom was easily flooded after turning on the showers for 2 minutes, which spilled over to the rest of the bathroom making it rather unpleasant to visit the toilet. When we complained, nobody came to the room- we were just ignored.

The elevators were old and rickety and took ages to come up or down and we found it quicker taking the stairs.Breakfast was also terrible with horrendous service and stale cold food and absolutely poor choice.

The tour agent put it succinctly when I complained to her about the poor standards of the hotel- This is Egypt and a 4 star hotel is probably more accurately described
as 3 stars whereas expect 2 stars if it is accredited 3 stars!

Room Tip: If you have a car at your disposal, there is really no need to stay in downtown Cairo where everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oal151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have been back and fourth to cairo for a few years now and the ONLY place I wil stay is Cairo Khan! Ok so not all the staff speak english but they understand enough english that everything is fine. The staff are nice and protective and make sure that you are happy and comfortable. The building is old so not everything is prestine but come on its CAIRO EGYPT the most historical site in history! Do we seriously need a hair dryer when your just mear miles from GIZA! Yes the rooms are a bit smoky but they dont have a smoking policy... im telling you its a "lil" home away from home... The staff are now my friends! Its WORTH IT !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I've stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. While its nothing special, it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and have private bathrooms.

The Pros:
Good food
Good location to see the sites in Cairo
Friendly service
Clean and large rooms with AC that works
Walking distance to stores, restaurants, and coffee shops

Cons:
Cairo traffic can make it hard for some to sleep (same at all 3 star hotels)
Dated furniture, but its still serviceable and the beds are comfortable
No hairdryers

Cairo is not known for having a wide selection of good quality 3 star hotels. Most are horrible. The Cairo Khan is one of my favorite if you are traveling on a budget and still want a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileValleyTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Good for a couple of days stay not more. Make sure to learn some egyptian words cos you won't understand what some of the staff will say in English.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John71155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The Cairo Khan is in a great location in the city, which makes it a good value for the price. The rooms are nothing special--spacious but that's about it. Since you are in the heart of the city, honking car horns will keep you up at night, but that's part of the Cairo 'charm.' Other than the car horns, there's no reason why you can't have a clean, comfortable stay at the Cairo Khan. If you are a traveler who can get by without frills, then I recommend this as an acceptable place to stay. The breakfast was a nice plus--again, nothing fancy, but good nevertheless. This felt like a very safe, walkable part of the city, even at night.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
2.5 km away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#95 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.3 km away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
1.1 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#86 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#78 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.5 km away
Pharaoh Egypt Hotel
Pharaoh Egypt Hotel
#75 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 km away
Holidays Express
Holidays Express
#96 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Khan Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Khan Suites Hotel

Property: Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Address: 12 Sitta-W Ashrin Yulyu, Cairo 1244, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,430 - ₹ 7,951
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairo Khan Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cairo Khan Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Khan Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing