We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here twice over two weeks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here twice over two weeks”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Driving for the first time from the airport into Cairo through the chaos and noise that is traffic, and arriving at this quiet, inviting hotel was the best start we could have hoped for for our two weeks in Egypt. This hotel is an oasis. We stayed in Rooms 912 and 920 with 920 winning out for its larger size and its better direct views down the Nile. Every aspect of this hotel is first class; atmosphere, rooms, relaxing lounge areas, food choices, service, location. If we ever return, the Sofitel would be the first thing we booked.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms facing away from the park give a better view of the Nile although both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitchinlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    347
    100
    35
    37
See reviews for
249
428
123
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Its is an amazing hotel . Its architecture is attractive and its interior is another world . I found it affordable and kind of good for a 5 stars hotel ( the charged me 150 $ per night for a regular room , i stayed 2 nights ) .The lobby is excellent and during evening a pianist plays piano , which makes the place a gem . Staff are attentive and helpful with a big smile on their faces , even if you are always calling their help . Rooms are spacious and well decorated with a bathroom contains strong hot water shower and a tub with lots of amenties ( loved the roses on the counter ). The room has a balcony that looks at the nile (every room in the hotel has a balcony that looks at nile river ) . I had on it the breakfast with my husband ( plain croissants , coffee , tea , cheese , scrambled eggs , etc ....) , its was romantic . The spa was amazing and infinity pool was perfect . We ate a kababgy restaurant , we ordered kabab , sheesh tawouk , koufta and mezze . Also , we ate at morrocan restaurant some tajine . The nile restaurant was good , i ordered burger and salad . At night after 9:30 pm , Buddah bar turns from a sushi bar into the hottest night club in eygpt . Its is really beautiful and you can meet nice people , its a bit expensive ( 33 $ for a glass of champaigne )but worth it , note ( you need to be elegant and well dressed in order to enter buddah bar or you will be rejected by bouncers ) . If you are above the age of 21 , try your luck at the hotel's casino , i gained some money from slot machines ( also you have to be elegant to enter ) . Over all a memorable weekend , come a visit the sofitel el gezirah because its a true gem and oasis in busy cairo .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NANOABAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your detailed feedback has been very influential in the urge to improve to receive such positive comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel Sofitel El Gezirah is a fortress in a chaotic city like Cairo, where cars don’t stop honking but the must amazing part is, that even if you are in the middle of it you can’t hear a thing once inside the hotel. The staff is very attentive and will get you anything you request. The bedrooms are nice and spacious with a very comfy bed and amazing views of the Nile River. The hotel has the Buddha bar, however, it’s not as vibrant as the Buddha bar in Paris (it was a bit boring for us). It has 4 amazing restaurants hence; they don’t give priority to the guests at the hotel but to the rich patrons that frequent them. We had some trouble getting a table in the restaurant on Christmas day since the tradition is to eat on the Nile River. So if you ever go on a holiday, make sure to make reservations at the restaurants way ahead of time. All restaurants offer amazing food. The spa is also very nice and when you are done you get seated in a room with amazing views of the Nile.
The first day we had a guide recommended to us by the hotel, but he was a disappointment. Unfortunately, in a city like this you could find lots of sharks due to the financial crisis. He rushed us through the sights, got us in a short and rather scary camel ride between cars and not on the sand. He took us to his vendors that will pay him commission if we purchased anything. Please learn from us -- don’t do it unless an American company it’s involved. The next day we just hired a driver and told him where we wanted to go. He was fantastic. The time spent with him was the best part of our trip.
We had an incident with house keeping not doing our room after a long day of travelling but the manager promptly re-located us in to an upgraded suite for the inconvenience. Like I mentioned before, this is a fortress in a chaotic city whereby before arriving at the hotel your car gets search by the police and dogs, then at the entrance of the hotel you have to go through a metal detector and they will search your purse for guns. At times, I was tired at the inconvenience, but at the end I came to realize it was for our own security.
The hotel inside is just gorgeous, with very lavish décor and the piano playing at night made it very fancy. However, it was very hard to come out of it and find the old Cairo tarnished by the pollution. It could be a culture shock if you are not prepared for it. I visited in christmas 2010.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4theluvoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed her for a few nights before a Nile Cruise.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and check in was very slow. However our rooms were fine, on the 19th floor so although we could hear noise of boats on the Nile and the Call to Prayer it added to the ambience of our stay but was not loud enough to be a nuisance. The room was well equipped and very comfortable. We had a small balcony, although it felt a little scary standing on it it did give good views of the Nile and in the distance the pyramids. Breakfast was lovely, a buffet with plenty of choice, and the option of freshly cooked food if you wanted it. The pool was very nice - relaxing and cooling after a day sight seeing. One of the restaurants was not in use when we were there but we did eat in the kebab/grill restaurant which was lovely (although beware sitting outside, I got some nasty bites on my leg which lasted the duration of my holiday) and the Moroccan tagine restaurant - we ate here twice and both times enjoyed our meal. We had tours organised for two of the days we were there - the pyramids and the Cairo Museum - but on the first day the hotel organised a taxi to take us to the souk and the Citadel and the taxi driver not only drove us but escorted us on foot to where we needed to be and bought us turkish coffee/mint tea. Cairo is busy, dirty and noisy, but also vibrant and full of character and atmosphere.The people are friendly and optimistic for their future after the revolution but need tourists to return. We felt welcome and safe everywhere we went. A lovely hotel and a lovely start to our holiday.

Room Tip: High floor would be better to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your detailed feedback has been very influential in the urge to improve to receive such positive comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

At first the hotel is located central to maintown, in walking distance if You have feet for it. We were 2 adults and 1 child spending christmas at this wonderful hotel, and the staff. The hotel have a really good service, and always serve us upon what we want. The hotel have several restaurants and they can serve whatever You want. I can recommend this hotel for every traveller who want a relaxing place close to the Nile in central Cairo.
We stayed at the Hotel from 23. to 25th of Dec.2011, upper floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence. Please rest assured that your thanks would be conveyed to all staff concerned.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
2.1 km away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
3.7 km away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
1.5 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,493 - ₹ 17,956
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing