We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but not central”
Review of Conrad Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Conrad Cairo
Ranked #11 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are very accommodating. We arrived at about 2 am with our luggage lost and they sent up a couple of emergency packs and we were still able to get a bottle of wine, which we seriously needed by that point. Note: the women's pack had nail polish remover. Like I just travelled 18 hours, lost my luggage, and the first thing I need to do is my nails? The room was really nicely appointed with a great view of the Nile. The lobby is amazing. Food was good - just don't expect any bacon, or pork of any kind here. It was a little weird gettting used to going through the entrance/exit areas with scanners and armed guards, but given this part of the world, a necessary precaution, and the guards were really pleasant, as well as professional, all the time. The only thing we didn't like was that it was so far removed from anything. There was a mall nearby, but otherwise you had to cab it everywhere. Still, a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janett1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinMBrett, General Manager at Conrad Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor, and for your time posting them. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you
Kevin Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 925 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Conrad Cairo bills itself as "the luxury brand from Hilton", but it delivers a 3-star standard, rather than "luxury". Compared to others hotels in Cairo, it falls short.

The service is quite good, people are pleasant and attentive; the problem is the physical infrastructure and the price-to-quality ratio.

The building is showing signs of its age. Nothing dramatic, but the carpeting could use a make-over and the whole building could be renewed.

I had trouble sleeping every night during the seven nights I was there: I could hear people in the next room as if they were inside my own room... Perhaps the sound came through the air-conditioning vents, the fact is that people chatting loudly in the next room kept me awake every night. The curtains are not wide enough to cover the balcony doors: there is a lot of light coming in on both sides of the curtains, plus in the middle, where the two curtain sections join: they have been poorly designed (they should overlap in the middle) and be wider. The Four Seasons Cairo does this well, so why can't the Conrad do the same?

The bed was soft, but a bit too soft: it didn't provide enough support for my back, sinking too low in the middle. For a 5-star hotel this is below the acceptable.

The three restaurants are not bad, but overpriced considering that the quality is not that good. So you get 4-star quality but you pay 5-star prices. Bad combination. There are better options in Cairo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernandoLanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinMBrett, General Manager at Conrad Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor, they have all been noted and considered. Please allow us to share with you that the hotel is going under a full renovation starting 2013, so all the comments you mentioned will be taken care of. Hope to see you again after the renovation to give us your appreciated feed back.
Thank you
Kevin Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Im not sure if its due to the lack of tourism in Cariro but this hotel was not stellar.

1. There is a club in the hotel; however you must make a reservation prior to arriving at the club, if you try to just show up you will be stopped at the door by the bouncers.
2. The breakfast is terrible, on 3 seprate occasions I ordered an omlette only to find hair in my food.
3. The hotel staff are friendly which some of you might enjoy but its with a catch, they try to do basic choirs for you so they can get an additional tip like knock on your door in the evening so they can open your blinds
4. The pool does not receive proper sun due to nearby buildings so you wont be able to work on your tan.
5. The rooms on the executive floor are nice and spacious.
6. The dinner in the hotel is great no problems there order the Lamb you will love it.
7. The hotel is along the nile which is great because if you get into a taxi you have an idea of where you are at in relation to the land mark that you see along the nile.
8. If your a runner dont get to excited about outdoor running, the side walk along the nile is somewhat nonexistent and you dont want to try runnining in the street.
9. There are lots of men in the hotel especailly by the pool so if your a single male looking for a hotel to meet women this is not some place you want to go.

Room Tip: Get a room at the en of the hall 1837 its the largest room on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJetsonFromHarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinMBrett, General Manager at Conrad Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor and for your time posting them. Please rest assured that your comments about the hotel services have been noted and will be discussed with all concerned to address these issues and ensure they are in a better way. We look forward to seeing you again until then please accept our sincere regards.
Thank you
Kevin Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

i stayed there for one night..and i paid for extra 200 pound and i was promised to get them back on my way out of the hotel on my check out,,but 2 weeks till now and they refuse to pay me with no reason..i feel that i got conned by this terrible hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casterlouly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinMBrett, General Manager at Conrad Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Cairo and for your time posting your comments on Tripadvisor. I understand that our colleagues at the financial department have been in contact with you over the last few weeks updating you with the final situation of our investigations, and still, there is no record of the mentioned pending amount, neither at the hotel's bank account, nor at the POS centre (that is handling all credit card transactions in Egypt). We are still seeking your final update after you receive your bank's feedback. We look forward to receiving your reply at your earliest convenience.
Best Regards
Kevin Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed a total of 6 nights at the Conrad during the course of a two week vacation in Egypt. We were extremely impressed by the high level of service delivered by all staff we encountered. Everyone was pleasant and professional and very accommodating if we had a special request. We frequented the buffet for several meals and enjoyed the variety of western and Middle Eastern cuisine on offer. We were particularly impressed with the variety of breads which suggested to us that the Food and Beverage Director was keenly aware of the varying tastes of the hotel's international clientele. We had room service on our final night before a very early departure and were thrilled with the pad thai and chicken curry that were on par with our favorite Thai restaurant. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is very secure. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that has a "full" Nile view. Given the constant din of Cairo tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55nrdtofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinMBrett, General Manager at Conrad Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for your time posting it on Tripadvisor. We will share them with our colleagues and sure they will be very happy. We look forward to hosting you again at our hotel.
Best regards
Kevin Brett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.0 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.7 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 138 in Cairo
2,561 reviews
3.0 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.6 km away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.7 km away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#8 of 138 in Cairo
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Cairo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Cairo

Address: 1191 Corniche El Nil, Cairo 11211, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#5 Business Hotel in Cairo
#6 Family Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: ₹ 6,602 - ₹ 12,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent River Nile, Conrad Cairo is set in the heart of bustling downtown. This award-winning event and business hotel offers city explorers premium rooms, elegant dining and 24-hour entertainment with a glamorous International Casino. Conrad Cairo offers spectacular River Nile views from every room. Enjoy easy access to city center businesses, as well as legendary attractions such as the Sphinx and Giza Pyramid. Extensive amenities include an on-site health club featuring the latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, saunas, massage services and heated swimming pool. Hotel boutiques, florist, beauty salon and shoe shine are also available for your convenience. Six outstanding restaurants and bars offer round the clock dining and entertainment. Visit the International Casino with a cocktail in hand and experience the glitz and glamour of Stage One bar. Our hotel is now in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame, receiving outstanding traveler reviews and a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence five years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Cairo Hotel Cairo
Cairo Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing