We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulence and history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
QLD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Opulence and history”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Marriott in Cairo was my first experience of such lavish opulence and it definitely ruined me for further travel. This has been the benchmark for all other stays. This is not a hotel, it is an experience waiting to happen to you. Every little detail you can possibly imagine is carefully tended to by dedicated and extremely attentive staff. Meals in all the restaurants were exceptional, the rooms are absolutely marvellous.And the history behind it makes it so much more interesting than just being a plush hotel in a busy city. I doubt I was the first guest to ever claim they didn't want to leave, ever ! To say it's value for money is an understatment - you can't put a price on this kind of magic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anubis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,



We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. Thank you for sharing your experience. The hotel as you mentioned is a historical Palace, originally built by Khedive Ismail Pasha for the inauguration of the Suez Canal celebrations in 1869. The Palace housed European monarchs, including Empress Eugenie, the wife of Napoleon III, and was also the venue for the first performance of Verdi’s Opera Aida.



Once again thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.



Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    649
    180
    72
    51
See reviews for
335
562
186
714
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I prefer to stay at marriott hotels while traveling, and the cairo marriott did not disappoint. I have actually stayed there twice in the past year and a half, and wish I was staying there on this current trip in cairo.

the hotel is located in the zamalek neighborhood, which is actually on an island in the nile. it is very close to downtown and all of the attractions that are there (egyptian museum, the khan, islamic cairo, coptic cairo, etc.). zamalek has many great restaurants and is very safe to walk around in, even for single females. there is a convenience store right next door where you can pick up drinks or snacks as needed.

the grounds of the hotel are beautiful. there is a wonderful patio area where you can have drinks, food, and shisha. it is often quite crowded and good for people watching. I've also found the room service to be dependable and of good quality. there are several restaurants on the property, and even more within an easy 10 minute walk. the rooms are comfortable and clean. you can adjust the heating and air conditioning in your room. housekeeping can be a bit overbearing, but I would rather that than the reverse.

be cautious of taking a taxi from the hotel, as you will often be charged twice as much. walk over to the street and hail one from in front of the gas station.

I definitely recommend this hotel (and this neighborhood) when visiting cairo.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel more than 15 times in the last 25 years and I am amazed at the consistent quality. It never disappoints. The staff may change, but the standards of service do not. It is a haven of tranquility in a wonderful but crazy city. Sitting on the terrace, especially on a Friday, watching the world go by is one of Cairo's enduring treats. This was built as a palace and to me, it still is.

Room Tip: Garden view and Nile view are both good. Zamalek view is less so. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear guest,


We are delighted that you consistently enjoy your stay with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. Our hotel as you know is an oasis in the heart of downtown Cairo and we hope to welcome you back again soon.




Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Car
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A very luxury charming hotel with nile view .... decent staff .... great restaurants and in the heart of Cairo ....highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Islam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Mr. Islam,


We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your last stay in Cairo, thank you for sharing your experience.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.




Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was only here for 2 nights but it was absolutely perfect. Staff were professional, food was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. Gym and pool area were excellent. I was able to walk to the Egyptian museum, took about 20 minutes. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Internet was expensive....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.1 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.0 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
2.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 km away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
1.7 km away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,173 - ₹ 15,381
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing