We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“For the rough and rugged” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairo Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairo Moon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 48 Cairo B&B and Inns
Colombo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For the rough and rugged”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Was in Cairo in March and stayed one night in the hotel. Early following morning (after I booked online) I received a call from the hotel. Mohamed wanted to find out whether I needed to do any tours and a taxi. I explained all that is already taken care of. I stayed there only one night and felt it was a bit unfriendly in terms of the atmosphere. Well some of the reviews talk about views of the Tahrir square, but my room had none. It was opening up to the shopping streets below. So maybe you need to request for a room with good views.

Breakfast was really basic. Had buns, butter, cheese and a boiled egg and jam and one mandarin. My coffee came without an option of milk. It took a long while to get that replaced. Not sure whether they were out of stock with milk or something. So in terms of serving the meal the service was not great.

In the night it is difficult to find the place as the name sign is not facing the street. Got a bit lost returning in the night after an evening out.

The lift to the hotel is really exciting and ancient. Felt like a bit of an adventure.

It was really cold in the night. The walls are not insulated properly, so don't expect to get in the room and feel warm and cosy!

I asked for my phone to be charged and left it charging in the hall area. So, in that sense, it is homely and safe enough. A random person will not walk away with your belongings.

It is really for the rough and rugged.Really not sure whether it is great for families in my view, but it seems like lots of families somehow have enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DilSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
25
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

i stayed there for one night. The location was good, near SADAT metro and Tahrir Square. The room which i stayed was spacious, clean and tidy. Not to mention the attached bath, free Wifi and tv facilities. Best part was that the manger of this hotel himself arranged for us the Pyramid trip and a short Nile Dinner Cruise. Both were good and up to my satisfaction. The hotel service was also good. I would definitely recommend this to budget travaller.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_soumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here on business for nearly a week. It must be said this is a budget hotel, at a cut-rate, so it isn't as polished as a chain or five-star. The breakfast was fair, but not lavish. The location was great, and the "lobby" or common space was nice to sit and chat with other guests or the staff. Mohammed and his staff, particularly Ibrahim, made me feel very welcome, and took care of anything I asked for. On short notice I needed a car arranged to take me to appointments all over Cairo, and it was arranged immediately for a good price. Cairo is an eclectic city, with pockets of extreme poverty. The Egyptian people I encountered were all fantastic, caring folks. And the staff of the Cairo Moon was no exception--they were honest and fair. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

When it comes to budget hotels / guest houses, there is little to beat Cairo Moon.

This was our first stop on our trip to Egypt so naturally we were a little un-sure about a 'hotel' on the 8th floor of a block.

We arrived at around 5.30am and there was no-one to greet us. Bought a sim card at the airport and phoned the hotel - it turned out there had been a misunderstanding as they had expected us in the evening. Within (literally) 10 minutes of our call, the owner, Mohamed had arranged a taxi by phoning his contacts at the airport and we were on our way. (incidentally no charge for the taxi)

None of the budget hotels in Cairo look like anything from the outside and Cairo Moon is no exception. There are, however two old operational lifts that take you to the reception area. Once there you will be looked after by Mohamed and his friendly staff.

They gave us breakfast and a room for the morning as well as tea, coffee and water. We went out later and when we returned we opted for another room as the one we had been given had no outside window. No problem - next day we were given another room more to our liking.

Being a budget hotel, the facilities are basic, but we had satellite TV, en-suite shower (over a small sitting bath - water pressure very low) and fresh sheets every day (if we wanted). The room had a dressing table and two wardrobes (our large family of 4 was staying in the room).

More importantly, when we came down to the lounge and balcony, we were always offered tea or coffee and there was always someone on hand to help us with the intricacies of getting around Cairo. Mohamed owns a tour service but he does not force it on you. If you want something (for example we arranged a taxi to Giza, Saqqara and Mephis and an evening on a boat to see the belly dancing), he will arrange it for a competitive price (no need for incessant bargaining).

He is also a mine of information on what to do in the rest of Egypt and can arrange tours of any other areas if that's what you want.

The hotel is positioned within walking distance of the major markets, the museum (and the Nile) as well as one of the major underground stations (well worth using at 1LE (around US$0.17) to go anywhere on the line.

The room prices are excellent - even by Egypt prices - and tea, coffee or water is provided at any time of the day at no extra charge. Wifi is free as is the use of the hotel computer and even the extra breakfasts that we had on both times we visited were not in the final bill.

We we had booked at the Cairo Moon for 4 days and ended up staying 7. When we returned at the end of our stay, it felt as if we were coming home and we got a welcome to go with it.

Can I recommend it - no question. If you are on holiday or business and you're looking for a central location in Cairo, this is definitely the solution!

Room Tip: There are a couple of not-so good rooms but as we needed 4 beds, I think it was a little more diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

general opinion is really good service. I stay in three others similar hotel in the Tahir area, but this is for far the best hotel, I have a big room with terrace, breakfast in my room, wi fi internet, bathroom and room really clean, close to the mayor atraction in the center city. I absolutely recomend this hotel for business, friends or family travel. really good experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.1 km away
No photo provided
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 km away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 48 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 km away
Cairo Paradise Hotel
Cairo Paradise Hotel
#1 of 48 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Moon Hotel

Property: Cairo Moon Hotel
Address: 28 Adly Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,296 - ₹ 5,389
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers all of the comforts of home in the center of downtown Cairo. Our colorfully designed, immaculately clean rooms are equipped with A/C or fan, and some offer a spacious balcony. We invite you to enjoy breakfast on our shaded terrace overlooking the city. We offer free hot drinks throughout the day and night, so you can relax and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cairo Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing