We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Bella Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Luna
Ranked #4 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a great experience at the Bella Luna hotel. But don't judge the book by it's cover. It is quite the eye sore from outside. However, once you get inside it is very clean and comfortable. For the price and location, it is tough to beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EROCKREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    50
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
33
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wijchen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Had a great stay at Bella Luna.
The staff was friendly (let us use a room even when we had checked out already). Great help booking the rest of the trip.
Don't be deceived or put off by the outside of the hotel. It looks awfull! The inside is nicely decorated and clean.
If you want to stay in the heart of Cairo, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We arrived at the Bella Luna in the dead of night, while the hotel slept and we wanted too. It is a shock experiencing Cairo traffic for the first time, and we were broken in gently by experiencing it first at 3am, even though it is still very busy.
We stayed in Bella Luna for our first two nights in Egypt, and then one more night before we flew home, it has a great central location to experience the 'real' Cairo, and is in walking distance to the museum.
From the street outside you would barely know there was a hotel there, as you enter down a small alleyway and up a rickety (but brilliantly unique) old elevator. As soon as you cross the threshold though the hotel is lovely, decorated with quiet pastel colours and old iron furniture. The rooms are large, clean and the air conditioning works perfectly. The ensuite bathrooms are clean, and although the water takes a while to heat up, when the showers get going they are great and powerful.
Breakfast was simple, but nice, and perfectly filling for a day out horse and camel riding around the pyramids!
Hany, the travel agent in the hotel, is great, he sat with us for ages and described all of the various trips and excursions available and various prices to match. He even booked us flights to Luxor (which he found cheaper than the train), hotel in Luxor (which was great, ive reviewed that too) and 4 days worth of tours and airport transfers. And, all for a brilliant price. If you go there definately talk to him, he can make your holiday!!
The hotel will also arrange drivers/guides for where ever you want to go, all i can say is ask for Hatem, we had him for the entire week, he was funny and knowledgable and a first class driver on this manic roads. He even stopped and bought us coffee at his local coffee shop!
One thing the hotel offered which we were so grateful for was after our last day out seeing the city, they let us use a room to shower and change before our night flight home, for free, a nice touch we thought!
Oh and there is free and fast WiFi available, which is a nice added bonus!
A great hotel, cheap, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. Will definately use again when we go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed in Bella Luna hotel for the last 3 nights in Cairo, excellent central location, very close to the museum and in the heart of Downtown Cairo. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean, large and well furnished, the air conditioning worked like a dream and the free Wi-Fi was pervasive, high speed and easy access. The first night i had a room was was overlooking Talaat Harb St, for light sleepers i would not recommend this as it was very noisy all hours of the night and morning and without ear plugs you would not sleep well. I changed my room for one overlooking the back alley and it was perfect, no noise, same standard. The en-suite bathroom was clean and well maintained, the hot water does take around 5 minutes to come through (you have to run the shower for a while) but there is a notice warning you of this on the door of your room. There are refreshments available for a good price, and the free incl. continental breakfast was a croissant, bread roll, cream cheese, butter, jam, unlimited tea or coffee and a boiled egg. As a solo traveller i was missing some sort of social area to meet other guests but i kept myself occupied by using a guide to get around (they can organise this for you - do not try and get around Cairo without a guide, you will get ripped off).

Great stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main road, as they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lurogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I couldn't decide whether to take my wife to a 4 or 5* hotel or save money here and enjoy Cairo without thinking about money. I'm really glad we listened to all the positive reviews.

Good bits: staff, the cleanliness of the rooms
Best bits: hot powerful showers are great, they serve breakfast at any time!
Not so good bits: sound of traffic - was fine for us but not for light sleepers
Top tip: if you take the hotel's driver to the pyramids INSIST several times you don't want to buy anything or go to a papyrus museum/shop.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mellifluous2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.8 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
1.0 km away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
579 reviews
2.1 km away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,555 reviews
0.3 km away
Dahab Hostel
Dahab Hostel
#1 of 126 in Cairo
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Luna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Luna

Property: Bella Luna
Address: 27 Talaat Harb St, 3rd Floor | Downtown, Cairo 99999, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,095 - ₹ 2,126
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bella Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of comfort and tranquility in the bustling heart of Cairo. Bella Luna rooms are • Spacious (fits a double bed and a single bed), • Cozy with their own sitting area• Quiet (no street-side rooms)• Furnished and outfitted for maximum comfort with top-of-the-range mattresses, complete private bathrooms (shower, toilet and sink), brand new silent air conditioning units,budget tours all over Egypt, Enjoy WI-FI & the FREE pick up From OR to airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bella Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Luna Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing