We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel of Cairo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is probably the most sterile hotel I have ever stayed in, It has no ambiance of it's own at all. It also is set up very strangely, the elevator is around to the back in an alcove, the restaurant is the restaurant and the bar at the same time but there is no alcohol at all in the hotel so why call it a bar. It has no real amenities to speak of the whole hotel is just sterile no character of it's own in fact I did not have a good feeling about it I worried the whole time I was there. Yes it has a good Nile view but nothing else. The food was poor the desk people were generic and the gift shop sky high in prices. I only stayed there because the price is right but never again.
Collie

Room Tip: The Nile river rooms are very noisy so if you'd like quiet ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Madame, Sir
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairo El Borg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosolaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 March 2012

very nice hotel, with good service and excelent food!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vasaio012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Madame, Sir

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Sincerely,

Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at the Novotel for 5 nights and really enjoyed my stay, I would definitely stay there again. As I have been to Cairo many times I opted for a cheaper city view room on the 3rd floor, you can get a fabulous Nile view from the roof if you want one. My room was a non-smoking room with a great view of the Cairo Tower. The rate I paid included a daily breakfast buffet which was fantastic. There was a really good variety each day and all of the food was fresh and replenished quickly, the hot dishes were always hot & not lukewarm. Make sure you sit in the non-smoking part, I made that mistake on day one.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was a really nice touch. The bathroom was fine but with no bath, if you like that sort of thing. The fridge in the room was not very cold & there was no way to adjust the temperature but you can get ice/bucket from the restaurant.
The hotel is in a good handy location, within easy walking distance to Tahrir, Museum, Downtown shops and restaurants & Zamalek.
There is free internet in the lobby (2 computers with super large screens) and a session lasts for 20 minutes, you get a warning before the time is up to save your work and it's easy enough to log in for another 20 minutes. You can also get free internet in the lobby cafe if you are having a snack or drink.
The pool was small but clean and the staff, especially Ashraf were helpful.
There is no alcohol served in the hotel but it's only a short walk to the Shepheard hotel over the bridge and I had no problem bringing in alcohol from Drinkie's outside.
I had a room service meal one evening which was really tasty and swiftly delivered – club sandwich and fries 37.5LE & 12% sales tax. I used the laundry service and if you put it in by 11am you get it back the same day – 11LE long trousers, 12LE for a long sleeve shirt and 5LE for a pair of socks.
On my arrival day, I checked the mini bar and realised that the fridge was missing a few items. I was out all afternoon and so did not get around to asking for it to be re-stocked until the next morning. I had to check out early in the morning on my departure and did not realise until later in the day that I was charged for the missing items.
Another small annoyance was that I got a phone call on the first three mornings from the tour desk in the lobby asking me if I wanted any tours. I did use the hotel limo service for my last morning as I had to catch a train to Minya very early and did not want to be late. They did not show up at the appointed time but after speaking to the reception staff (tour desk unmanned at that time) they arrived about 30 mins late, I still managed to get my train.

Room Tip: Great view of the Cairo Tower from the City view rooms and a great FREE Nile view from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nefertari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Madame, Sir

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel


Sincerely,

Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

After a late arrival at Cairo airport we chose this place mostly for practical reasons. This choice turned out very good. The rooms are spacious enough to accomodate two adults plus two children without surcharge (Novotel policy). Very nice breakfast and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Check out the roof top restaurant and the whirlpools overlooking Cairo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Ms,Mr

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg
we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,620 reviews
2.4 km away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 141 in Cairo
1,721 reviews
2.7 km away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.9 km away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: ₹ 5,995 - ₹ 10,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing