We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doulos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doulos Hotel
Ranked #90 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
942 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We didn't realise how lucky we were to stay at the Doulos until after checking-in and starting to explore Seoul that we realised what a fabulous little gem of a hotel the Doulos was. The hotel is hidden away from the main streets, and so it is always peaceful, the staff were consistently polite and efficient. The hotel presents as seen on their website, at the time of our visit the restaurant was nearing the completion of a renovation. Our room was clean, non-smoking as requested (if this is important to you make sure you request it), quiet and has air-con which the guest can control, but we could open the window with little street noise. Our room (#509) was small, with the bed pushed up against the wall, but we knew this on booking, but it was not too much of an inconvenience because you are not in your room for long. There is free WIFI with good connections, as well as Ethernet internet connection, 2-3 English speaking tv channels, a mni frig which is stocked with 2 bottles of Evian water and 2 small chocolates each day of your stay. There is a computer for guests to use for free also in the hotel.

Breakfast is served from 7-9am only, so you may have to set your alarm to not miss out. On offer there is a variety of food to start you on your day: Soup, breads and pastries, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, salad ingredients (lettuce, gherkins, tomato, cucumber, corn), boiled eggs, cooked sausages, tea, coffee and juice.
In the local area there are some fabulous restaurant servicing great food and drink at good prices, but you really need to be able to speak and read Korean to be served, we were fortunate to be traveling with a South Korean.

If you stay at the Doulos Hotel you will be in walking distances to most downtown Seoul attractions saving you subway fees, nearby is the Cheongyechon stream, make sure you go for walks along here, it is safe day and night. The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the subway, Jongno3-ga on line 1, easy access to the Seoul station for connecting services to the airport or for further travel in South Korea.

If ever we were to return to Seoul, we would definitely make the Doulos our 'home'.

Room Tip: Consider the size of room that you would really like, if you are capable of climbing in and out of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    254
    49
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
171
136
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you are looking for a place just to rest after a long day, this hotel is perfect for you. Rooms are pretty small (we got a deluxe - which is tiny; and a twin/double room - which is more manageable) but clean. Great Location.. it is near the tourist sites like the gyeongbukgung palace, the stream and a few stops away from Myeongdong as well. Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful - they were able to help us book Nanta and restaurants and they make an effort to communicate in english. Basic breakfast is included for free. And fast wifi as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The one thing that is great about Doulos Hotel is its location. Tucked away in a little alley off the main drag near Jongno Sam Ga metro station, it is walking distance from some lively areas of downtown Seoul, such as Insadong or the nicely landscaped Cheonggyecheon creek. What makes Doulos the hotel of choice in this central area is its price. It is very unlikely that you would be able to find anything in the area for the roughly $100 we paid for our room, so if you are a bargain hunter and aren't fussy about room size or amenities, then Doulos is for you.

Our room was basic - the size of a matchbox, it had a double bed, dresser, TV, and.... that's it! This is probably the first room we have ever stayed in that did not have a closet. Instead, they just had some hangers. There was a small fridge with a couple of chocolates and two small bottles of water - I guess you could say this was the "minibar." There wasn't even a kettle and tea bags. What was also a bit annoying was that there was no safe in the room, so we had to either carry our passports and valuable with us, or lock them in one of our luggage bags when we went outside. The bathroom was fine, nothing special, but clean enough, and it was nice that they had dental and shaving kits.

The breakfast was the most basic we have ever had in any of our stays, not that we always stay in five stars or something. There was toast, hard boiled eggs, some other very basic items and some hot water and tea bags. Only paper cups, which also had some Christian-themed proverb about sleep. We had the breakfast pretty much every morning for its nutritional value, but you wouldn't be missing anything enjoyment-wise if you skipped it.

The staff were very courteous and helpful, and they were definitely a highlight of the hotel. Whenever we asked for something it was promptly done, so the staff definitely proved to be very dependable.

Another positive thing about the hotel is its free and fast wi-fi connection, thanks to which we were able to entertain ourselves in the room using our smart phones.

If you are looking for convenience and reliability rather than luxury, than Doulos could be the ideal hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mongoose1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here in October on a stopover en route from Japan and it was perfect.
I would advise guests to print out the detailed directions given by other reviewers before you go if you do stay as we did and would definately have struggled without it.
It is just a few minutes walk from the airport bus stop and this is a major plus point.
I would forgive the fact it has small rooms as this is quite normal in this area of the world.
Good walking distance to a lot of sights and the subway which is very important.
Breakfast was great and was badly needed as we struggled with the Korean food I have to admit. If we were to return to Seoul I wouldnt hesitate to rebook.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

It is a boutique type hotel with nice furniture, very clean, and very confortable. Once you find it, it is well located.
When you get off the 6002 bus from Incheon airport you will see a small pharmacy with a green cross on top of the door. Take the small alley next to it and you will find the hotel on your right, on the third street.
There is a huge buffet breakfast served in the theater room.
Also it is interesting for 10,000 crown to take the city bus tour that allows you to stop anywhere on the trip, all day. There is a stop on Namsan Dong about 3 streets south in front of Prince Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FfromMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#78 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#96 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#72 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Rian Hotel
Rian Hotel
#85 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Makers Hotel
#49 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doulos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doulos Hotel

Property: Doulos Hotel
Address: 112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#48 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,668 - ₹ 5,699
Hotel Class:3 star — Doulos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Doulos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doulos Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing