We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #11 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Do not expect a 5-star hotel, but the convenient location and reasonable rates make up for the basic but functional facilities and service.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank leando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 719 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I spent a couple of days researching before I decided to book my two-night stay in Seoul at Metro Hotel. The reasonable rate for a single use business room along with the location and the good reviews here on TripAdvisor all helped me make the decision.

All in all, I'm confident I made the right choice. The service was great, the standard of the room was very high, and the breakfast was sufficient (though not great). My only problem was with the free wifi, which was very unstable.

The location made it the perfect starting point for sightseeing, shopping and dining. If I come back to Seoul, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flight17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Modern simple Hotel in the middle of Myeongdong.. Travelled with 2 kids aged 3 & 4 from 27 mar 2012 for 7 nights.. Breakfast was basic.. Location perfect to the subway. You can find food everywhere due to its prime location.. Service was excellent. The reception helped us to book a taxi back to our airport. We took a bigger sized taxi for more comfort. It costs us 95000krw one way. Slight jam & took us 1hr 10 mins.. This was a better deal compared to the private airport transfer which we have booked online with the local tour operator. That is 150000krw.. Plenty of pamphlets at the lobby area which have various kinds of local tours that can be reserved within a 24 hours notice. Talk to the receptionist, they will be glad to assist. Loved the laundry room on the 7th floor that was efficient complete with dryer & cost 2000krw per load. We have enjoyed our stay in Seoul & thank you Metro Hotel for the hospitality. I have given a 4 rating as i felt that housekeeping can be improved. We have seen much better in other hotels of similar capacity.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikinY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skysong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Mr/Ms KikinY3

Greetings from Metro hotel!
Thanks for your time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you found our service was excellent. As you commented, we are always glad to assist our guests. Thanks for mentioning our housekeeping, I have addressed your feedback regarding the room cleanliness with room manager and housekeeping team to rest assured that we will endeavor to improve in this area.

I appreciate your review again and we look forward to seeing you again at Metro hotel.
Thank you.

Warmest regards
Sky Song

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel always full,so must book early by call direct to the hotel or you will wait for ages the reply mail.Bus 6015 stop in front of the Ibis hotel then you continue walk up 2 more alley (car allowed to run ) ,turn right the 2nd alley about 100m that Metro hotel and Smootthie King in one building.
the hotel check-in 3:00PM (strict rule) do not think hotel will relax their rules.Room very clean ,the aircond -heater work good but in bathroom sometimes has smell from sewerage because of water we use not enough to flush them out,you would smell this stink in the street too so the best is open room window a bit to get fresh air..
At night ,from the window of your room if you look down ,you will see the night market activity,maybe nothing you can buy but many young couples make it like a festival with ice cream on the cone that high 30 cm ,BBQ squid,shrimp or a cream puff big as a Big Mac,,.many restaurant or food stall around but price mostly 2000 W( 2 USD ) and highest is 30 thousand won .Remember ,food sell in the supermarket very expensive I do not understand how they can offer very cheap and tasty food at the night market and restaurant around.
Lotte hotel and department store opposite Ibis sell quality clothes and jewelery but pricey,under ground store a lot cheaper but local make products.
The hotel breakfast very simple and plain,today has boiled egg then tomorrow you have fried egg but the taste will not different ,one banana cut to 4 pieces as I said food is expensive in Korea except seafood,seaweed..Do not think go out to eat because shop open late and close late at night.
I love Metro hotel and Myeongdond area ,it clean ,it fun ,its food,its shop that I highly recommence to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skysong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Ms/Mr Nharry

Thank you for staying with us and your time to write a review on the tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you loved the area-Myeongdong and Metro hotel.
We are working on the ventillation issue that you mentioned and it is almost got back to normal. Also, I appreciate your information about food and shopping in Myeonddong.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Warmest regards
Sky Song

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Was influenced by tripadvisor and decided to give Metro a shot. Stayed from 4-6 April 2012 @ room 512.
Location was fabulous and easily accessible. It was in the heart of Myeongdong, but away from the busy areas so you don't feel suffocated once you leave the hotel premises.
The room was comfortable. A bit on the small side, but given the central location, it was worth it.
The wifi though free, was intermitten. With the majority of the time unable to connect even though there was a signal. The other surprise was that the provided toiletries didn't include disposable toothbrush and toothpaste. I think this may be the case for all Korean hotels as i just checked into another hotel and there is no toothbrush as well. So do remember to BYO.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#12 of 505 in Seoul
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
G2 Hotel
G2 Hotel
#9 of 505 in Seoul
196 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 505 in Seoul
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: ₹ 5,487 - ₹ 10,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing