We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“center of night market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #10 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“center of night market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel always full,so must book early by call direct to the hotel or you will wait for ages the reply mail.Bus 6015 stop in front of the Ibis hotel then you continue walk up 2 more alley (car allowed to run ) ,turn right the 2nd alley about 100m that Metro hotel and Smootthie King in one building.
the hotel check-in 3:00PM (strict rule) do not think hotel will relax their rules.Room very clean ,the aircond -heater work good but in bathroom sometimes has smell from sewerage because of water we use not enough to flush them out,you would smell this stink in the street too so the best is open room window a bit to get fresh air..
At night ,from the window of your room if you look down ,you will see the night market activity,maybe nothing you can buy but many young couples make it like a festival with ice cream on the cone that high 30 cm ,BBQ squid,shrimp or a cream puff big as a Big Mac,,.many restaurant or food stall around but price mostly 2000 W( 2 USD ) and highest is 30 thousand won .Remember ,food sell in the supermarket very expensive I do not understand how they can offer very cheap and tasty food at the night market and restaurant around.
Lotte hotel and department store opposite Ibis sell quality clothes and jewelery but pricey,under ground store a lot cheaper but local make products.
The hotel breakfast very simple and plain,today has boiled egg then tomorrow you have fried egg but the taste will not different ,one banana cut to 4 pieces as I said food is expensive in Korea except seafood,seaweed..Do not think go out to eat because shop open late and close late at night.
I love Metro hotel and Myeongdond area ,it clean ,it fun ,its food,its shop that I highly recommence to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skysong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Ms/Mr Nharry

Thank you for staying with us and your time to write a review on the tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you loved the area-Myeongdong and Metro hotel.
We are working on the ventillation issue that you mentioned and it is almost got back to normal. Also, I appreciate your information about food and shopping in Myeonddong.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    476
    59
    11
    1
See reviews for
378
304
203
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Was influenced by tripadvisor and decided to give Metro a shot. Stayed from 4-6 April 2012 @ room 512.
Location was fabulous and easily accessible. It was in the heart of Myeongdong, but away from the busy areas so you don't feel suffocated once you leave the hotel premises.
The room was comfortable. A bit on the small side, but given the central location, it was worth it.
The wifi though free, was intermitten. With the majority of the time unable to connect even though there was a signal. The other surprise was that the provided toiletries didn't include disposable toothbrush and toothpaste. I think this may be the case for all Korean hotels as i just checked into another hotel and there is no toothbrush as well. So do remember to BYO.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Excellent location. I actually really miss this place. Friendly service. Our wifi was really bad. Kept disconnecting but usable with laptop just not good via phone. Maybe the laptop wifi receiver is better. Didn't bother much since most of the time we were out anyways. And what more can you ask since its free. Most 5 stars hotel don't even provide free wifi! Location is excellent. Just nearby to this place you must try the porridge place, the donkatsu down the road and andong chim dak.
Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh1nbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My title said it all ! My wife and I stayed in Metro from 24 march 2012 and checkout on the 27th.
Love the location, Love the bed, Love the bathroom, Love the service and Love the rates.
For all Asian travelers, especially Singaporeans like myself, you can't really fault this hotel even i was assigned to a smoking room,except for two things !
Here goes,
1) The 10% service tax for all hotel in Seoul, I really hate it. Guesthouse accommodation in seoul are flat rate with no service tax whatsoever.
2) The breakfast ! Yes I know there are a lot of restaurant in myeongdong area, but you guys out there who know we Asians, especially singaporean like myself. We love to have a so called buffet breakfast in hotel before we proceed out for sight seeing or a shopping spree. The breakfast in metro hotel is a great let down. Don't expect sausage , bacon and ham, don't expect sunny side up, scrample egg, omlette, baked beans/potatoes. Metro only has cerel, yogurt, milk, packet fruit juice, soup, bread, coffee and tea. Seriously if you are a vegetarian, the breakfast would be great, but I am an English breakfast kind of guy, i would rather catch up with my sleep in the room than heading to the 9th floor for breakfast. Metro might have a strict policy in hiring chef, who knows !
Overall I would still stay in metro hotel when I visit Seoul in 2013.
IMHO, Metro hotel is the right choice of hotel for all typical Chinese Singaporeans, of course except for the two pointers written above, which you might do some consideration.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenji_suppitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skysong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Mr/Ms Kenji_suppitsu

Greetings from Metro hotel.
Thank you for staying with us and your time to write a review on the tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you loved the area-Myeongdong and Metro hotel.

Thank you for your comment about our rates. We keep the same reasonable rate during a whole year, even on a high season and holidays for all the customers.
Also, we are very sorry to learn that you were not happy with our breakfast buffet. We have addressed your comment concerning our breakfast with our F&B team to find a way for betterment. Regarding to tax issue, please kindly understand that there is 10% of V.A.T to follow the current government policy and we apologise for the inconveniences.

Once again, we appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you at Metro hotel again in next year.

Thank you very much.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at standard c room (rm 808, my parents at rm 814) with a view of Myeongdong street scene below.

Small bedroom with double bed, one-seater couch with matching coffee table, TV, working/vanity table, luggage rack and separate Japanese-style toilet and bath. Very clean, and cozy enough for two. I was pleasantly surprised that the room was not as small as I expected.

Located in very busy Myeongdong shopping district—but hotel front is not as crowded as others (e.g., Savoy and Skypark) in the area, which is a good thing. About 1-2 blocks from Nanta Theater (4 playful characters on the loose in kitchen; reserve online to get 10% discount). If you intend to explore the area further, Deoksugung Palace, and Namsan cable car station to N Tower are within walking distance. Namdaemun market, Lotte Department Store and Lotte Young Plaza, and Shinsegae are also nearby.

Free breakfast had limited food options, but good enough for me. I liked the yogurt and poppy seed bun.

Lobby had very limited seats for waiting. Hotel had one small elevator, but seemed sufficient when we were there.

Everyone was courteous and helpful, esp. Emily.

Made our stay in Seoul really pleasant. Everyone in our family was satisfied.

Would recommend to budget-conscious travelers visiting Seoul for shopping and sightseeing.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skysong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Mr/Ms eric_sp

Thank you for staying with us.
All of us are glad to hear that you and your family had a great time in Seoul and especially at Metro hotel.
We have noted your comment about the elevator and seats in the lobby. We apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. We will keep this in our plan when we have a chance to renovate these area.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our homemade yogurt and sesame seed bun on the breakfast menu. I will pass this message to the kitchen and will also seek ways of variety of menu.
Regarding to Emily, I totally agree with you. Thank you very much for mentioning which will give us (especially Emily) a great motivation.

We look forward to seeing you again at Metro hotel in the future.
Thank you very much.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#15 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Lotte Hotel L7 Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Seoul Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Property: Metro Hotel
Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,817 - ₹ 10,654
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing