We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to look for another hotel”
Review of Hotel Samjung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samjung
Ranked #236 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Dear friends, i want to recommend you to look for another hotel. I could not say that this hotel is complete disaster, but i am sure you can find much better one.
People who work there are nice, but the hotel is not.
Everything surrounding is cheap and bad quality. I was reading here that this hotel was renovated but only modern thing is the laminated floor on the wall. Yes, they have laminate floor of the wall.
Ceramic tile in bathroom has a dirty seams.
Plasterboard walls have some cracks.
Crome surface from water tap was peeled.
Door to bathroom was falling apart.
Carpeting was dirty, it need urgent wash.
Also there was some strange spots on ceiling.
My room was no smoking but every evening it was terrible smell of smoking. The problem is with air ventilation, so this smell comes from somewhere.
Price for room service is a rubbish. 12 dollars for tea and 14 for cappuccino ? REALY ?
Terrible matres. It was extremely rigid.

Internet was good and fast enough.
Samsung toilets are nice.
Breakfast was only good thing in that hotel. I was sating there for a week and if you wake up in early morning, you can have a amazing chopped beef steak.
But tea at breakfast was terrible. It was a huge water tank with hot water with a 3 teabags floating inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a backside view. Or look for another hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmic1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Excellent hotel in the city. Close enough to subway links to get around and a short walk to the kukkiwon. I was there on a training break so this was great as I could go to the kukkiwon and to local gyms to train. The food was great the breakfast in particular was outstanding. For dinners though I would recommend going out and checking out the local restaurants as they were great. The nightlife was good as well. My brother and I visited a club which for the life of me I can't remember the name, but it was a great experience especially having to make a 2 foot jump to the dance floor after a couple of shandies. It's not a family break but for business or a short trip to Seoul it's great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-Loh_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is good value for money and generally cheaper than others of a similar standard in the same road. It takes about 10 minutes uphill from the Sinnonhyeon metro station exit 4. Near to exit 4 is also Bongeunsa-ro 4-gil where if you want to get away from hotel food you can find plenty of variety mostly Korean style restaurants but also you can find European style bars serving a mixture of both European and Korean food.

As for the hotel the breakfast buffet offers plenty of choice with slight variations each day, including Korean, Japanese and western style dishes with an assortment of fresh and tinned fruit. The wifi is free which is certainly different from the nearby Novotel which coincidentally if you take the bus from the airport is where the limo-bus will drop you off. The air conditioning I found difficult to regulate and to get the temperature down and did on some days have to open the window, but that aside its a good standard hotel worth a visit.

From the hotel using where necessary the metro its very easy to get to the Gangnam main areas, Insadong (traditional shopping area), the cultural museum and war memorial to name but a few attractions you can go to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheReferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was picked for me by my Korean business associate. My review title says it all for me. I asked for a room with a king-size bed. They gave me a tiny room with a a full-size bed. The carpets were filthy. Although my room was on a non-smoking floor, other folks were smoking in their rooms on that floor. All night, I could hear their conversations and smell their cigarettes! There are better hotels in the Gangnam area around the same price range.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stay for 2 nights for business.

Room is not modern, but comfortable enough. Bathroom is dated, but working well. Breakfast is good. Location is in Gangnum, but quite far away to subway. You have to walk about 400 m uphill for return trip. Airport bus stops at opposite best western hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Gangnam Family Hotel
Gangnam Family Hotel
#160 of 504 in Seoul
150 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Urban Place Gangnam
Urban Place Gangnam
#134 of 504 in Seoul
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#85 of 504 in Seoul
437 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Dormy Inn Seoul Gangnam
Dormy Inn Seoul Gangnam
#121 of 504 in Seoul
35 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Vole Hotel
Vole Hotel
#301 of 504 in Seoul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samjung? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samjung

Address: 150, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06125, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: ₹ 3,703 - ₹ 8,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Samjung 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Samjung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samjung Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing