We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
483
202
31
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
202
31
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews myeongdong station friday happy hour main shopping district excellent location definitely stay here again great boutique quiet side airport bus the hotel staff deluxe room family room minute walk from the hotel front desk staff street food visit seoul convenient location hotel is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Quite possibly the best hotel i have stayed in Seoul, i must say.

I just chose 'The Grand Hotel Myeongdong' by reference to trip advisor reviews without much expectation. however it turned out to be one of the best accommodation on my Asian swing.

Because of long flight from london, i was so exhausted. The room was so clean and quiet that i just felt relexed. especially the bed was comfortable to get rest.

Utterly friendly and professional staff. They were so attentive to my needs and were polite and courteous.

Location is maybe the best adventage of the hotel. The famouse market street of Myeongdong is just walking distance away. A ten minute walk north leads N seoul tower.

if visting korea next time, i'll definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank EddieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear EddieMoon

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review! We are very glad that you were able to take a rest well after your long flight from London! Staffs are always our biggest assets and it is great to hear that you were well served by them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I stayed for one night during a long layover. It was very convenient to take the bus #6015 from the airport to here and back for only around USD10 each way (the bus stop is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel).The hotel is so close to the shopping center of Myeongdong, it's located only a street away from all the action. I went shopping several times and dropped things off in the hotel before going out again. There are lots of great restaurants, shopping stalls/centers, and convenience stores all around. The subway is also very close. It also seems to be within walking distance of Namsan Tower's cable car. The hotel is small but very tasteful in its decor. The lobby has traditional Korean arts on display, the rooms are small but clean and very modern, and the rooftop garden and laundry room are a plus. The bathrooms are especially nice, and the innisfree toiletries are a nice touch too. There are many TV channels to choose from, too, although the TV was on the small side to fit the room. The service was excellent and the staff is multilingual. They have printed guides available in English, Korean, Chinese, and Japanese. They have a lot of amenities in the room and available for rental with a deposit (like a converter, which was great because I usually need to buy one when traveling). I usually don't stay at the same hotel twice, but I think I will definitely stay here again next time I go to Seoul.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank jnzsrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear jnzsrj,

Wow! Thank you very much for your detailed review. A review like yours is helpful to both our guests and us. We are elated to read your wonderful review with compliments and we over the moon to hear that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Seoul. We look forward to welcoming you again as well. Happy New Year and we wish every success and happiness in you and your family!

Sincerely,

The Grand Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Such friendly and helpful staff with great English! The family twin room was clean and modern. Although on the small side, we spent all day outside so really just needed a central place to sleep at. Myeongdong is right outside your doorstep and the subway is a short walk away so suited our needs perfectly! Great service, clean rooms, good location. Personally can't fault it. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank snifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear snifter,

We are over the moon to hear that you will definitely stay with us again! Staffs are always our biggest assets and we are very glad that they were able to help you well. Happy New Year and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The staff are very friendly and helpful and this hotel is in a great place right in the heart of the Myeong-dong shopping district. The rooms are on the small side and if you book a room with the buffet breakfast, the food gets a bits boring after a few days as there is any changes to the hot food menu day after day.
Overall it is a modern clean hotel in a great location

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Wozza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Wozza62,

Staffs are always our biggest assets and we are very glad that they were able to help you well during your stay! It is very great to hear that you enjoyed our location. Regarding breakfast menu, we discussed it with our chef and we have been making some changes already. I hope this helps the next time you stay with us! We wish every success and happiness in you and your family in the New Year and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Stayed for 3 nights. The location is excellent as it is very close to shopping and dinning places while it only takes 2 minutes walk to the airport bus-stop. The room is clean, quiet, nicely decorated but rather small. Nice and plenty personal care products are provided. Good service too.

Areas to improve: Facilities or hooks are needed for putting things/ clothes in the toilet. There is still room to put a small table with a chair/ one more stool which guests always need.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank pammyleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear pammyleung,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a great review. Regarding the areas to improve, I just relayed your comments to the upper management and they will be reviewed. Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews