We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Non-smokers beware” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel Seoul
Ranked #40 of 460 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Non-smokers beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

When I made my reservation, I was assured that the room would be non-smoking. When I arrived, I was shown a smoking room. When I rejected that room I was then put in another room on the basis that it was a non-smoking room. However this turned out to be a smoking room as well. When I complained I was told that there were no non-smoking rooms available. By then too late to find another hotel so I had to sleep in the smoky atmosphere, I managed to get a non-smoking room for the second night. I was seriously misled and as a result of this experience I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JimfromSurbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    418
    88
    16
    7
See reviews for
247
147
72
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We chose to break our journey to Australia with a stay in Seoul and this hotel was recommended by a Korean business colleague. We were happy with everything and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Our rooms were spacious, very clean and quiet. The small restaurant offers a limited selection of western style Korean food and also have a more extensive Korean menu if you ask for it. We were a few minutes walk from street markets and a variety of shopping centres yet the rooms were quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is fantastic with a good selection of local/Chinese/Japanese food and western/continental as well. It is a good location if you want to go for a walk or do general sightseeing as well.
We were lucky, and very happy to be allocated this hotel by Asiana Airlines on our return from Sydney to the UK. Highly recommend the Royal and travelling with Asiana.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed here on a free 1 night stopover as Korean Air did not have a connecting flight that day to Heathrow. This happens with Korean Air a lot, so they are very good at facilitating the transfer, dinner, breakfast and lunch and the hotel accommodation.

The hotel was immaculate, extremely friendly staff and good choice of food at both dinner and buffet breakfast. Great view from the 21st floor where breakfast is, and fantastic downtown location. Staff were friendly and very efficient at checking us into our room, rang without prompting to make sure we were up in the morning and again to confirm the bus was arriving for our transfer back to the airport.

Fantastic hotel, assisted by their very polite and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed for 1 night on business trip. What better thing to say than there was nothing to comment on. Check in was quick, check out was quicker. Room was comfortable, bed soft, reading light adequate, internet fast.

I paid for the executive floor and it was worth it. Cocktails and snacks after a long day hit the spot. Breakfast was good, also.

So, all in all, if you have to park it in Seoul for a night or two, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The location was great. The room and service was like 3-star standard hotel. hotel room was big , but old. Not worth the value if u get a rate similar to nearby 4-5 star hotels like Lotte Hotel. I would rather stay at the Ibis, for a better value for money. Hotel needs some renovations! Also Internet was NOT free!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM_TH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Seoul Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Lotte Hotel L7 Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Seoul

Property: Royal Hotel Seoul
Address: 61, Myeongdong-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04538, South Korea (Formerly Seoul Royal Hotel)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 460 Hotels in Seoul
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,796 - ₹ 13,979
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hotel Seoul 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing