We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Super hotel and glad to return later in holiday.

Apparently some rooms have a view of Shwedagon we did not have this probably as we took a basic room rate. Large spacious fully equipped rooms with bath and comfortable bed. Rooms were in need of a little refurbishing or at least the bathrooms were but they were clean and tidy.

Friendly helpful staff . Excellent competitive money changer down hallway by shops on Ground floor. Internet use. decent restaurant serving great food especially the set menu deal Great pastries all be they $2.50 each. Nice pool area towels from gym close by


On our second stay our room was in a different side of the hotel and we found that a little noisier because of a bar/club playing music until late but it was only a minor concern

Room Tip: Room 638 was the quiter of the two rooms we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 390 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Super hotel and glad to return later in holiday.
Pros
Fantastic location within sight of Shwedagon Pagoda. Very special view. Large spacious fully equipted rooms with bath and comfortable bed. Lovely friendly helpful staff even by the high standards of Myanmar. Excellent competative money changer down hallway. Good traditional massage facility in complex. Good restaurant serving lovely cakes and high tea as well as the usual meals. (PS for spurge try the Strand Hotel for high tea as well). Good pool area
Cons
Some way from city centre but that's also a blessing. Noisy new restaurant on right hand side from front, not connected with hotel.



Cons

Room Tip: Ask for upper front rooms for view of Pagoda. Avoid right side overlooking restaurant next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a typical tourist hotel which seems to cater to either Western tourists or the occasional Chinese business type. It is well located if you wish to spend time exploring the Shwedagon ( a ten minute walk). It is a little out from the center of town but in a more quiet neighborhood than those in the middle of things further south. At any rate a taxi ride for a few dollars US will get you down town in 15 minutes or so. Have the doorman get you a taxi since it may take you time to flag one down on the street. It is good value for the money, but do not expect 5 or 4 star standards for the price. The reception area and ground floor was quite lovely with an average, but overpriced restaurant, some interesting souvenir shops, a bar and a very helpful business office where we met a lovely young lady who graciously purchased bus tickets for us to visit the Golden Rock. You can also purchase time on the computers ( for a nominal fee) in the business office to (functionally) access the internet which is a real treat after being in limbo for most of our trip through Burma (not Myanmar as named by the junta thugs. Let the people decide what to call their country when they experience a modicum of freedom and free expression. I suppose that this diatribe puts my chances for future visas in jeopardy. But at any rate, Burma might just well be a once in a lifetime kind of thing). Back to the Summit Parkview: The room we had was clean and relatively modern with a clean bathroom with hot water. It overlooked the Shwedagon ( at least the very top of it), which is lit up all night and quite a lovely sight when falling asleep. Definitely ask for a room with a view of this marvel. The service in the hotel was quite good without fault. Everyone from the front desk to the doormen were helpful and courteous. Basic English was spoken by many of the staff. The breakfast buffet was expansive with food appealing to all palates. We prefer congee ( rice soup or gruel), which was in evidence with all of the proper toppings, but omelets or fried eggs with sausages as well as pastries or cereal could also be had for those with more Western leanings. The hotel restaurant was just average and overpriced for other meals. I would recommend Feel Myanmar a few blocks away or Pandanmar, a 5 or 10 min cab ride, for your lunch or dinner needs. Although both are within walking distance, I would suggest taking a taxi, especially at night , since the roads there have no sidewalks and it would be a rather dusty and dirty walk. All in all, while this hotel is not exceptional, I think that you will find it to be good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalevipoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Smart large hotel. Good location. Nice pool. Good rooms from 40$ per night. Noise from the nearby park road if at front and from the local dog if at the back.
Beer expensive (6$ US for a bottle, the highest price we found anywhere in Myanmar, usually 2$)

Room Tip: Earplugs might work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our return to Yangon before flying out of Myanmar specifically because of its position. The first 2 nights of the trip we had stayed at the Strand (fabulous) and did all the downtown sightseeing from there. We had a room facing the Pagoda and we found it comfortable and more than adequate. The breakfast buffet was great but we did not have any other meals in the hotel as there are quite a few good choices around the area. Service was good and the internet was the best we had in the whole of Myanmar well worth the small cost involved. The money changer in the back of the hotel was very convenient and had as good rates as anywhere else. The benefit is you can easily walk to the Pagoda and the area is much more pleasant than downtown Rangoon with wide roads and parks. We were only there two nights but would recommend it for value and convenience. The choice is you can stay in the city centre and taxi out to the Pagoda or stay near the Pagoda and taxi into the city!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaBeachbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3 km away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
536 reviews
2.1 km away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
397 reviews
0.9 km away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#22 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#32 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
96 reviews
3 km away
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
#15 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
448 reviews
2 km away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Address: 350 Ahlone Road, Dagon Township | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: ₹ 5,166 - ₹ 6,633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing