We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty lakeside location close enough to downtown Yangon.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty lakeside location close enough to downtown Yangon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is located close enough to downtown Yangon (about $1-2 US by taxi) and a welcome respite from the city's diesel and dust. It has been constructed in traditional Burmese style with well landscaped gardens to match which run down to the edge of the Royal Lake. My room was of high standard, spacious and had views to the lake. The common areas are well laid out and air conditioned with good restaurant and bar facilties. With a bit of an upgrade (the pool area was being renovated) the hotel could rate as 5 star. There was a chronic smell in my bathroom that was unfortunate despite efforts with air freshener and candles. Nonetheless I would stay again and use it as a pleasant base whilst re-visiting Yangon.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms preferable with better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    629
    170
    46
    14
See reviews for
154
587
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I had a suite with a superb view of Shwedagon Pagoda - very well furnished suite, huge bathroom, spacious sitting room, and a very comfortable bed..excellent selection of tv channels..internet was slow, but that's the case throughout the country

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the pagoda or the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions for two nights each time early in July. First impression is pretty good, huge teak beams, a grand entrance and warm smiles all around while checking in.

We had a different room each time, the first had views of the might Shwedagon and the second stint looked over the lake. The rooms were very spacious, great showers after a long day and a big television to catch a movie or so to wind down.

Yes the food is expensive, yes the services are expensive but when have you been to a 4/5 star hotel and they weren't?

We had a minor issue with the door not locking in our second room and it was fixed immediately.

The breakfast is very good with all the usual corners of Asia catered to. I could be picky and wish it stopped at 11am instead of 10am but it is what it is and it was very good.

They have happy hour each evening and during the day by the pool - 50% off all drinks so that helps with the budget.

The location is reply very good, only 20 minutes walk to Shwedagon , direct access to the lake walk and about 2 dollars by taxi to the market and other sites.

Yes Yangon is a step behind in quality hotels and it is not like Thailand or other Asian cities for choice but this place is pretty damn good and some consideration needs to be given to the fact that on many levels we need to lower expectations just a notch.

As mentioned there are some minor works happening during low season but they were no issue with sound or access during our stay. The pool is accessible but is being extended and will, when finished be a cracker of a pool to swim in. It is still nice now, just a little small.

Room Tip: Ask for views of Shewdagon but either way it's fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank p_alewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel would get 5 out of 5 if it weren't for the strong smell of toilet salts in the room - there presumably due to lack of air freshener as supplies in Burma are hard to come by - like cars fr that matter!

The hotel location and rooms, service etc were all that of a 5 star western hotel - sitting on the lake really was one of the memorable things in my life thus far. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June and we found this place absolutely dreadful. We were given a room which had a balcony but the door was locked by a key and there was no key available; but even if there had been we could not have gone out as they had the balcony blocked off by some kind of dark material - which made the whole room like a dungeon. On the first morning after a fairly comfortable night's sleep we went out and when we arrived back at 2pm, the cleaner had just left the used cups and saucers in the toilet washbasin. The fact she was washing them in there was pretty disgusting, but by leaving them there, it seemed so much worse. She also left dirty towels in the middle of the bathroom floor. We had previously put them in the shower on the floor!!! When I went to reception to complain about the dingy room plus the dirty towels and crockery, the Receptionist just kept telling me "you need to pay more money for an upgrade". I was quite specific that we didn't want an upgrade, but we wanted a room with some daylight - and she just could not get the hang of this. After about l5 minutes of argy bargying with her, advising her about Tripadvisor, and the importance of customer satisfaction, she finally went and spoke with her supervisor, and she then returned saying she would show us another room in a different part of the hotel - with a view. This turned out to be a view of the car park, but at least we could see some sky and if we craned our necks we could see the corner of the lake. Despite having asked to speak with the manager several times, the manager would not come anywhere near the front desk to speak with me. Not good.

Later on in the day I met a Burmese travel agent in the lift, who told me that they had several "suicide rooms" in this hotel and he was interested to know what our room number was. So I told him, so he could be sure no clients of his would be allocated this room.

There was building work going on on many floors on a constant basis and the banging and shouting of the workers never stopped - either when in the rooms or going in and out of the lift. To add insult to injury, the swimming pool was very small, but a new one was being built right next to it. The blue tarpaulins were up right there and the noisy building work of the poolwork was unceasing.

The staff were, as is normal in Burma very nice and extremely pleasant, but the hotel food was extremely overpriced as is normal.

This hotel was full of Asian business people and that is the market that this hotel seemed to be interested in; our experience here and the very poor room we were given, showed us perfectly that this hotel is not interested in tourists. The Burmese hoteliers could do with going to Thailand and Bangkok in particular to learn how to deal with tourism, because they just don't cut it. This fact was mentioned to us several times by our tour guides and travel agents throughout Burma. These lovely decent Burmese people who want to promote tourism are genuinely worried about the high prices and low quality of hotels in Burma generally, and that this could stop serious tourism in Burma before it even gets off the ground.

The most curious thing of all was that on our day of departure, at 5am, as we were settling our bill, the Front Office Manager just appeared to ask if everything had been satisfactory with our stay!!! We were speechless as when requesting to speak to him several times previously, he didn't appear. Needless to say we had nothing to say to him at this hour of the morning, so I hope he reads it here, because everyone wants Burma to move forward and to grow, but the hotels have to deliver price/quality and not just be on the grab. The business needs to be shared amongst all Burmese people - not just the few rich hoteliers! Come on, Burma is a wonderful country.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room in this hotel - go immediately to Reception before you unpack your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lolimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Firstly I am very sorry to hear of the catalogue of errors suffered during your recent stay with us. Following my investigations with Front Office and Housekeeping, it would appear mistakes had been made, both during cleaning of the room, which was left to attend to another matter before returning to complete, which should never be the case, and that on your request to see the Duty Manager, he was unavailable to attend to your comments and complaints.
We pride ourselves on trying to achieve guest satisfaction with all our guests, irrespective of business, tourism or nationality of traveler and offer value for money, which should be matched and hopefully exceed guest expectation, I sincerely apologize that on this occasion we were unable to deliver.
I have discussed with our staff and training has been implemented to prevent this from happening again in the concerned areas.
Please again accept our sincere apologies, and I agree Myanmar is truly a beautiful place with genuinely warm and friendly people and we are mindful our standards need to meet our competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.5 km away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.8 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.0 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.5 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.5 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,956 - ₹ 9,949
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing