We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel in the Heart of a Bustling City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Heart of a Bustling City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Started off at the East Hotel across the street. For $50 you get what you pay for at the East Hotel so my wife and I decided to cross the street and try the Traders Hotel as we heard from a collegue that they have a Happy Hour with 1/2 price drinks between 4 and 7 at the lounge above the lobby. Well, after one visit we decided to change our reservation to the Trader's Hotel for our next business trip in a few days.
Huge rennovations taking place and the construction starts early. They are moving pretty quickly on the rennovation and during our three days between our first visit and our second a new construction wall appeared on the second floor.
Rooms are musty smelling, but are clean, well airconditioned and there is really, I mean really, hot water in the bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was amazing and huge with selections, or 'stations', of cultural breakfast items from all over the world. Great variety if one is willing to sample across cultures. Service was outstanding and I almost felt guilty having people carry my plate to the table for me. Yes, the breakfast room is in a temporary location right now during the construction but they try and make the windowless area as inviting as possible.
Place was a bit pricey, but I guess that's why the United Nations stays there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    845
    179
    36
    29
See reviews for
247
822
193
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
270 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

With the kind of prices for hotels in Yangon, I would have expected more from this hotel. First of all the check in experience was kind of disappointing. As I have earlier booked for the Club Room and on arrival noticed that a Deluxe Room was available and hence I asked if I can downgrade to a Deluxe Room and then switched back to a Club Room for the next few days since the Deluxe Rooms are not available for the rest of my stay. Alternatively I asked that since I will be staying there for 3 nights, they can charge me for the Deluxe Room rate for 1st night while still putting me in the Club Room considering that this will make me a happy customer and risk losing me for the next 2 nights!! They of course refused my suggestion

From the exterior, the hotel looks dated and later realised this hotel has been around for the past 16 years and is one of those few international hotel in Yangon. However, on entering the room, noted that while the room is not modern, it is at least renovated and looks clean.

I must admit the room gives me a warm feeling considering that the room is newly renovated with well provided bath room. However do be warn that the hotel is undergoing renovation and this is something not made known to me on booking. This is a problem as this mean a lot of the facilities are not available. The cafe is in fact a converted function room with bad ventilation and limited seats. There is no sauna facilities as it is undergoing renovation.

The club lounge is able from converted meeting room and on top of that, you can hear renovation on going in the late afternoon.

However, there are 2 saving grace for the hotel:
1. Chinese restaurant : Summer Palace is a good choice for food as I ended up 3 nights in a row for food there. Good service and quality chinese food
2. General service : Other than the check in experience, the service standard of the rest of the staff are applauded for attentiveness.

The hotel is also located near to one of the famous pagoda, Sule Pagoda, which is worth visiting but they do chanrge USD 2 admission fees these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed at the Traders Yangon at the start and end of my trip to Myanmar. I luckily got to stay in a renovated room (my friends were in a room on the un-renovated Club floor which was dowdy, dated and worn-out) which was nice with a colourful mural across the wall, large new TV and a half renovated bathroom – the shower and bath are still old.

On the second stay the bathroom still had the labels on the fixtures from the shop they were purchased from so I suspect the room hadn’t quite been given a good clean by housekeeping and there was construction dust on the surfaces. The view over the city is quite good.

The safe in the room is too small for a laptop and many of the other features were not business friendly including the internet which rarely worked for long.

The worst part was the service at the hotel. The staff are not particularly well trained, they are not attentive unless the family of a government official shows up and then expect to be completely ignored at check-in, check out and have random Burmese push in front of you.

I will avoid this hotel in the future which is disappointing as an experience of the Shangri-la/Traders brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated lower floor (unless the club floors have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear talltaff , just to let you know that following your visit earlier this year , the Club rooms refurbishment was completed in April and most guests comment positively on the comfort of these rooms & the beautiful mural. I am also pleased to inform you that we have the fastest wi-fi in Yangon, now 20 MB, and its operating to the delight of both resident guests and visitors to our Lobby Lounge. I am sure that on your next visit these changes will be complimented by an improved service level that will complete this unique Yangon experience. talltaff please provide any further details to phillip.couvaras@traders hotels.com and I will be more than happy to respond on any other matters.Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at Traders on two occasions during our trip to Myanmar. Reasonably central location, within walking distance of some good restaurants and the large central market. Very comfortable rooms, some noise when we were there owing to some building work going on but this was not too intrusive. Excellent breakfast - huge range of western and asian choices on offer. Very good choice overall.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Traders Hotel offers most of the amenities that one expects in the region. The hospitality is exemplary and the smiles genuine. The food is excellent. Try the small steaks and poached eggs for breakfast. The current renovation can unnerve the easily distracted during the day, but it Southeast Asian warmth more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: They have an abundance of single bedrooms, so advocate for a queen or king if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csdavis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.5 km away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#7 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
5.3 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#3 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#6 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
3.4 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.8 km away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#11 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Property: Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,761 - ₹ 19,898
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing