We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best tour ever!!

We booked this tour on our last day in Port Villa. It was raining and we had no hopes with this... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
sepia G
via mobile
best tour ever

where do I start from the beginning it was fantastic. Showed up early and was very friendly. We... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
aaron b
,
Nelson Bay, Australia
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
36
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful lagoon the tanna coffee factory cultural village kava bar island tour survivor beach full day tour cruise ship day trip morning tea turtle sanctuary jj stops efate driver school replica
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this tour on our last day in Port Villa. It was raining and we had no hopes with this tour. While booking the tour, the guide told us that cultural tour won’t be possible as it was Sunday. Nevertheless we went on this tour and were amazed by the hospitality of the tour guide. He showed us Eton beach which was not even part of the deal. As it was our last day in Vanautu, he somehow magically made the cultural tour available!! He told us about Vanautu history and showed us all the landmarks of Port Villa. Hats off to his dedication and service!! We had the best time in this tour. Big Thanks to Manples for making our trip memorable!!

Thank sepia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

where do I start from the beginning it was fantastic. Showed up early and was very friendly. We booked a half day tour but it turned into a full day for our group of 6 adults and 4 children. JJ gave us the hidstory of the area throughout the tour. We stopped at the chocolate factory, local school and local village. Then went to the beautiful lagoon where he waited until we were refreshed and had a fruit platter. We then went to the turtle sanctuary and it was fantastic. Whilst there had lunch and a lovely swim in a saltwter lagoon behind the sanctuary. on the way home we were speaking about karva and asked him about the local karva bars. Three karva stops later at different bars and we understood it a little better. Was truely great just to sit and chat to the locals on this little detour. Ask him and he will show you. Was a great trip and have no complaints will call and recomend him to friends

Thank aaron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Mum and I did a full day tour with JJ as well as a half day tour! JJ was a wonderful and knowledgeable guide of the island. We especially loved visiting a cultural village, local school, swimming in the beautiful waters at Blue Lagoon and visiting the Turtle Sanctuary. Thanks JJ for showing us your beautiful island!

Thank Viviana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

My family and I went on the full day tour booked through reception at our resort. We loved it. JJ is a kind, professional and knowledgeable guide and host and the bus was clean and comfortable.

We picked this tour after having seen photos of the Turtle Sanctuary (we did not want to visit) and by following advise to avoid ad-hoc tours with bus drivers (no insurance and entry fees not included in the cost). The full-day tour offered us everything we wanted to see outside Port Vila for a very good price.

My favourite parts were the visit to the cultural village and the the Tanna Coffee Factory. Our tour included so many experiences and sites not listed on the flyer including a coconut demonstration, a WWII airfield, culturally significant trees and plants, roasted corn from a road-side store and significant buildings.

I highly recommend booking a tour with Manples and if I were to go again I would take some lollies for the school kids.

Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We booked J.J. prior to our cruise ship docking. He was good with communication prior to and had us all booked. Told me where to meet him and what he was going to be wearing .We met J.J. finally, it was our fault we went over by the buses and private tours that is where the cruise ship directed us instead of turning where J.J. had told us. We first we went to a village and had a nice time there and then to the Blue Lagoon for a swim and J.J. prepared fresh fruit for us while we took a swim. J.J. was flexible and made the tour more for us. We then took a drive to the World War II runways and then the little World War II museum. We ended up at the Vanuatu Survivor beach and snorkeled and spent time there. We learned a lot by Vanuatu and J.J. and his driver we learned a lot about the area. I would recommend J.J. Manples tours for the island tour.

1  Thank Cinders8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

A big thank you to John and Darryl for making our unscheduled stop in Port Vila a very memorable day.
We arranged the trip at short notice and could not be happier with our day.
We were picked up at the wharf at 8 am and taken around the island and nothing was too much trouble.
If anyone reading this review is heading to Port Vila make sure you take the plunge support the locals and enjoy your day.

1  Thank Journey324573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Very enjoyable tour for 8 family members in air-conditioned van. Interesting and good fun at village (where joined in a dance and had crazy photos taken) and then on to beautiful Blue Lagoon for refreshing swim and morning tea. Then visit to school and on to lovely Onesua Beach for lunch (including band music whilst we ate). Then on to another beautiful beach at Gideon’s Landing for afternoon tea at Australian Survivor location. Back to ship on time and JJ was a great host.

Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We had the best time with JJ and Robin John. I highly recommend their full day tour. It gives you so much insights of the people of Vanuatu and life on the islands. Every stop we made was interesting. Specially the cultural village which is also a lot of fun. Blue lagoon is just breath taking beautiful,.Thank you again JJ and Robin John for a fantastic day.

Thank EdithO70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Took the day tour with JJ and Robin John. JJ is the best guide. He is very knowledgeable about all the islands and the history. Blu lagoon is a must for everyone spring fed and fun. Each stop on the trip gave you insight into the culture of the island and you meet so many friendly people along the way. Best day tour I have taken.

Thank sonyah334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

JJ and driver Robin John were 100% professional-very safe driving and JJ's infectious enthusiasm, always smiling and his knowledge made our day trip very memorable and worth every cent. Highly recommended and pleased to have spent money with a private local company.

Thank JJaySunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews