We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great spot, friendly owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seachange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seachange Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great spot, friendly owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We rented the chalet on the water plus adjacent rooms for our family of 8 in July. Accommodation was very clean and owners went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Great family location if you want to be close to town yet have access to water , the lagoon is just there. Surprised to have some basic breakfast supplies to keep you going until you get a chance to do your own shopping. Everything you need is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The chalet on the water is best. You can wake up with the sun over the lagoon and have breakfast on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    33
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
58
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

he practically yelled at us. At first glance the place looked good. But as we (girl friend and I) were trying to clarify our bookings, the owner took it that we're bargaining, and started to relate us to the previous tenants who left without paying. That was very embarrassing and insulting for us. Then he yelled at us and even offered to book us a cab to leave. Good thing his wife came to diffuse the situation. There was also a stench of alcohol in his breath.

We didn't sleep well fearing he might barge into our room at night wanting us to leave or do something nasty.

Otherwise I think the rooms are well equipped. :-) clean... And has a beautiful garden. If you can put up with the service that is...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheoksoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our group of 6 adults rented the Seachange Lodge, 2 bedroom 2 bathroom, Garden Cottage for 2 nights in June 2011.

Bedding was a queen, two singles and a futon double bed. All bedding was clean and comfortable, except I would recommend Seachange upgrade the futon double bed with a better sofa bed as it was a little too basic. The cottage presented very well and the owners were helpful to explain the area and answer our questions about, well, anything really.

Property: beautiful gardens, a small pool with amazing view and a jetty with watercraft for use. Also within walking distance is a supermarket and a terrific french restaurant.

All up a good stay and we'd go back again :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I spent one night here on my way home from the islands.
Great spot, within easy walking distance to a supermarket that stocks everything you might want and buses are everywhere (very cheap) to get you wherever you want to go.
The kitchenette provides everything you need to be self sufficient & control expenses during your stay.
My little porch on the water with my own dock made me wish I'd stayed here sooner.
Nice room . . . clean & well appointed with everything you'd need. "Fun fur" bed spread was a little outdated but all in all I'd certainly recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here in October 2010 for three nights. We had flown from Europe and our peaceful room at Sea Change was the perfect place to acclimatise and get used to the time zone. Rick had stocked the fridge with milk and bread and there were enough tea bags to see us through. The kettle and crockery in the room meant that we were able to look after ourselves and that we didn't have to go out to eat when we didn't feel like it.

The room was in an absolutely beautiful spot, overlooking the bay. We took the glass bottomed canoe (a bit scratched!) out one evening, which was fun. Sea Change is also an easy walk to the main street of Port Vila and its restaurants and bars. It was also fine to walk back (even in the pitch dark) or to catch one of the shared taxi/buses in the town.

After staying here we flew on to Espiritu Santo, but made a mental note to stay at Sea Change on our way back through Vila.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.6 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.6 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#10 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.9 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seachange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seachange Lodge

Property: Seachange Lodge
Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,479 - ₹ 10,708
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seachange Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special place for special people, with an ambience you can't buy. Six units tucked away in an exotic tropical garden. It’s like visiting a friend's house instead of being in a commercial resort. From the Waterside Chalet, to the Garden Cottage that is ideal for two couples or a family group, to the single room studios, the care to detail makes Seachange Lodge that very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Seachange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seachange Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing