We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed, Stylish, Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Hammocks, what else do you need on holiday Entertainers Dream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Hammocks, what else do you need on holiday
Entertainers Dream
Large dining/living areas
The perfect spot to wind down
Birds eye view of the house
Actual sunset
Relax
The perfect sunsets
relax
6m high ceiling
plenty of places to chill
large dining/living areas
master bedroom
Large breezeways
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Monsoon shower
two person outdoor bath
swimming rockpools
Guest wing
Entrance Hallway
large 5th bedroom with 2 queen beds
large 5th bedroom with 2 queen beds
The perfect evening drink spot
Hammocks in the trees
perfect for dining
sheltered swimming
large grounds
Our snorkelling reefs are sensational
Large second bathroom
Set up for one of our wonderful weddings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca W
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed, Stylish, Bliss”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved the Reef House, everything you need when you are on holiday at this home has been thought of! We loved the outside fire pit to watch the sun go down in beautiful Vanuatu. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a piece of paradise that is secluded, stylish and so comfortable. Thanks to Glen and the team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lawn and pool to relax and unwind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeworsp
vanuatu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning place and great staff”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are from NZ and try to get away to the islands once a year. We chose Reef House due to its excellent reviews and it is a stunning residence.
We have two young kids and the place was perfect for accommodating them. The outside fireplace down on the beach is incredible. We will definitely be staying here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large private space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway, Awesome Location, Great house!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends travelled to Port Vila for a Island holiday and stayed at The Reef House for 11 nights.
Upon being picked up from the airport by Glen's friendly team we were taken to The Reef House and as soon as we walked in the front door we were blown away by the view!
All the rooms were spacious and had great beds, and the bathrooms were also awesome.

The living room was a great place to kick the feet up after a day of adventuring and watch the footy! And the big opening louvre doors were also great to open up and have the ocean breeze coming through!

The Kayaks were a blast and there are plenty of reef shoes and snorkel gear for everyone if you forgot your own! The backyard is nice and big too, so you can have your own space on a day bed or on one of the hammoks.

All in all i can't say enough about how great the reef house is and how good Glen and his team are!
We loved our stay and will be back again!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thanks very much the great review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like your 10 day break was everything you needed. Our snorkelling is the best on the island and very common to see turtles as well at sunset. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you back again. Glen and the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin243...
Hallidays Point, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Disappointing on many levels.

Until we arrived we had no idea how remote the property is. A bus fare of AU$25 to $30 each way to Port Vila adds up after a while, and with only 1 quite expensive restaurant within walking distance it was either pay $50 a day in transport or hire a car. And driving the 4 km of incredibly bad potholed dirt road out to the house was challenging to say the least.

The property itself was not up to scratch for a premium rental. Very tired and showing a lack of maintenance. Kitchen cupboard doors sagging and unable to close, window shutters were broken and would crash open giving everyone a fright, dish washer top rack is seriously broken making it unusable, lights on the outside paths are broken and remained so after promises they'd be fixed. Plus no plugs in sinks in any of the bathrooms (makes shaving tough).

The last two days we had no water - ended up having to use a bucket to scoop water out of the pool to flush toilets. Most of our party left and chose pay an additional 2 nights accommodation elsewhere to shower and have flushing toilets. Every time we asked about the water the only answer was "it will be back on soon".

And just to make everything a little more weird, one of the neighborhood dogs has learnt that tourists have lots of food. We lost all our breakfast pastries and bread first night, stolen by a dog out of the pantry and then had food taken from the kitchen on following nights. Very clever animal - one of our mob watched him open the closed door early one morning, so we had to close and lock the doors every night to keep it out.

A lovely door, plenty of room, beautiful outlook, but certainly not up to scratch for the money we paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Hi there,

many thanks for the review. At first we were unsure if you actually stayed with us but realised you were our only booking this year through an agent who hasn't told you most holiday homes in vila are between 15 to 30 mins from Downtown Port Vila. We are one of the closer ones of course. Im sorry you expected something different and it appears a hotel in town may have been more appropriate.

I never heard from you during your stay nor any communications subsequent so was most surprised to read your review and am sorry the property was not suitable for you.

Bus fares are from $2.50 into Port Vila per person. An entire mini bus for up to 10 passengers is $25. Access to town has never been raised before.

Im unsure what the issue you had with the water is but we have an artesian water supply and its never failed us. Ill check with the house staff but have no record of any issues.

The property had a full maintenance check up with several additions since Tropical Cyclone Pam. I will let the previous reviews speak for themselves as to the standard of accommodation we provide. From time to time we will have some usual maintenance to be done which we attend to between breaks in our busy season where gaps in bookings allow.

Im sorry you have had an unwelcome visitor to the kitchen. They must have been some great french pastries but again, I have pointed this out to Wendy and Anna, our fab house girls, that this occurred and to be on the look out for an unwelcome pastry thief.

Again, apologies if The Reef House was not to your your liking. I will talk to the travel agent about ensuring guests they book are aware of where the holiday homes are.

Thanks again for the feedback, we welcome all feedback and appreciate the time you took to write a review.By all means if you are back over here, feel free to contact me personally via email or phone, its much easier to put something right when we know about it.

Tropical regards

Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArchieKat...
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful location on a sheltered bay, great snorkelling straight out the front. Wonderful facilities with excellent, friendly house staff and babysitters. Luxurious accommodation. Renting a car makes things a lot easier but not too far from town. Absolutely recommend, we will return for sure!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review for The Reef House. Very glad you had a great time and found it close to everything. We like think of the place as a little tropical haven, close too town for everything you need but far enough out and private enough that you could be on your own remote tropical island. thanks again and please come back and see us again. Glen and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;