We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
77
184
71
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
184
71
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oasis bar pool area cultural show cultural group short walk string band good size inclusive breakfast three star curry night air con nice place to stay top floor traditional dancing close to town mini bar kava tasting
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We were put up here when the dreadful Air Vanuatu messed up a flight connection. Respectable and reasonable mid-range hotel with decent rooms much like an American motel. It's about 10 minutes walk up the hill from the centre.
Tip: if you are here with an Air Vanuatu meal voucher INSIST on the real menu not the Air Van special - you get a bigger choice and some choices are cheaper.
Restuarant service slow and a bit erratic: you may not get quite what you order first time.
There is "entertainment" here some nights. Fine if you like that sort of thing and it doesn't go on late but it's noisy for the duration.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

We apologize for the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us at The Melanesian Hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Basic room, close to town. Continental breakfast included which was good. Lovely staff at check in. Octopus pasta at the Italian restaurant was delicious. Stayed 2 nights. Toilet kept running all night but otherwise ok room just to sleep. Buses are 150VT and there are plenty.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 849tanyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Our location is indeed close to town and very suitable for guests who want to do some shopping to bring home some souvenirs!
We have a variety of local delicious fruits included in our breakfast buffet and thank you for trying out our new Italian restaurant! we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Perfect for a school service trip. Rooms clean, comfortable and large. We were very busy so didn’t spend much time during day but was perfect to come back to. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were buffet style, filter coffee was nice and strong. Warmed croissant with butter and jam were delicious.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Natadola1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for booking your stay with The Melanesian and we are happy that you are satisfied with your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Stayed in several places during the course of our trip, and The Melanesian is a good mid-range option for Port Vila. It's just slightly out of the main center of town (about a 10-15 min walk downhill). Rooms are well equipped with the basics, small minibar, light toiletries, small safe, but don't expect much beyond that.

Based on other reviewers I had been concerned about the beds, and they were firm, but nothing out of the ordinary in my experience. The central pool area was quiet the whole time we were there, and even with the evening activities things had wound down by around 9 pm so noise probably wouldn't interfere with any early-to-bed types.

Inclusive breakfast is fine (although would be an issue to those with food allergies). A few kinds of breads & bakery items, rotating selection of fruits, puffy pancakes, a couple of cereals, and juice.

Staff is friendly, and if I went back to Port Vila I'd certainly consider staying here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Holcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We thank you for the positive remarks shared here and yes our location is always one of the attractions to stay with us. We look forward to see you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Resort is dated, photos are misleading. Bedding was uncomfortable. The only positives I would give are to staff who were great. Meals and drinks were good but facilities lacking. Much better options are available, with better locations.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank Lex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused during your stay and thank you adding in a positive comment regarding our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews