We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
388
243
42
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
243
42
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop day trippers the underwater post office hideaway island dive sites twin share dive crew fish mele village dive holiday melanesian feast curry beach bar glass bottom boat great diving open water snorkelling safari
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had 4 hours to kill in between flights so Hideaway was perfect. We enjoyed glass bottom boat and snorkling safari. You can just as easily pay the entry fee and snorkel by yourself. Good snorkeling off an ocean shelf. Friendly staff, good food (cater to intolerances), wifi ok, nice outlook, quiet. Not far from airport

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wander815937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for coming. Layovers are not usually fun. Glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A breathtaking visit in the real paradise.
The Resort locates on the small, peacefully island close to the main island of Vanuatu.
Their services made our trip unforgettable and we just hope that we come back soon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dorqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for coming. It was a pleasure hosting you. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a family bungalow at Hideaway. They are a 3 star resort so be prepared for ants in the room, single bed mattresses are thin and you can feel the slats underneath, maintenace is behind sechule And the tap water isn’t drinkable. Meals at the restaurant were often quite slow and the fries very crunchy. But In saying all of this I really enjoyed my stay here. We had attenditive staff, daily housekeeping, daily snorkel safari, movie nights, Melanesian feast, village walk, free rides to and from the island anytime. And an early wake up call to catch our flight. Also there is a lovely pool area by reception which is a nice change to snorkeling and a lot of fun for the kids. The website really needs a revamp. It would also be good to know more about what each bungalow offers as they are all configured differently.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank tmL1594OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are catching up on maintenance as fast as we can. We like to hear about any issues during your stay so that we can promptly address them. I hope you mentioned the problems in your check out survey. Your feedback helps us a lot. We like your idea of a better website too.

Lukim yu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed a week at Hideaway in Jan which in hindsight is very hot! We chose to stay there, in a bungalow on the beach but soon realised the no air-con made sleeping hard in the heat! The bungalows are low key which would have been great on normal temps to get away from the digital life. They are private and tucked amongst trees right on the beach. The island has a daytime population of tourists who come for the snorkeling. The food wasn’t amazing, but like anything we have experienced at beach bars like this. The Melanesian feast as fun and watching Moana on a bean bag on the beach was lovely. Resort look like it needed a bit of a facelift. Wifi in reception. Transfer was a local van that drops you at the wharf for the boat taxi to the island. The restaurant on the mainland (ferry terminal) was a nice place to stop. Local village tour was enlightening and the glass boat tour was hilarious! Snorkeling is a must. Staff were amazing, remembered your name. Lots of crabs find their way into your room - put the light on to go to the bathroom. We got stung by ManOWar while there and an Aussie tourist helped extract it from the skin! Not a common problem I don’t think but the sea while do as she pleases. The staff gave us some good advice which we followed and were fine. Remember to always pack your little first aid kit anyway, a panadol helps.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for coming to Hideaway. Yes, it can be very hot here in January. The bungalows on the windward side usually have a nice trade wind breeze. You can request which side of the island when you book. We make adjustments if rooms are available. The Vilas have air conditioning if you want to spend a little more. They are popular so book early.

The man-o-war are not a frequent problem here. They are found 10 days after a full moon and can be around for a couple of days. Vinegar is the best first aid and we keep some in the bar for such emergencies.

And yes, the wonderful staff will remember your name, even if you return a couple of years later (or longer).

Thanks for coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Went here for a day trip from Port Villa. Entrance fee was 1250VT per adult once you get over there from the ferry. The ferry was free. Bus trip from Port Villa should cost you about 300-600VT. The underwater post office was pretty cool. The snorkelling was amazing. There was a snorkeling tour group just near us and when the guide let some food out into the water there were fish everywhere. We just happened to time it well that the tour was happening at the same time we were in the water. I would recommend the tour if you can as the amount of fish was amazing when there was food about. 600VT to hire snorkel and then 600VT for flippers. Had a BLT sandwich for lunch which was quite cheap. Tusker beers are 500VT. Very nice day trip.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Glad you had a good day at Hideaway. The fish look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews