We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh relax!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquana Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were greeted at the airport with a lovely shell necklace. We arrived at the resort - it is about 20 minutes drive from the airport - and received a lovely mocktail and frangrant cold towel. We especially appreciated the car seats that had been installed in the shuttle for our twin babies. We travelled with our 5 year old daughter and 9 month old twin baby girls. Our 5 year old was in the pool even before we had everything unpacked and that was where she was to be found for the next 4 days. The pool is lovely, cool and clean, as is everything else at Aquana. The bungalows have air conditioning (a life saver when you are still getting used to the Vanuatu heat) and the most awe inspiring views out to the lagoon.

A HUGE thank you to Hugo who went back to the airport on a Sunday to pick up our portacots which we forgot to pick up from the fragile luggage. And he did it without batting an eyelid!

The staff are amazing, amazing, amazing. Our babies were cuddled, carried around and entertained the whole time we were there, giving us the opportunity to kick back and relax. Since there is no facilities in the bungalows to prepare meals, we had all our meals at the restaurant. I can recommend the fish curry and the poulet fish for dinner and the swiss hash browns for breakfast, yum!

Be prepared that food in Vanuatu is generally very expensive. Marcel does a great job with putting on a feast at every meal. The owners have some very exciting and ambitious plans for Aquana and I have no doubt that it will be a great success. The bungalows are very well appointed, with leather furniture in the lounge and very comfortable beds in the two bedrooms. The bathroom is small but has a good shower, toilet and basin.

The lagoon is right in front of you and the sunsets are beautiful. Snorkelling is on the back side of the island in front of you. You can kayak out or get Aquana to organise for someone to take you out. Make sure you take the time to get a village walk organised. It is very authentic and understated, really just wondering through the next door village with one of the locals. There is also a little "jungle walk" to a spring at the end of the lagoon - beautiful! One morning the lovely Yasna and Catherine took our children and we were rowed by tranditional dugout outrigger to a nearby deserted island with a chilly bin full of cool drinks. We spent the morning snorkeling around the abundant coral and just basked in the absolute silence and beautiful surroundings.

While we did not make use of it, there is a free shuttle to Port Vila every day that leaves in the morning and returns late afternoon. We just hung around the resort since there was plenty to do, including grabbing a kayak and exploring the lagoon.

We were treated to a little surprise on our third night. A man wearing traditional dress called us out of our bungalows by blowing on his big conch shell. The children were taken to the sand spit where a bonfire had been lit for marshmellow roasting. The adults were invited to take part in a kava ceremony, where the history and traditions around kava was explained by one of the locals.

We had a lovely time at Aquana and have no hesitation to recommend it to other travellers. We felt fully refreshed and relaxed after our 4 days there and wish we could have stayed longer.

Things to note: the website is a bit all over the place and it is hard finding the information you want such as the exact location, how far it is from town, transport options to town and around. My suggestion is to make contact with Aquana via their "contact" page, they are very helpful and answered all my questions very promptly. There is no food preparation facilities in the bungalows so all your meals will be taken at the restaurant. This can be expensive especially when travelling with kids since they don't always want a full contental breakfast, but there is no option for just a piece of toast or such like. Aquana would be the absolute ultimate destination for us if there was a sink, toaster, hot plate & microwave in the untis. The restaurant meals are lovely though.

Love you and miss you already!!

Room Tip: They are all great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FrancieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

staying in this small yet growing resort exceeded all our expectations - it is not just very very family friendly but the whole resort is a family business and has the true feel of becoming part of one. The local staff is extremely friendly and great with kids, we had no worries handing over our 3-months-old girl to them. After two days of ordering from the menu the Swiss-trained chef Marcel would meet us every day to ask what we would like for dinner - and all was great - we never went anywhere else for food. It is the other side of the world for us but we will definitely try to come back sometime.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

What an amazing place to stay from the moment we arrived we felt completely comfortable in the beautiful surroundings and wonderful modern accommodation.Hugo,Berket and Marcel were exceptional hosts,(and Marcel's meals were the best we'd ever eaten!!) they made us feel right at home,the staff there are also fantastic helpful friendly people.Far enough away from Port Villa to feel like you're on a desert island ,but close enough to experience all Vanuatu has to offer.If you're going to stay on Efate Aquana Beach Resort is the place to be,we are looking forward to bringing our family back next year -can't wait!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vashtik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

From the very first moment we arrived , we were made to feel like part of the Aquana family. This wonderful resort represents what Vanuatu is all about, warm, friendly, relaxing and genuine in their desire for you to enjoy what they have to offer. My wife and I planned to make Aqana our base, and travel around Efate in our hire car to try many of the wonderful resturants on the island and to have a snorkle on the coral. After doing this for a while we realised that the best food was at Aqana. Marcel is a first class chef, the food was as good or better than we have had anywhere. The snorkling at "Castaway" Island ( a 20 min canoe trip from the resort ] was the best I encounted . The highlight was time spent with Carlo, being showen the customs and the history of the local people. We will be back for more.. Greg, Julie, Grafton Australia.

Room Tip: .All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Family run business takes great pride in their customer service, go out of their way to ensure total satisfaction. The food is superb and organic ingredients are used, you will not eat better in Vanuatu! The garlic prawns and coconut fish curry are to die for! Rest assured we will be looking for any excuse to return again. Thanks for the fantastic stay! Brendan & Rhia

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.6 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,532 reviews
26.7 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
7.1 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquana Beach Resort

Address: Eratap Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: ₹ 13,210 - ₹ 20,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012, Aquana Beach Resort has become Vanuatu's leading three and a half star family friendly boutique Resort and this has largely been due to the unique childcare approach it has developed and the quality of the food from it's very popular casual dining restaurant. Located 25 minutes from the International Airport and only 15 minutes from the town centre, Aquana is situated in a large lagoon surrounded by groups of deserted islands and pristine reefs. Aquana has a 150 meter long man-made beach great for children to be able to play free from danger and for adults to relax on and soak up the sun. Aquana consists of 16 bungalows all located within 30 meters of the lagoon front and a hot a la carte and a continental breakfast are both included in the room rate and the resorts idyllic surroundings provides the perfect location for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aquana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquana Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing