We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music”

The Waterfront Bar and Grill
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great music”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The food was acceptable but the music was fabulous. The atmosphere was great and everyone seemed to get up and have a dance. The singer was very entertaining and boy could he sing!!!! A great night out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pta54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    393
    154
    57
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge Pork Ribs”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The steak is great, huge pork ribs and thick steaks. Close to the Sea but not much view, note enough spacing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank WiruMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A disappointment....”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Whilst in Vanuatu we were on the mission to find the best seafood. After asking around (locals) this restaurant was mentioned as "the best seafood in Vanuatu".
We made a special trip into town for lunch and were unfortunately pretty disappointment. Who would have thought "fish and chips" could be bad... But it was. I would actually go as far as to say the worst meal we had (fish and chips was actually the only seafood option on the menu short of the platter which didn't suit us). It was bland, didn't actually taste too much like fish, chips were soggy and bad potatoes were used (brown and green bits).
On a lighter note the live music was good as were the facilities.
So in summary - Wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend it either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great atmosphere with live music right on the water close to town and reasonably priced meals and the best ribs on town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mumof04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food- great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We ate here twice during our weeks stay in Vanuatu. Both times we had delicious food, great service in a wonderful atmosphere right on the waters edge. There is a good selection on the menu, we especially enjoyed the catch of the day- there's usually 4 to choose from unless they've sold out! Wealso loved the Tahitian Fish Salad and if the Sashimi is available- it's a must! The beef curry is also delicious - its a meat feast so dont expect a dish dripping in sauce. The wine list is good but there's also a BYO of only 500vt (and a duty free off licence accross the road). They have an extensive cocktail list too. Compared to other places we ate we thought it was excellent value for money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank autumn1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing