We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and food”
Review of Le Cafe du Village

Le Cafe du Village
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Mediterranean design, waterfront location and superb cuisine have earned Cafe du Village iconic status in Vanuatu. Just a few steps down a leafy passegway next to the Grand Hotel you will enter into a small coutyard of serenity with split level coral based terraces, vivid white ballustrates, high ceilings, and white louvre shutters. Our local staff are carefully selected for their friendliness and hospitality from the top resort hotels and international cruise lines. We offer a diverse choice of dishes to suit most palates, from our freshly caught fish and lobster (when available), our excellent local beef, to our popular sausage and mash and steak and kidney pie, but make sure you a leave a little space for one of our amazing desserts. With a perfect location, beautiful views over the harbour, breath taking sunsets and fabulous hospitality there is no better place in Port Vila to relax, enjoy and while away the day.
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Had a wonderful night out for dinner, great service and wonderful staff with great smiles. The food some of the best that we had.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

We visit Port Vila twice a year and always visit "le café" at least once.
The service is usually fantastic and the food/wine has been to a great standard.
Basicly not a lot changed since our last review in 2014 so no point in posting the same over and over again.
This time I guess we came in on a bad day.
The staff were trying hard but there was a definite language barrier this time. Even using a little bislama. (perhaps BECAUSE of my poor Bislama)
The meals were served in a relay rather than all together so our daughter was finished as I was starting dinner.
We requested the usual tap water chilled and were promptly served bottled water. This we were charged for. I don't have an issue paying but we weren't told we would be paying for what we are served free elsewhere .Frankly we would grabbed a juice as our first drink if we knew.
Just a bit disappointed that one of our favorite eating places On that night seemed to have lost its edge.
We will be back over easter hopefully this was just a one off.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Cafe du Village is located well nearby Iriricki Island ferry. Meals were nice for lunch and staff helpful. Reasonable price for alcohol. Lovely location beside waterfront. Seating inside and out with wifi available.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NKR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We have visited several times before, some years ago, when this place was great. Very disappointing now and would not recommend at all. Amazing waterfront location but very expensive for mediocre food. Lots of potatoes and chips served with tough meat / chicken. Wait staff lovely and helpful, manager not interested in negative feedback. Avoid, go elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ProfVUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Public Relations Manager at Le Cafe du Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear ProfVUW

We were very disappointed to read your comment for as you are only too aware our manager took your feedback very seriously. However he was unsure how to address your initial complaints regarding the name of the restaurant and the fact it does not serve french food. The restaurant makes no pretence to be a french restaurant as must have been obviously apparent before you ordered, it is simply located in an ex Anglo French condominium and has retained its established name. We noticed that you have also posted a review about a restaurant with a Ni-Vanuatu name but does not serve local food, did you make a similar complaint to the manger or let it upset you to the same extent? Whilst we understand that it might seem strange in New Zealand to find a French named restaurant that does not serve French food it would not appear to be at all out of place in France to find a French named restaurant serving another national cuisine so it is simply a matter of context and we are sorry that it offended you so much.

It was only after our manager asked if there was actually anything wrong with the food or service that you mentioned an issue with the chicken breast being dry and the ribeye was more blue than rare which would have been a simple fix, (as a side note ribeye is better cooked medium rare due to the high fat content making it tough when the fat is not rendered).

With regards to the other ten meals you made no negative comments and we have to question why somebody who was not enjoying the experience so much would stay for dessert and then go out of their way to find the manager rather than asking to speak with them during the meal or leaving prior to dessert.

We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your evening but we do not feel that your rating is an appropriate or realistic evaluation of your experience. We only wish that you had asked us to recommend a French restaurant to you once you had established that we did not fit your criteria for the evening and we would have been more than happy to assist.

We thank your for your comments regarding our wait staff and hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

The view is great and so was the food. We went here twice for dinner and had delicious meals both times.
Great martinis and helpful staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Y3079LAjamest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe du Village also viewed

 

Been to Le Cafe du Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing