We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great rosdside birding, lovely scenic area

Peaceful stroll with large variety of birds along the roadside, mostly at quite a distance. In a... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
Carol H
,
Alice Springs, Australia
Picnic

I visited Brown River with a group of my students ie locals. It was a relaxed day out of... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2014
centralpinotlover
,
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Read all 11 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Port Moresby
from US$ 624.99
More Info
from US$ 499.99
More Info
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
2
5
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
5
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Peaceful stroll with large variety of birds along the roadside, mostly at quite a distance. In a few more open areas you could get in much closer.

Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

When we were crossing the Brown River (during the Kokoda Track) we had one of the members of our group fall in! Thankfully they were ok (apart from being very wet!) and we carried on our way. Unfortunately, it was raining the day we crossed the river and it was difficult to appreciate the river, but it is defiantly a place that is a must see (unless it is raining!).

Thank _MiaB026_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Had to cross this river on my trek to Kokoda after the rains had come. This is on place I will never forget.We had the guides from Adventure Kokoda help us across the river. WOW!

Thank delasheras2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Crossing the brown river was so much fun !! You have to be careful though because the current can get quite strong !!

Thank taylor_wright444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I visited Brown River with a group of my students ie locals. It was a relaxed day out of Moresby... The river isn't brown, it's blue-ish and was refreshingly cool from the tropical humidity. We took a picnic and BBQ food and you pay the locals for the use of the BBQs and wood. you'll need at least a 4WD to get along the road (well, we did). Great rocks to climb up and jump off into the river.
I guess not a spot to go on your own...

Thank centralpinotlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

It was a nice afternoon. Buying some local pineapples, eating them then swimming in cool water to wash the juice off and just cool down.

1  Thank The67Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stop over at brown river which was nice an a little Differnt. There were alot of locals hanging around. This is no a good thing in PNG so we decided to move on. I would advise you to do the same if you find your self in the same situation .

3  Thank Willysduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Went out to Brown River, to the picnic spot on the Nth side of Hiritano Hwy behind the rubber plantation. Locals had the area clean, with barbecues ( the will supply wood) and shelter huts. Had a good time, we all had a good swim and a game of soccer with the local resident's kids.
At least a vehicle with hi clearance will be needed for access when dry, or a 4wd if it has been raining as there are a couple of rocky creek crossings and the clay road can be slippery when wet. Have fun.

1  Thank kruegs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Due to urban growth the banks of Brown River have now become occupied by squatters and it's not a safe place for picnicking or bird watching any more unless via a carefully planned excursion with a tour group or fishing club etc. Don't try to go there by yourself or you may be relieved of your wallet and / or car.
Much of the information and trip reports on the internet about fishing bird watching at Brown River (and Pacific Adventist College now PAU) is now 20-30 years old and Port Moresby has doubled in size during that time - places which were previoulsy quiet spots out of town are now well within the urban sprawl.

4  Thank PNG_Travel_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Brown River used to be a very popular spot with locals for picnics and staff parties. It is less attractive now due to the rise in crime and raskol activity in the area. Always ask locals before visiting any area in PNG and especially so around Port Moresby.

2  Thank santafe_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews