We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel in centre of Asuncion.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Guarani Asuncion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Guarani Asuncion
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Asuncion
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in centre of Asuncion.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Very central location. Great breakfast buffet. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was very good, as were the cocktails. Nice poolside beds/chairs. Relaxed haven in the city!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    173
    84
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
91
34
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

This was not my first time staying there. I never had a problem before but the last visit at the hotel was not ok. I booked a suite on the top floor with a view to the bay, when I got there I was given one with no view. After a long talk with the receptionist ( she was telling me they were full, they had no other rooms and that the room she gave me was the room I requested, luckily I had a copy of my reservation and after I showed it to her she found a room for me ) I was given a room with a partial view of the bay. Next time I go to Asuncion I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pombero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
244 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I arrived at the Guarani around 3 am after a delayed flight from Montevideo. I barely got a greeting from the receptionist (busy sending text messages on his phone) who checked me into a room the size of most bathrooms with a twin bed and rather uncomfortable mattress. The next day after breakfast (see below), I asked for another room and they did accommodate me, giving me a queen bed and slightly bigger living quarters. The rooms are basic - flat screen TV is only 22" and barely viewable unless you're standing 2 feet away. Rooms were clean, as were the linens. The bed in the 2nd room was actually quite comfortable and the air conditioning was amazing - a nice treat to come home to a cool room after a hot day in Asuncion.

I was sort of disappointed with the breakfast. Juices were excellent and freshly squeezed. Coffee was quite good too, but the scrambled eggs were very watery and I had to wait 15 minutes for the bacon to arrive. Service was good, though, however throughout the hotel, nobody spoke any English, which could be a problem for non-Spanish guests.

Service is professional (sometimes abrupt) but I wasn't made to feel overly welcome, like you would expect from a four-star hotel. Best things here are the powerful air conditioning, very strong wi-fi throughout the hotel and location - close to all the old government buildings, and a pretty big outdoor pool that was clean and a perfect temperature. The neighborhood looks sketchy but it's actually quite safe, even in the middle of the night.

Next time I come back, I will likely pass over this option and try the Sheraton.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthewfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I am currently living in Paraguay so my opinion of this hotel may be a bit biased. To start - it is a very nice hotel, very modern and clean which is a treat compared to the rest of Asuncion, so I definitely give Guarani high points for that. We could come home, take a clean shower, and relax on the huge pool terrace (about the 5th floor). You still hear the sounds of the city but you feel excluded from it, which was a great treat for me!

The hotel is located in the heart of the downtown, across from a big plaza where there are a lot of little artisan stands selling Paraguay crafts, etc. You are also right on the main bus route, but unless you live in the city chances are you will never take the bus (too confusing, no written bus routes, etc) but cabs are readily available, though not the cheapest. You can expect to pay 90,000 Guaranies (about $19 USD for a cab from the airport - which in US terms isn't that bad, but in Paraguayan terms is robbery.)

I don't personally like the downtown area of Asuncion at all, it feels a bit too dirty and crowded and there are too many fumes from the buses, so location value is debatable, but it's hard to find a better priced hotel in the fancier area of the city, which would be more Villa Morra or Carmelitas. Plus you are central to the touristy spots and a couple of my favorite bars are only a few blocks down, (Britannia and 904 are both on the same street as Guarani about 10 blocks to the right when you exit the hotel. They are right next to the Crowne Plaza for a point of reference.)

The hotel breakfast buffet was good. Fresh fruits, juices, breads, eggs, sausage. They did not refresh as much as they should have, as some hours when you went for breakfast it seemed as though the food had run out, but overall a good selection and I left satisfied everyday. The gym is nothing special - though for Paraguay it is actually quite good. Just a few machines in a small, windowless room. The pool and pool terrace is beautiful, however - a selling point for me.

Overall, the hotel was very clean, and has all the potential of being a big world-class hotel. The staff needs to be better trained in English (I speak Spanish but my boyfriend does not and he could not communicate with them) and they need to learn more about their city in order to help tourists understand what there is to do (i.e. we tried to find a way to rent tennis courts and after blank stares and "I dont know"s for a few minutes someone finally started calling around for us to find out information. I just think that tourism in general needs to be improved, but that is a Paraguayan theme, not specific to this hotel.

There are other hotels in the city that I have heard are better quality, La Mision (which is beautiful, but costs $150 USD a night) and Villa Morra Suites. However, the cost of living compared to the cost of the hotel per night matters a lot to me when making my selection, and $150 is just not acceptable for staying in Asuncion. The Guarani at the time I stayed was $110 USD with tax a night, which is even a bit more than necessary - but acceptable for the cleanliness and niceness of the hotel. While there is some room for improvement, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Paraguay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

The hotel is in the center of Asunción; a busy but not a very quiet area.
Many shops and restaurants are in the area; many things to do and see.

The hotel was refurbished and its desgin looks very impressive from the outside.
The room size is OK although a bit small.
Breakfast buffet: Excellent variety and quality.
Staff: friendly and helpful.
Good internet connection (free!)

What needs to be improved - modernized:
* the bathroom look old and dark
* many areas need painting (furniture with a lot of scratches).

Main complaint is the "SPA", and the excercise room:
1 One Treadmill and 2 or 3 excercise bikes plus a power-station dont make a GYM!
2. There is no working sauna - but an old and dirty storage room
3. A horrible smell of plastic in the exercise room; no windows to open.

"You get what you pay for". Don´t expect a 5 star hotel at that price.

If you come here just to sleep and have breakfast OK.
If you come here to enjoy a spa and enjoy fitness activities - be warned.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asuncion hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Las Margaritas
Hotel Las Margaritas
#7 of 56 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Cecilia
Hotel Cecilia
#10 of 56 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.1 km away
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
Sheraton Asuncion Hotel
#3 of 56 in Asuncion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Asuncion Hotel
5.4 km away
Hub Hotel Asuncion
Hub Hotel Asuncion
#2 of 56 in Asuncion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.5 km away
La Mision Hotel Boutique
La Mision Hotel Boutique
#1 of 56 in Asuncion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guarani Asuncion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarani Asuncion

Property: Hotel Guarani Asuncion
Address: Oliva esq. Independencia Nacional, Asuncion 1302, Paraguay
Phone Number:
Region: Paraguay > Asuncion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Asuncion
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,728 - ₹ 9,546
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guarani Asuncion 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Guarani Asuncion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing