We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother unless you want to pay over the top for a fast-food joint”
Review of Roti Hut

Roti Hut
Ranked #34 of 108 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Indian, Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 April 2015

If you want a great atmosphere, cheap food, with attentive and pleasant staff, this is not the place for you. In spite of its name, there is nothing ‘hut-like’ about this large, impersonal eatery. It doubles as a large bakery, selling breads and all sorts of other sweet-laden cakes, cookies, and breads – and no ‘rotis’ or Indian food in sight. It also doubles as a pizza hut type joint. In essence, it’s a not very pleasant fast-food joint, with plastic everywhere including the plants and flowers. But, if you want really good curries and rotis – it has them. The portions are large. We could have done with a shared dish with a roti each. The prices do not reflect fast-food. Our entire bill of two drinks, two curries and two rotis came to over G$6,000 – US$30 to eat in an indifferent joint, with not a smile or pleasant word from one member of a large staff. We will not be going back.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christinebraganza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2015

Roti Hut has a very good ambience but the menu is very basic and the food is average in taste with the prices definitely on the higher side.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank SUNILDASWANEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

The food here is okay, I think. Ate here a few years ago. I know they have a bakery section that's worth checking out though.

1  Thank RajivDoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

I think this establishment should be renamed to Bakery Hut.
Their pastries and Bakewell bread (tennis rolls) are excellent.
The customer service needs a little improvement.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pennilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

Most of the stuff is never fresh. I have bought a few thing and find them to loose there taste . The most I buy is roti cheesecake bread .

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nade15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roti Hut also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Roti Hut? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing