We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
12
29
18
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
29
18
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

You're paying for proximity to the airport here. The room was clean and the TV worked fine. Bathroom was decent. The room had a strong odor of some sort. The staff is very friendly. The food was adequate. There is no airport shuttle the best I could tell.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Dodgy area. Homeless people sleeping rough. Daytime OK. Close to old town/Monserrate. Rude, surly, unwelcoming, off-putting night staff. Peremptory demands for passports - no smile (unusual in Colombia) . If I hadn't paid before I would have gone elsewhere. 24 hour room service did not include Sunday night. Day staff next day helpful and friendly, however. Breakfast OK - chose coffee over juice, scrambled eggs over sweet cereal. Coffees good (had three). Bread/butter/jam. Room safe could not be accessed so left passports, extra money with the day staff to put in their safe. Came back 8.30 pm. Same rude lady on duty. Passports etc could not be found. Told to wait until day staff arrived at 07.00 - but we were leaving at 05.45. Advised to ring police by a Colombian guest. So rang police - VERY impressive; arrived 15 minutes later and read the riot act to the night staff. We were assured that day staff lady would come at 05.30 to open office (NB no actual safe apparently!), Policeman gave us his card and number to ring if still problems the next morning. We came down at 05.30 - to find that miraculously the packet with our documents etc had been found during the night. Strange! Sad to leave Bogota and Colombia with this bad impression.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel frankly.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cardilloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My daughter and I just spent 4 nights at Hotel El Virrey. It was in a very walkable location and we seldom took a taxi anywhere. Close to the Gold Museum, the University area, many great cafe's, etc. The rooms were nice, hot water showers, quite location for going to bed early. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was quite basic, but sufficient. There is a great little bakery, lunch spot across the street for a bit more.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blossom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This hotel is located just a few blocks from the Transmileno stop in the La Candeleria section of Bogota - and is only one block from one of the major active streets. While you are in the heart of it all, you do not hear any of the noise from the streets. It feels safe, and the rooms are small and cozy. The beds are very comfortable. If you do not speak Spanish, you might have problems communicating with any of the hotel staff.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank BuddyinCharlotte2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is definitely a boutique hotel that has seen better days. However, the rooms are clean, cozy and the beds are comfortable. Nothing fancy in the room, but the free wifi works great. The free breakfast is in the restaurant and you get your choice of either eggs, or fruit or cereal. If you order coffee with milk you are limited to one free cup, but black coffee gets free refills. Could not figure the logic to this? The hotel is one block from the main avenue downtown and only a 5 minute walk to Plaza de Bolivar. If you have no Spanish language skills you will have difficulty with any of the hotel staff as their English language skills are very limited.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ARTHUR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews