We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
89
90
32
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
90
32
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la candelaria colonial style within walking distance candelaria district small hotel wifi connection perfect location bolivar square hotel location walk around rooms are large hot water three nights monserrate neighborhood candelabra
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately our early morning surprise flight didn't allow us to enjoy this hotel as much as we would have liked... Bottom line the bed was super comfortable, the rooms are tucked into a very pleasant and quiet courtyard, and the Italian restaurant at the front is great to have to order a beer or a coffee to take to the room or enjoy in the courtyard.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the wifi connection very reliable.
This is a great place for the money... The photos on booking.com don't do it justice but we peeked into most of the rooms and they are all very nice.
Also.. the bathroom in our room was recently rennovated and the hot water was plentiful.
The location is also very good and just on the edge of the Candelaria district so very nice to walk around and check out this ecclectic and charming neighbourhood.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We stayed several nights each side of a trip to Cali. First, the good. It is really charming, old and atmospheric. It is very well situated in the old part of town. The staff are delightful and will do anything for you. It is quiet and calm. Very clean. The rooms are large and furnished in the style of the period. Can't talk about the restaurant as we did not come all the way from Europe to eat in an Italian restaurant.
Not so good: No tourist information or maps. Breakfast was passable. Just one young lad bringing everything up the stairs all at once so the fruit and the bread and the eggs and one cup of coffee all came up at once in some disarray and getting cold. More than one cup of coffee would have been nice. The bedrooms were spacious and with good beds and linen but otherwise not so comfortable. No chair to sit on, just the bed. No table to sit at to write. No telephone. Only mirror- in the bathroom. Scarcely anywhere to put your things in the bathroom. Water pressure in the shower weak and never hotter than tepid. Worst of all, the room was so COLD. Heating is by a plug in radiator set on a timer from 6am - 8am and 6pm - 10pm. Then it turns off. Each day we begged the staff to turn it back on but the owner was usually very reluctant although he would give in eventually. It is a shame as it could be a fantastic place but the impression is of penny pinching in everything.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gay_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

For a couple of weeks I had the pleasure to travel to Colombia, I still have beautiful images of such a nice country, I decided to stay at Abadía Colonial because it's a central hotel in the old city area, the crew is great, when I say crew I mean the people from the restaurant, the guys at the reception and the cleaning ladies, most of them are coming from Venezuela, I always was welcomed with a big smile in a familiar environment.
I have to say that many times I had to witness a very bad treatment from the boss of the hotel, an Italian guy "the owner of the house " who is yelling out at the employees in front of the customers, I have the luck to understand Spanish, so I got the whole preach, most of the time based on senseless reasons, the employees can't even answer, they guy at the reception had to work 15 hours in a row, and so on.. I don't wanna even to talk about the wife of the boss, such an arrogant lady, for those reasons I won't recommend the hotel to stay, I just wish for the crew a better job in a better atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank arrowandbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolonerocchi, Gerente at Abadia Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018
Google Translation

Buenos días Señor Arrowandbag
Gracias por darnos la oportunidad de aclarar algunos puntos de su comentario.
Yo soy el Director, teniendo una pequeña cuota de las acciones de esta compañía, la Señora Olga Lucía es la administradora mas no mi esposa, quien labora en la empresa hace más de nueve años.
El personal venezolano corresponde a tres personas de una nómina de 16 colaboradores en total, nosotros pagamos a cabalidad con todas las prestaciones sociales que indica la ley colombiana, en las que se incluyen horas extras nocturnas y festivas.
Nuestra filosofía es que el cliente que paga, debe tener un servicio excelente y es por esto que nos destacamos con los demás hoteles.
Usted tiene razón que con mi tono de voz alto típico de mi cultura y debo ser discreto en público. sin embargo, cuando noto que no se cumple con los protocolos establecidos y que ponen en riesgo el buen funcionamiento del hotel no lo acepto.
Me hubiera gustado que usted antes de llegar a conclusiones hubiese escuchado mi punto de vista.
Atentamente:
Paolo Rocchi
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Stayed there for a few nights while visiting Bogota. Perfect location near most of the sights in La Candelaria, all within easy walking distance. Colonial building with a lot of character. As a result, not many modern amenities, but everything works and is clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C_Victor_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our first three nights of our trip to Colombia and found the hotel very charming and full of character with the colonial style. The location is excellent close to many attractions and the Bolivar square as well as a nearby small supermarket for getting drinking water etc from. The staff most of whom were from Venezuela were kind with us, helped in part I guess because my girlfriend is Venezuelan. We felt safe and even walked to the cable car station for Monserrate from the hotel. It is safe I think if you are sensible and remain aware. The Italian restaurant was very good and the pizza was amazing. My only feedback would be that at times it felt as though they needed more staff serving at the breakfast when it was busy as it was a bit slow.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Derrick1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews