We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hostel in quiet and safe area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chapinorte VIP

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapinorte VIP
Ranked #61 of 301 Bogota B&B and Inns
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy hostel in quiet and safe area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked this hostel during our stay right after our arrival to Bogotá. We spend there 3 nights. The hostel is located in one of rhe safest areas in Bogotá. You can easily walk nearby in night time. There are Transmilenio station in 5 minutes walk from the hostel.
Every room have free wifi internet or you can use the computer to access the internet in common area. There are kitchen there equipped well enough to prepare your own food.
Also the hostel provide free american breakfasts.
We stayed in private double room with private batthroom. The room was cozy and sspacy enough. The bathroom was clean. Hot water included ;-) But the room was noisy a litle in the mornings.
But the best of all there is it's owner Antonio. He's very helpful person who can provide with all information about the city and surroundings. He does all his best to make you stay in the hostel pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmitry_kokorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
23
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

My travelmate and I stayed here to have a place to sleep before leaving Bogota back home. This place is more run like an apartment full of room mates instead of a place to stay. It is close to the tech mall as well the night life at night. Even better, walking distance from a Bogota Beer Company Brewery.
The rooms are just about average cleanliness and just about the right size. We took the double bed with a single bed room and had a table and chair as well, and still paid a good price. The only problem I had with the room was that the sheets did not fit my bed and fell off during my sleep.
Free breakfast cooked by the owner was a delight. More of a delight was talking to Antonio, the owner. He is a very vibrant and energetic man. Very kind and sincere. He speaks both English and Spanish. It is nice to hear his story of how he came to Colombia. Ask him about it when you stay.
Originally we were booked to stay in the Chapinorte B&B but I was so please that they upgraded us to the Chapinorte VIP due to remodeling. Antonia had great communication skills getting us the correct information.
I would totally recommend Chapinorte, if not for the stay, at least to meet Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefstingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I truly recommend Chapinorte for its great location--literally 2 blocks away from three different malls and many different restaurants/nightclubs. The host is also incredibly nice and very helpful during our stay with any questions that we had.

The area also feels very safe at night which was one of our non-negotiables. There were many things to do within just a couple of blocks--nightclubs, salsa bars, restaurants--which made our trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Town, Tanzania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Hostel is on good location:
- 5 minutes walk from Heroes station ,
-walking distance to Zona rosa,
- internet cafes are around the corner
- avianca office 20 m away,
-cafes across the street
- atm across the street
If you are a light sleeper ask for rooms that are looking into the yard otherwise it can be quite noisy.
Hostel is safe, owner gives you keys and you may come and go whenever you like.
Owners were very helpful with tips, there is always available local maps and other tourist maps in the lobby,
- rooms are basic, but clean, same applies for shared toilets.Bring your soap with you
They have upstairs more fancy rooms with brand new bathrooms, very nice
Been there long enough that i can say this was one of the better hostels in Colombia.
one towel is included, pick up to airport can be arranged by email for 20 usd.
Pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Oscar and Antonio run this place very well, don't expect a luxury hotel, this place offers simple, safe, clean and quiet sleeping close to Zona Rosa and Parque 93. The hostal is located in a normal brick apartment building, make sure you know exactly the address + phone number otherwise you wont find it! (the taxi driver neither).
The prices (incl breakfast) are very reasonable knowing that all other hotels in the area are at least twice the price. We came back after 3 weeks backpacking for the last night out in Zona Rosa!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgarSevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
The Click Clack Hotel
The Click Clack Hotel
#35 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#42 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#47 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colombia At Home
#10 of 301 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Ole Mi Casa
#24 of 301 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Casona del Patio
#2 of 301 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapinorte VIP? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapinorte VIP

Property: Chapinorte VIP
Address: Calle 79 Nro 14-59 Apt 402 | Lago, Bogota 111031, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,670 - ₹ 2,120
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapinorte VIP 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Chapinorte VIP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapinorte Vip Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing