We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tour around La Paz and Moon Valley”
Review of Banjo Tours

Banjo Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Banjo Tours is a 100% Bolivian tour operator offering trips to unique and undiscovered places. Meet locals, travel away from the crowds, discover the REAL Bolivia with us in Uyuni, Sajama, La Paz, the Amazon, Lake Titicaca and the Altiplano.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great combination of Cabel Car, Taxi, and Walking. Was able to see the city up close and personal and taste some of the local flavors. Great day!

1  Thank TravelingTeacher624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andeanwanderer86, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear customer, thank you sincerely for sharing your experience with us. We could not be happier to hear we have another satisfied customer. Please do come back and let us show you the best places in and around La Paz. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 31 reviews
"national park"
in 16 reviews
"day tour"
in 26 reviews
"salt flats"
in 17 reviews
"city tour"
in 29 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"hot springs"
in 5 reviews
"guide sergio"
in 7 reviews
"uyuni trip"
in 3 reviews
"lake titicaca"
in 10 reviews
"isla del sol"
in 6 reviews
"altitude sickness"
in 3 reviews
"cable car"
in 6 reviews
"ben"
in 88 reviews
"sajama"
in 36 reviews
"itinerary"
in 18 reviews
"valley"
in 19 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

We used Banjo Tours during our visit in Bolivia and had an excellent experience; from the initial start of booking the two trips, to getting recommendations for hotels in La Paz, to informing us that we had the potential to save money if we opened our trip to other travelers, to ultimately going on the trips, Banjo Tours was helpful and quick to respond to questions. They also provided us the opportunity to either cancel or change the date of our trip due to flooding that affected one of the days of the trip since there were safety concerns on pursuing that day.

We did the 4 day Sajama National Park and Salars trip and despite it still being the raining season, our guide did his best to get to the areas in the itinerary, however, prior to our trip we were informed by the company that one of the days would need to completely change due to flooding and impassable road conditions. Wens was very enthusiastic, provided interesting insights into the country, and was very accommodating whenever we wanted to stop to take photos. Our driver was equally amazing in driving through harsh conditions, such as flooded, unpaved roads and even getting us safely through an area of water that was about 2 feet deep.

The 2 day Kayaking trip was just as good with our guides Benjamin and Valerio. Valerio was from Isla del Sol and provided us with an unique opportunity to visit his family, learn about the island from the residents' perspective and even provided us with llamas to assist in carrying some of our lighter items such as coats. A safety boat carrying our belongings while we were kayaking over to the island was provided along with all the safety gear we required. In considering the kayaking trip, one needs to take in their physical capabilities with the addition of the altitude.

1  Thank Michele327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andeanwanderer86, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear customer, we are sincerely grateful for the time you took to share your experience. Indeed, we regret that some places were inaccessible due to the heavy rains we experienced this year across the country, but are glad to hear that the few changes that had to be made did not affect your overall experience. Your comments and feedback encourage us to keep working harder and harder to provide a better experience to our customers and we do sincerely hope you come back and discover more of Bolivia with us. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andeanwanderer86, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Banjo tours gave us an excellent tour. This was a last minute change in the itinerary of the tour out of safety concerns because of heavy rain. It ended up an amazing tour with our excellent tour guide Fabian and our driver Zenon ( I hope I spelled his name correctly). Safety was on the top priority. Zenon was a very careful driver and his SUV was in top shape. Fabian was amazing and made the long car ride interesting. Not to mention our wonderful picnic lunch right in the middle of Salar de Uynni!

1  Thank daic336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andeanwanderer86, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear customer, thank you for sharing your views, we appreciate your time. We let our staff know and could not be happier. We are more encouraged to keep providing you a great service. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

I made a reservation for city tour and asked for pick-up at the El Alto airport after I flew from Cusco to Lapaz. When I arrived at the airport at 7, the flight was cancelled without prior notice. So I sent a mail to the company at 8:30 that I would not go to Lapaz due to flight condition.

The tour was supposed to begin at noon. After that time they just called me as if thet did not get any mail from me. So I attached the captured mail to them via whatsapp and asked at least half price refund and a letter for insurance company.

Then they argued that I did 'no-show' so they would not do anything. It was ridiculous. No-show means I am not going the place wihout prior notice. Actually I sent a mail and explained an unexpected and not repsonsible reason why I could not go. 4 hours Before.

How poor customer service. Actually most of tour price consist of deposit and other amounts. They require full prior amount and after getting money never respond politely.

Maybe they do not refund. But they should not say like this. They pretend not to get my prior notice for flight cancellation and argue as if I did no-show. How poor and rude it is.

Thank seungjool434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andeanwanderer86, Manager at Banjo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear customer, thank you for sharing your views, but I can only say that anyone who reads it, will realize how unjustified your complaint is. It is yourself who clearly explains the facts. Your flight was supposed to arrive at 9:50 am. Our staff was at the airport at 9:00 am already (50 mins in advance) and you sent us an email at 8:30 am. At that time, our staff had already had breakfast, put on their uniforms, left home and were on their way to meet you on time. How can one cancel with such little advance notice and expect to get a full refund as you requested that day? Even then, when we received your notification that your flight was canceled, we did not just give up and went home. We ourselves complained to the airline to try to find out whether there was something that could be done in order to get you to La Paz for your city tour. The airline told us that you might board the next flight via Lima which would take longer but even then, we waited almost 4 hours in case you ended up boarding a later flight, but you didn't. You requested a full refund and you assert that our staff was rude only because we explained, 'with facts' that our booking conditions (which you accepted at the time of booking) did not allow us to do so because we had already done ALL the expenses and you were aware of this. What's more, we did accept to write you a letter and we sent it to you promptly so you could claim the money back from your insurance company which is not a legal obligation on our part, but we did it in order to help you and have you satisfied. In conclusion, your complaint is simply a frustration for not getting your money back for a cancellation that is out of our hands, and even though we did everything in our power to help you, you responded by leaving us a negative review which we respect and accept, but at least everyone knows the facts and how unreasonable your complaint is. Thanks again and I am sorry things did not go "your" way but we have to compensate our guides and drivers fairly for their time and effort and our booking conditions are clear and fair and you do not have to book a service with us if you do not want to accept them. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banjo Tours also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Banjo Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing