We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
208
160
56
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
160
56
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews witches market colonial building san francisco church beautiful hotel quiet room recommend this hotel rooftop patio central location centre of la paz higher floor busy street excellent location the hotel staff mini bar coca tea breakfast buffet stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Spent a night here on rushed trip. Since we only had a few hours in La Paz I wanted to be center to see as much as possible. It was a great choice. Love the hotel. No complaint at all. I had a great room overlooking the rooftop patio. A little bit more city Noise at night than I'm used to but no problem.
The food in the restaurant was wonderful though I found service to be a bit slow. The quality of the food made up for everything.

If you want a high-class experience within walking distance of everything stay here.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MichaelF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasona1680, Director Comercial at La Casona Hotel-Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your comments. Indeed the Hotel is located in the heart of the city close to all the tourist attractions.
Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Very good location next to the Basilica San Francisco, beautifully renovated colonial mansion, clean spacious room with all amenities (desk and chairs, fridge, safe, huge double bed), good bathroom (proper water pressure and hot water), good wifi, good service (friendly clued-in receptionists, prompt room service)... We had a great stay at this hotel.

Only minus is that even though our room (no. 116) had a small covered terrace, it was quite dark, as not much daylight filtered in. I guess that was the price to pay for having a relatively quiet room.

Overall I'd very much recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank h_l_ned439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasona1680, Director Comercial at La Casona Hotel-Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your good comments. Indeed the Hotel Building was beautifully restored which makes it unique in La Paz City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Nice well kept boutique hotel right in the centre of La Paz, a few steps away from the witches market.
I wish I could say it is an excellent choice because the property itself is lovely, we were staying there before and after our trip to Uyuni and both times the bedrooms were clean, of good size and the heating worked very well (not to underestimate during Bolivian winters). It also has a lovely rooftop terrace. Cannot comment on the breakfast since we had to leave too early to enjoy the breakfast buffet; the hotel offers a limited continental breakfast (bread & jam plus tea/coffee) from 4am.
However, the place is let down by the attitude of its staff members, the only exception being the bellboys who were always very happy to help. We arrived quite late after a long trip from Puno and wanted to have some dinner around 10 pm but the only reply we got from reception staff was that the hotel restaurant is already closed and they cannot help us any further. No smile or welcome - even though we were communicating in Spanish. Every time we had a question we seemed to bother or disturb reception staff. A pity!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasona1680, Director Comercial at La Casona Hotel-Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thanks for your comments. With respect to the staff, it has already been changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location. Charming historic surroundings and excellent service. We stayed four nights and were upgraded to a spacious suite with direct access to a charming roof top terrace on top of the hotel. Right above the buzz of San Francisco. Lots of really helpful staff. Very comfortable. A delightful place to stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasona1680, Director Comercial at La Casona Hotel-Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Nigel.
We are delighted that you en jo yed your stay in the hotel and all your expectations and needs have been satisfied .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Although we spent three nights in La Paz (2 at La Casona) we never saw the City in daylight as we arrived late and left early every day either for excursions or flights. The traffic was dire and the noise at night + the rather poor breakfast for a hotel of this calibre is what results in our modest review score. Comfortable & spacious rooms in a very central location, but everywhere else on our travels last month the receptionists were brilliant at speaking & understanding English - not so here.

Room tip: Not sure but ask for one and hope! The noise rebounds around the pretty patio/terraces it seems.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews