We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location,value, view & elevator.”
Review of Hotel Berlina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berlina
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
california
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great staff, location,value, view & elevator.”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Just a block down Illampu from Hotel Rosario. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The owner is usually present and speaks some English, although other staff may not (more of a problem at night or on Sunday) Furnishings and carpet are outdated and worn but clean. Hot water was not a problem. The best rooms are high up and on the back side away from Illampu which gets better views and less street noise. Beds are quite soft, although one room had an impressive mural & TV. Hotel seems to be in a state of renovation. There are several computers on the 1st floor although they don't seem to work well. However when I needed to print out a ticket confirmation there was no hassle with having it done at the front desk (far different response than at Hotel Rosario). Both days I left too early to be able to check the breakfast offerings, at 7am there was nothing out. There is hot water for tea as well as purified water available in the lobby and the breakfast room. Don't miss the view from the roof deck, absolutely spectacular and you can get there on the elevator. Book via booking.com or by emailing them (reserva@hotel-berlina.com)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back and high up are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    43
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
17
40
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We needed a decent place to stay for 2 nights to get through stomach problems. Nice big room and clean bathroom with hot water. The included buffet breakfast was a bit scrimpy - was offered scrambled eggs, the buffet had toast (toaster didnt work too well), teas, coffee, cereals, cheese and butter. Tiny dishes meant you have to keep going back after 2 bites and they didn't have bigger bowels! Cable tv and towels included. Free computers in the dining room for internet.
Very friendly and accomodating staff.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the noisy main street and facing the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turasoirglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Hotel Berlina was a very good choice for us considering we were spending 5 nights in La Paz and were in need of relaxation. The hotel staff are very nice and try to accommodate all requests. We didn't like the first room we saw so they kept showing us rooms until we decided which one was our favourite! We stayed in room 603 which was brand new, big, had a fridge and cable television, quiet with hot water and American breakfast for about 37 USD per night. Hotel is in a very central location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leonie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our travel agent booked two nights at Hotel Berlina. Their website looked great and we really wanted to say there. After many hours on the bus the only thing we wanted to do was to take a hot shower. We were very surprised to find out that this three star hotel didn't have hot water. Internet didn't work for two days. First morning breakfast was half an hour late and we just had to seat and wait there and were late for the sightseeing trip. The only plus was the location and the fact that our room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siechnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schleswig, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

In dusty and caotic Lapaz, this hotel is a kind of oasis.
The building and rooms are newly build.Airy and spacious
western-style rooms are cosy & decent and very clean.
The manager was every time there and on duty.
The hospitality is coming before the money which,
I felt there.The bed is comfy and bathroom was decent
(though, some times water is not running in this city).
For the Breakfast do not expect too much but filling.
There was free internet /pc availabilty for the guests.
At the ILLAMPU street and walking distance to the
famous Iglesia de San Fransisco.
Ask from the very kind manager some discount
and go-go-go.For the front rooms, may be at the
morning times will be noisy related with busy traffic,
but for me a very good wake-up call around 7 AM.
Get ready to hearing,in this city they are everytime
using their horns like portents of the Hour.
I will definetely come again and
worth to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank Engelhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.4 km away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#22 of 76 in La Paz
87 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 76 in La Paz
77 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Milton
Hotel Milton
#26 of 76 in La Paz
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Diamante Azul
Hotel Diamante Azul
#34 of 76 in La Paz
17 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fuentes
Hotel Fuentes
#62 of 76 in La Paz
117 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlina

Property: Hotel Berlina
Address: Av. Illampu,No. 761, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,782 - ₹ 4,076
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Berlina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Berlina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing