We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place really grew on me.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Yes. This is truly the only hotel directly on the beach in Punta.
Yes. It is out of town. This was actually a blessing. Taking the bus in was very easy; we never mastered taking it back. Might have been different if our Spanish was better.
Yes. It is adults only. This hotel wouldn't fare well otherwise (noise etc)
Yes, the rooms are small, but well maintained. We did have a water view.
Yes, first impression looks like it has a few too many scuff marks.
Yes, the food is expensive, but we never had a bad meal.
BUT.
What I am left with is how much I loved this place. I really can't explain it but we felt truly cared for. The outdoor areas, living room couches, beach beds were all about enjoying the beach.Comfort ranked high. The staff (yes only a few spoke English) were so intent on making sure we had a great time, took so much pride in spreading a genuine warmth. They plied us with gifts of champagne, esp at sunset, when O Sole Mio blasted on the sound system, and all guests and staff applauded at the last bit of light. Yes, I'd go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you have some water view, even if not ocean front.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-Guy-415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Serena Hotel Punta del Este
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

For those who have watched the movie "Clueless", you will understand the reference to Monet (nice from afar but a mess up close). We were disappointed by the hotel and please allow me to explain why. First of all, let's start with the hotel itself. As it is the only hotel situated on the beach in Punta del Este, this is indeed its unique selling point and the hotel's saving grace. The beach area with the lounge sofas/beds is indeed quite picturesque with a Zen feel. There is even a large Buddha sculpture by the pool for the added exotic ambience. Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel showed very little care. From the inexpensivel materials used (wood showing cracking paint) to the lack of maintenance (the room looked worn, the hotel pool was dingy and dirty), it was an unpleasant sight.

We booked a room with partial sea view, but in fact our window faced the parking lot. One had to strain to see a bit of the sea, unfortunately completely overshadowed by the presence of the parked cars. When we mentioned this to the management, the GM explained that was how the owner sold the rooms, and that the other street facing rooms were even smaller,

Now the staff. Most of them spoke no English and some looked like teenagers straight out of high school. We learned later that indeed a number of them were at the hotel for summer work (January to March). The shortage of professionalism was compensated with enthusiasm and a youthful vigor. None of this is a real problem, but not if you are paying top dollars.

The price. We knew that during the high season in Punta, the prices hotels command would be higher than usual, however, at double the regular price, a tad extra effort should be made to accomodate the guests, but no such attention was evident. This is a difficult issue to overcome, because you'd probably not want to visit during the low season, yet what you get in the high season is totally not commensurate with what you pay. My "average" rating is for low season prices. For high season prices, the rating would be closer to "poor".

The breakfast was so-so. We ate both lunch and dinner at the hotel (the property is far from restaurants or the center), and the food was good, though pricey as expected. Free WIFI in the common areas while inaccessible in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Family-C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

A very lovely spot to stay. The staff was very helpful, the meals good, the beach amazing and the "living room" with its big couches and fireplace oh so comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My partner and I just returned from Punta del Este and found this wonderful hotel. Great service, location is top not right on the beach. Restful, relaxing and great ambiance. Food was very good with excellent wine selection. Rooms are a good size for South America. Definitly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room facing the water is a sure bet!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeotheLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Located literally on the beach, friendly staff and excellent service. They make a mean Mojito and Pina Colada too!! Other reviewers said the rooms were basic, but what more do you need when you have outside facilities like what they have. The rooms have a fab shower, tv, air con and comfortable beds - what else do you want!! Highly recommend to anyone going to Punta who wants to enjoy the beach, located just out side of the town centre you are away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to jump into a taxi if you want to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siofoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
4.4 km away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
5.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,936 reviews
3.2 km away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
552 reviews
8.0 km away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
370 reviews
5.5 km away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Punta del Este

Address: Rambla Williman- Parada 24 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#12 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range: ₹ 7,854 - ₹ 29,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Hotel Punta del Este 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Hotel Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing