We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'Auberge
Nearby Hotels
Serena Hotel Punta del Este(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 133
US$ 120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
2122 Hotel Art Design(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sisai Hotel Boutique(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Grand Hotel(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enjoy Punta Del Este(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 137
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Belvedere(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Remanso(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
US$ 72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parque Hotel Jean Clevers(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
453
83
15
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
83
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffleswater towertea housetower roomcharming hotelromantic stayexcellent restauranttake taxisbreakfast is serveduruguaypuntajanuarypersonnel
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at L'Auberge very much. We stayed in the tower which was a lot of fun. The entire staff was attentive and helpful. The bood in both restaurants was consistently excellent. The rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. The grounds, gardens and swimming pool were all attractive and well kept. Dining on the terrace restaurant was particulary relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your nice review!

It was lovely meeting you and your family.
We really loved seeing you enjoy your stay at L'Auberge, and we are very happy to have shared time with you, and our exclusive musical night with Gabriella.

We really look forward to seeing you all again.

All the best to all of you, from all our family.

Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is my first time to Punta del Este (PDE). I'm on holiday with my friend and have just arrived from Buenos Aires (second time to BA, first time to PDE).

First all, the hotel is beautiful and awfully picturesque. Its location is in one of PDE's affluent residential neighborhood, bolstering the most exclusive real estate money can buy, and about a 15-20 minute cab ride from its city center. (approximately $180-210 UR dollars depending traffic conditions) Most of our cab rides were about $200 UR, give or take a few dollars.

Now to the room. Our rate was $239 US and included daily breakfast (which was served 7am-12pm). We were pleasantly surprised to hear we were upgraded, which we were grateful for. The room was nice and large for PDE. One room had two twin beds (no doors separating any of the three rooms), the other a sitting area right of the bedroom with couch, coffee table, sitting chair and one side table with a lamp. The last room was the wash basin (sink) and luggage hold area.

The beds were small for my taste but adequate for sleep. The air conditioning was awesome. It got as cold as a meat locker but I didn’t mind it with the warm comforter and light seats that came with my (small) bed.

One of the few things that could use improvement was to modernize the key entry system to each room. (see key picture below) As quaint as it looks to have a skeleton key, it’s not practical due to the following:
a) Weight of the key (attached to a wood piece)
b) Loud/annoying/interrupting noise the key makes when exiting/entering room – locking/unlocking door

The food and waffles.

Since our flight was delayed, we had finally arrived to our hotel passed 8pm. our ride from the airport to the hotel was appx $1000 UR ($50 US) which I found to be super expensive. Since it was dark and I was tired, I couldn’t acclimate myself to the city. We checked in and proceeded to have dinner in the hotel’s “Tea Room”. This is their main dining room with outdoor seating.

I ordered the steak and my friend the pasta along with two orders of the ceviche and two bottles of wine. (we like wine OK). The meal was TDF. Too Die For!!
It was good portions and OMG delicious! I typically do not anticipate hotel food to be this good or good at all, but this was good. The service was impeccable. It was a slow night with a few tables needing service.

We were informed by the front desk that we can’t leave without trying the waffles. So indeed, we tried them. They were good and cost about $220 ($12 US) for one waffle cake. This did not include any beverages.

The Pool – the very glamorous pool

The pool at Hotel L'Auberge is a manicured masterpiece in itself. The grounds were perfect and poolside service was good. Staff was attentive and very accommodating.
(bring some bug spray!)

Overall, Hotel L'Auberge was a nice place to go if you’re looking for some R&R AND to be amongst those of age 55 and over! We were the youngest ones there! (early 40s) Again, property is beautiful, quaint, quiet and relaxing.

Truly enjoyed our stay and LOVED it. I would recommend it for the reasons above. Now if you’re looking for a chic, modern hotel closer to the city center, this is not for you.

Safe travels and travel safe!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelermundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear travelermundo,

Thank you for your detailed comment in TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to describe every detail of your stay, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon !

Best regards,
Ignacio Carrera
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Big green lawn and garden, beautiful pool, reserved jacuzzi, confortable room, good breakfast, friendly staff, amazin waffles with dulce de leche... I could go on, but you may already see the point: great hotel, really romantic and relaxed atmosphere. We highly recommend!

Due to the location, is a good idea to rent a car. The things to do is Punta del Este are a little far from each other and the hotel is no exception.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BibianaBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Bibiana,

Thank you for your review !

We are glad you enjoyed our nice hotel.
We put a lot of care and attention into every detail, so we are happy to know you appreciated it.

We hope you can come back soon !

Best regards from all of us at L'Auberge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We owe much of the success of our business trip to the beautiful sorroundings and excellent service quality of the Hotel L´Auberge. The Staff of the hotel was always ready to assist us. The food is outstanding, the service is impecable. Nothing like a lovely environment, excellent food and impecable service to create a friendly & collaborative atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower (up to the 3rd floor) are sunny (nothing like waking up with a view of the garden)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Pamela,

Thank you for your review !

It was a pleasure to assist you throughout the whole week, and we are glad that your business meeting at L'Auberge was successful.

Thank you for choosing L'Auberge and we hope you can come back for a more relaxing stay !

Best, from all of us at L'Auberge !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My partner and I spent 2 nights at L'Auberge and it was a wonderful experience - we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, gracious vacation. The hotel is charming, very old-world style with huge, well-landscaped grounds and pool and situated in a lovely neighborhood. You're in a quiet, secluded spot but a very quick 2 block walk to the beach and an easy trip to the Marina or downtown. The breakfast is very nice and we had dinner both nights in the restaurant which was excellent. The staff was very warm and welcoming - the front desk was helpful with all of our needs and requests, the waitresses were wonderful. We stayed in a tower room with a beautiful view of the sea. The room was charming and tidy but somewhat small - this wasn't a surprise, its an old water tower after all. It would get a little cramped if we were spending a week there and staying in the room much of the time but you just have to walk downstairs to the huge garden to have all of the space you need. We loved the views from the tower, though, and would definitely choose a tower room again next time. The only negative about our stay is that it was only 2 nights - I would definitely go back for a longer, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are small but the views of the beach are incredible
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MM_SF-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review !

We are very happy to know you had a wonderful stay at L'Auberge.
Every aspect of the hotel is being carefully taken care of, so we are glad you appreciate it.

We hope you can come back soon to enjoy a longer vacation !

Kind regards,

Lic. Ignacio Carrera
Hotel L'Auberge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews