We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Arabic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excelent Arabic Experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I did travel with my family and it was a great surprise. Hotel was very nice, among the best i have visited (and i have visited many), personnel attitude was as expected from Shangri La standards (very polite and very helpful). Breakfast was superb and the same was the dinner buffet (probably the best among the Shangri La hotels). The room was extremely nice and clean. The souk next to the hotel romantic and very helpful with shops restaurants and ATM's. The beach was not as nice as it looked like but the swimming pool was good and the service excellent. Nice restaurants, nice location, excellent rooms, friendly and professional service with many free extras at the swimming pool and at the beach. Ideal hotel if your destination is Abu Dhabi

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasileios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    382
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
586
1,042
100
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Shangri-la in Abu Dhabi for a work trip and had the most wonderful experience. My first room was on the ground floor. When I asked to be moved to a higher floor since I was traveling alone, I was quickly moved. The room itself was gorgeous - a wonderful view over the creek and the mosque - with a wonderful balcony. Dinner at Hoi An was spectacular. The highlight of the stay, however, was the personal service I was shown. I'd left a small item at home and realized just before my work dinner. When I asked the guest relations team member at the desk about where to replace it, she actually offered to go to the the nearest shopping centre to get it for me. After dinner, I returned to my room to find the item, receipts, and my change - along with a personal note.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just returned from a week at the Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri in Abu Dhabi with friends.
Without a doubt we must say that this was a wonderful vacation! As from our arrival in the hotel we were treated with a warm and gentle hospitality of all the staff. We knew the chain of Shangri-La of previous stays in other countries but we were delighted to be at the S-L again.
This is truly a marvelous hotel and all the amenities are great.
Let’s start about the hotel: the location is not a true ‘beach’ hotel but who cares when you have a ‘private’ beachside with a stunning view on the Grand Mosque! We must admit that the hotel is located ‘between the bridges’ but that didn’t bother us at all. Once you are along the nice swimming pool or just relaxing at the beach you forget all that. It’s a large hotel and it has a 800 m waterway which you can use to go for an ‘Arabian gondola’ ride called ‘Abra’. This gondola stops at the Soukh where one can taste and feel the Arabian way of life.
The premises are all kept very clean and all the staff do their outmost to make your stay unforgettable.
We had a premier room on the 4th floor with a large terrace with a view on the Mosque which was as well in the morning as at sunset a photographic wonder. The room was large and had all the necessary amenities. We heard a few days some music from Pearls&Caviar but that made our lounge moment on our terrace even more enjoyable.
We knew already what to expect from the food but we must say this was really top class food. We stayed during the period of easter and at the buffet there was a huge chocolate egg and not only in the morning was there a chocolate fountain even for dinner there were 3 fountains (dark, milk and white). We had breakfast outside every morning around 8th o’clock so we could make some good excursions even when this was our sixth time in the UAE! We also had the chance to take part at the Easter brunch which is very popular at this hotel and we must say that it was a great experience! All together with locals and tourists – an amazing mixture of all cultures and religions.
However if you want an culinary delight you can choose eather more Asian style at the Vietnamese restaurant Hoi An or the Chinese restaurant Shang Palace or you can go for an exquisite dining experience at the French restaurant Bord’Eau. Whatever your taste is, you will be spoiled with an array of different spices and flavours.
I did already mention that the staff made our stay like being part of the S-L family, but it’s that human capital of the staff that gives the hotel that extra touch. It would be to difficult to mention all names but if we should give some names that made our stay one to remember here are some of them: Ivy, Islam, Hassan, Marianne, Snow, Matthijs, Adil, Kamal, Nora and many more.
We won’t forget the general manager although we didn’t met him but he surely deserves all our respect for leading this fabulous resort.
We hope to be back one day at this fantastic hotel!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 3td or 4th floor. they give fantastic views of the Mosque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlabbyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

great hotel , fab food excellent staff and location - loved it!!!chines expensive but excellent - worth the money.
Top tip - avoid the high tea at the Emirates Palace - devoid of all atmosphere, staff barely civil
Grand mosque excellent - go as early as you can and look for Arabian tour guides in the white

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of our recent visit to Abu Dhabi to see our son who is working there for six months. He recommended it as it is not too far from the airport where we were arriving late. We had a wonderful welcome and were shown straight to our room (444) which has a lovely balcony overlooking the grounds of the hotel. Our son had arranged a bottle of champagne for us on arrival and this was waiting for us. He then arrived so we sat on the balcony sipping chilled champagne and eating strawberries and cream. The girl who showed us to our room could not have been more welcoming.

We decided to dine outside at Hoi Ann, the Vietnamese restaurant, which was very good indeed. Our son said it was the best meal he had had in Abu Dhabi. We then had breakfast in our room as we were leaving that morning to go to the Qasr al Sarab Hotel in the desert. We therefore only had a very short stay at the Shangri La but it could not have been bettered.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
18.0 km away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,144 reviews
18.6 km away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,212 reviews
17.6 km away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
16.5 km away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
13.4 km away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,108 - ₹ 26,910
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing