We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”

Koi Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #28 of 2,359 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 300
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Koi Abu Dhabi, imaginative dishes are inspired by traditional Japanese preparations, then deconstructed and infused with modern California accents. Modern palates will truly be inspired by Koi's Japanese fusion and traditional dishes. These creations, along with innovative signature cocktails, are coupled with an atmosphere that evokes both intrigue and serenity, transporting guests for an unforgettable experience. Among Koi's signature dishes are Crispy Rice Topped with Spicy Tuna, Hamachi Fusion, and Spicy Crunchy Yellowtail Tartare. Signature dishes from the kitchen include Miso-Bronzed Black Cod with Seasonal Vegetables, Peppercorn Filet Mignon, and Grilled Sea Bass with a Honey Balsamic Glaze, Shiso-Pea Coulis. The sushi chefs present some of the freshest fish in town including yellowtail, toro, octopus, snow crab and uni, in addition to signature rolls. With six locations worldwide including Bangkok, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, New York - Bryant Park, New York - SoHo and now Abu Dhabi, Koi continues to stake its claim as the international leader in contemporary Japanese cuisine. At Koi, there's something for everyone.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We come here every time we stay at the Park Hyatt next door.
Most portions are small so you need to order quite a few. I finally took the chicken and that was quite a sizeable portion.
They put a few groups in the lounge at the entry. They were loud but that's the case for most every group. When I spend €100 pp I like to enjoy my food in a tranquil way and not feel like I'm in a loud bar.
The service was excellent however.
Don't know if I'll come back again.

Thank DH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koi_AbuDhabi, Manager at Koi Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear DH65,
Thank you so much for your great post about your experience in KOI Abu Dhabi,
We appreciate your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed selection from our menu, each item on our menu is carefully selected and the ingredients are the best available on the market, hence it may seem a pricey, but this is purely because of the quality of produce we serve.

On behalf of the entire KOI Abu Dhabi team, we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future to try more of our delicious options on the menu.

Regards,
Raj Katoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018

We frequent Koi because it is so great and always consistent. Must haves include:
Creamy rock shrimp tempura, salmon carpaccio with black truffle and ponzu, Wagyu beef carpaccio with yuzu vinaigrette. My husband loves the sushi as it's the best in the region. From the mains, the Glazed Tiger Prawns and Miso Black Cod are fabulous, flavorful and perfect every time. The short ribs are also divine with the creamy risotto. The staff is caring and attentive and the management engaged. A truly exceptional place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koi_AbuDhabi, Manager at Koi Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Lori T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your dining experience. It's really gratifying to hear such positive feedback from our regular guests and to know that you enjoyed your dining experience.

I have shared your comments with the entire team who were all delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Raj Katoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

I am a fan of Koi in West L.A., California, USA, and so I jumped at the opportunity to visit this sister restaurant. The restaurant is in the collection, and series of properties on the grounds of the St. Regis Hotel, in Abu Dhabi. It is dimly lit, ( I wished the lighting was brighter) however it is has an architectural charm to the property. The service was very good. I enjoyed my meal and it arrived to the table in a reasonable amount of time. I'm glad I went, overall it was a good dining experience.

Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koi_AbuDhabi, Manager at Koi Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear kenneth m,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review of your dining experience at KOI Abu Dhabi, it’s truly appreciated.

On behalf of the entire KOI Abu Dhabi team, we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future for another memorable dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Raj Katoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Spicy tuna ..far right, chicken tempura on left..
And Dragon toll on back side..

We had been here about a year ago, and we try these Sakura roll, which was spicy tuna, avocado and jalapeno. This time, we had the spicy tuna, Chicken tempura, and the Dragon TOLL. D LISH!!!!!

Thank taffygirlMokena_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koi_AbuDhabi, Manager at Koi Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear taffygirlMokena_IL,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Your feedback is important to us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience on your visit and thank you for your kind words.

We shall share your review with our team and I’m sure Our chefs will be very pleased. They work in a professional manner and use the freshest produce we can find, adding quality to their crafting of spectacular dishes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to KOI.

Regards,
Raj Katoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We have been planning to get to Koi for sometime now and we finally made it out there on Monday night and wow was it amazing! From the attentiveness of the pleasant staff (bringing pashminas outside in case we were cold) to the beautiful setting, to the excellent food. It was a prefect evening. The food is so good and the presentation wonderful. We tried many items including; spiced edamame, lobster tacos, wagyu beef carpaccio (splendid!!) and a number of sushi rolls- all totally delicious. We were quite full afterwards but went for the chocolate lava cake for dessert which was decadent. After a very underwhelming experience at another famous Abu Dhabi restaurant the week before this was such a nice and welcome experience. We will be back (and soon).

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koi_AbuDhabi, Manager at Koi Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear DRNJ1960,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your dining experience. It's really gratifying to hear such positive feedback from our guests and to know that you enjoyed your dining experience.

We have shared your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Raj Katoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koi Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Koi Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing