We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special but comfortable”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were here for 2 nights for the Abudhabi international triathlon.So we didnt do much in the hotel, spend alot of time by the corniche.Hotel looks old from outside but the rooms are clean, modern, comfortable and with all standard amenities. Check in was smooth, and staff were friendly.We had dinner in the Italian restaurant and food and service was great.The second night at the belgium cafe and that was good too.By the beach theres a small kids play area with slides and swings if you are staying with kids.Our daughter played alot there with other kids on the first day.Overall value for what we paid

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV4Vanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your short stay with us.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our services and found your room upto your expectations.

We are also very glad to note you enjoyed our on-site Belgian cafe and Boccaccio- our Italian restaurant. We also hope you enjoyed the Abu Dhabi Triathlon and and if you were participants, took the opportunity to use our Gym and massage services.

Please do give us the opportunity to serve you again when you next visit Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    564
    167
    42
    29
See reviews for
396
765
131
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The InterContinental Abu Dhabi has a good location. The rooms are bigger than average and well maintained. Upon check-in the front desk staff was thanking me for my loyalty as a Priority Club member. That gave me a sort of special feeling. I also received a free beverage voucher. A very nice touch. There are many food and drinks outlets in the hotel area. They all provide a high standard. The InterContinental is showing it's age here and there but still a very good quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to rate us here and write a review about our hotel and services.

We are very happy that our services at the front desk and check-in procedures made you feel special.All our priority club members and ambassadors are special to us.

We are also glad you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our excellent on-site restaurants.

We hoe you will give us the pleasure of serving you again upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Enormous thanks to all the staff at the intercontinental hotel for our lovely stay
My sister and I had a great time - we were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of the hotel which was exactly what we wanted to do
The sea view room was lovely and clean. We booked with a free upgrade to half board. The food was plentiful and delicious with great variety. We loved the touches of the cool box with free cold water at the pool and the water melon the staff would bring round. They also off a free courtesy bus to the shopping malls which was nice.
Most of all was the friendliness and warmth of all the staff at the hotel all so kind in making sure we had everything we needed. Nothing seemed too much of a problem.
I would definitely stay at your hotel again
There is a lot of construction work going on around the hotel and in the city but it did not impact our stay
When we arrived at Abu Dhabi airport we took a fix rate car to the hotel which was 70 dirhams, when I booked a taxi to take us back to the airport I was told it would cost me 130 dirhams 136 if I charged it to my bill, I found this very strange and was informed that it was the cost taking a car from the hotel...

Overall we had a really good time and once again many thanks to all the staff there and I hope to see you again

Room Tip: We were on 11th Floor and had a good sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomps44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a great review of your stay with us. We are very glad to note that you enjoyed your free upgrade to half board with the buffet at our all day dining restaurant - Selections.

We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the facilities at our pool and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to all you wishes.

We hope that upon your next visit you will be able to enjoy the pleasure of our brand new Spa services and beach facing pools.

We have also taken note of your displeasure with the fixed rate taxi service to the airport from the hotel and will take your feedback into consideration when we review our facilities shortly.

We look forward to receiving you again.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Basically this is a nice hotel on the inside but lacks the usual bling of a 5 star UAE hotel.
We stayed here for one week with a complimentary upgrade to half board. Check-in was quick and easy. Room on the 17th floor was spacious and comfortable with everything you would need.
House keeping was very good.

When staying on the half board basis you meals are to be taken in the selections restaurant. On the first night of are stay we went into the restaurant and were greeted by the staff and shown to a table. There was not any explanation of any of the food and drink on offer this did improved throughout the week. Breakfast was average but food in the evening was a little poor and repetitive.

We ventured to the beach which at the moment is a building site/dump which were aware of.
Swimming pool is small. Plenty of loungers. Staff around the pool are helpful with providing towels and plenty of complimentary water. The pool area is a little tired and pretty quiet during the day. I must say that on Fridays which is the start of their weekend the locals come to the hotel and use the facilities as they do in the UAE. In all the years we have been travelling to the middle east we have never seen anything like this before as what can only be described as an infant school playtime. With the hotel not having a separate children's pool there was just chaos everywhere.
Generally the staff where not as helpful as they could be apart from the lady on the help desk how couldn't help enough( excellent ).
Having said that, for what we paid it was okay.As we spoke to couples who had paid a considerable amount more.
But would not visit again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better to avoid noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttynag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other tarvellers about your experience with us.

We are very sorry to note your displeasure with our restaurant - Selections and the food thereof. We sincerely hope you would have had the chance to try any of our other six excellent culinary restaurants.

We are also very sorry to note about your experience at the pool. We are in the process of building 2 new pools and a state of the art spa next to the beach, which you visited during your stay.

Should you wish to give us another chance upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi, we can assure you that you will find the leisure services vastly improved and hope you can give some, if not all of our other excellent culinary restaurants a try.

Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel and staff at this hotel are just fantastic, the location of the hotel is great for the city, shops and the beach. It is just a short taxi ride away from any of the above for aproxx 10DH equivalent to £2 Sterling. The hotel restaurant food is mind blowing with the amount of different dishes to choose from. The service from the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms can not be faulted. The pool at the hotel is well situated for the all day sun with no shadows, plenty of room and sunshades, free water through out the day if you want it, even the local elderly gents who frequent their corner of the pool playing Backgammon are really friendly. The beach facilities are also excellent just like the pool. I enjoyed it so much it took me 1 week back in the UK weather to book again for August.

This hotel is a must for anyone travelling to Abu Dhabi and to stay on Half-Board is another plus. The rooms are so well equipped and spacious that I would not stay anywhere else from now on. I stayed nearer the city last time but not anymore.

Seeing is believing and believe me you will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Face the city as the others face the pool and the sun all day and can get hot in the rooms during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treborzitswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write an absolutely fantastic review of our hotel.

We are delighted to note you will be back again in August and give us the utmost pleasure of serving you again.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our hotel food, pool and found the location very easy. We look forward to receiving you again hoe to see you become a regular patron of our facilities.

While the beach may not be the best in August, we do hope you enjoy all our other services just as much as you have previously.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 km away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
0.8 km away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#38 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
6.1 km away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
6.3 km away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,170 - ₹ 16,673
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing