We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers(Abu Dhabi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emirates Palace(Abu Dhabi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oryx Hotel(Abu Dhabi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,599)
Filter reviews
2,599 results
Traveller rating
1,660
669
191
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,660
669
191
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyacht clubbelgian cafeselections restaurantfish marketpiano loungebyblos sur mermarina mallall inclusive packagebeach barprivate beachthird floorclub roomcity viewconcierge deskduty managerhealth clubetihad towers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 2,599 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Enormous thanks to all the staff at the intercontinental hotel for our lovely stay
My sister and I had a great time - we were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of the hotel which was exactly what we wanted to do
The sea view room was lovely and clean. We booked with a free upgrade to half board. The food was plentiful and delicious with great variety. We loved the touches of the cool box with free cold water at the pool and the water melon the staff would bring round. They also off a free courtesy bus to the shopping malls which was nice.
Most of all was the friendliness and warmth of all the staff at the hotel all so kind in making sure we had everything we needed. Nothing seemed too much of a problem.
I would definitely stay at your hotel again
There is a lot of construction work going on around the hotel and in the city but it did not impact our stay
When we arrived at Abu Dhabi airport we took a fix rate car to the hotel which was 70 dirhams, when I booked a taxi to take us back to the airport I was told it would cost me 130 dirhams 136 if I charged it to my bill, I found this very strange and was informed that it was the cost taking a car from the hotel...

Overall we had a really good time and once again many thanks to all the staff there and I hope to see you again

Room Tip: We were on 11th Floor and had a good sea view room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomps44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a great review of your stay with us. We are very glad to note that you enjoyed your free upgrade to half board with the buffet at our all day dining restaurant - Selections.

We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the facilities at our pool and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to all you wishes.

We hope that upon your next visit you will be able to enjoy the pleasure of our brand new Spa services and beach facing pools.

We have also taken note of your displeasure with the fixed rate taxi service to the airport from the hotel and will take your feedback into consideration when we review our facilities shortly.

We look forward to receiving you again.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Basically this is a nice hotel on the inside but lacks the usual bling of a 5 star UAE hotel.
We stayed here for one week with a complimentary upgrade to half board. Check-in was quick and easy. Room on the 17th floor was spacious and comfortable with everything you would need.
House keeping was very good.

When staying on the half board basis you meals are to be taken in the selections restaurant. On the first night of are stay we went into the restaurant and were greeted by the staff and shown to a table. There was not any explanation of any of the food and drink on offer this did improved throughout the week. Breakfast was average but food in the evening was a little poor and repetitive.

We ventured to the beach which at the moment is a building site/dump which were aware of.
Swimming pool is small. Plenty of loungers. Staff around the pool are helpful with providing towels and plenty of complimentary water. The pool area is a little tired and pretty quiet during the day. I must say that on Fridays which is the start of their weekend the locals come to the hotel and use the facilities as they do in the UAE. In all the years we have been travelling to the middle east we have never seen anything like this before as what can only be described as an infant school playtime. With the hotel not having a separate children's pool there was just chaos everywhere.
Generally the staff where not as helpful as they could be apart from the lady on the help desk how couldn't help enough( excellent ).
Having said that, for what we paid it was okay.As we spoke to couples who had paid a considerable amount more.
But would not visit again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better to avoid noise from the road
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuttynag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other tarvellers about your experience with us.

We are very sorry to note your displeasure with our restaurant - Selections and the food thereof. We sincerely hope you would have had the chance to try any of our other six excellent culinary restaurants.

We are also very sorry to note about your experience at the pool. We are in the process of building 2 new pools and a state of the art spa next to the beach, which you visited during your stay.

Should you wish to give us another chance upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi, we can assure you that you will find the leisure services vastly improved and hope you can give some, if not all of our other excellent culinary restaurants a try.

Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel and staff at this hotel are just fantastic, the location of the hotel is great for the city, shops and the beach. It is just a short taxi ride away from any of the above for aproxx 10DH equivalent to £2 Sterling. The hotel restaurant food is mind blowing with the amount of different dishes to choose from. The service from the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms can not be faulted. The pool at the hotel is well situated for the all day sun with no shadows, plenty of room and sunshades, free water through out the day if you want it, even the local elderly gents who frequent their corner of the pool playing Backgammon are really friendly. The beach facilities are also excellent just like the pool. I enjoyed it so much it took me 1 week back in the UK weather to book again for August.

This hotel is a must for anyone travelling to Abu Dhabi and to stay on Half-Board is another plus. The rooms are so well equipped and spacious that I would not stay anywhere else from now on. I stayed nearer the city last time but not anymore.

Seeing is believing and believe me you will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Face the city as the others face the pool and the sun all day and can get hot in the rooms during the day.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayxqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write an absolutely fantastic review of our hotel.

We are delighted to note you will be back again in August and give us the utmost pleasure of serving you again.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our hotel food, pool and found the location very easy. We look forward to receiving you again hoe to see you become a regular patron of our facilities.

While the beach may not be the best in August, we do hope you enjoy all our other services just as much as you have previously.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel was a welcome oasis. Great staff, excellent service and food. As a first time visitor the bus tour is a must. We also visited the falcon hospital by taxi which was very interesting.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelcasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to rate us here and also mention some of the things you were able to do in Abu Dhabi.

We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the services of our staff and possibly had the chance to explore our various restaurants.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed the Abu Dhabi city tour and the falcon hospital which you have mentioned was interesting.

Please give us the distinction of serving you again upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I was lucky enough to "live" here for several weeks, and was unbelievably comfortable. Room services are great, the lobby is beautiful (it smells good, looks good, has lovely music and a competent staff). The lobby cafe is really great for people-watching and the occasional musical performance. With the restaurants are top-notch, from the Belgian Bar, to Chamas (the meat-eaters' paradise), to the almost endless breakfast buffet, you won't go hungry, even during Ramadan. I loved my balcony, and my super-clean room. The spa was nice, and even yoga classes could be scheduled around your own schedule. It's close to Marina Mall and not far from the Corniche, so it's well-located.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mixchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a fantastic review of you long stay with us last year.

We are delighted to note that you loved your stay and found everything perfectly comfortable. WE are also very glad to note that you enjoyed all our restaurants including Piano lounge and even during Ramadan had no problems with the food or the atmosphere of the hotel.

We hope you will visit us again give us the pleasure of serving you once more.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews