We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“4 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at several Intercontinental hotels I felt this one was not up to the usual standard. Although reception, staff , room and business lounge where as expected I missed the wifi access throughout the hotel ( wifi was non-existent or low signal in many places).
Street side rooms have to cope with traffic noise so I would suggest to choose a sea view instead.
Don't suggest anyone to choose this hotel if beach use is what you had in mind as construction of a small island seems to ongoing .
Hotel restaurants are top notch and the overall atmosphere is very relaxed.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our hotel.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed our restaurants, the services of our staff and our rooms and other facilities met your expectations. At the same time we are also very sorry to hear that you did not find our wifi network up to the mark.

We have recently improved our wifi network and also made it free for all guests staying with us. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the landfill across from our beach and the construction on the street side as these are both government projects.

We hope you will give us the chance to serve you again upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi and you will find most of the construction over and our wifi network robust.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    548
    163
    42
    29
See reviews for
381
746
129
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Intercontinental Abu Dhabi is basically at a good location.- i booked this playe for my family and me because i wanted to spend a few days of nice vacation. When we arrived(at 8.00 pm) the booked rooms with sea view where not available - to make it short - we moved three times until they gave us a suite with two bedrooms. Something is always broken in the rooms - an incompetent house electrican tried to fix our power control system(the lights won`t switch off) in the middle of the nigh(1.30 am). The beach is unusable due to terrible noise(building anything right across the beach). The pool is too small and only has around 70 sunbeds - not enought for more than 250 rooms. During our 8 days stay it was impossible three times to get any place around the pools. The breakfast ist fairly well but service is not good. They don`t have enought space for all the people in the morning. Food is o.k. but some strange things happened - after three days we were refused to get a made to order omelette - we should use the ready prepared omelettes. If you order coffee you probably will get tea. The service personel is not very good - they are friendly but it could happen during a viisit at the buffet that they take away your cup even when they can see you are still here. All prices in the hotel are 5 star plus - the service and the standard NOT. We had a lot of trouble and had to complain about many things neary each day. The people are friendly but you have the impression that they forget everything as soon as you turn around. I have been in Abu Dhabi MANY TIMES - different hotels, different seasons, at least 15 times during the last few years. This hotel is the worst `premium` place to stay in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: If you NEED to stay there - don`t take a room to the street side because it is a noisy building site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay at our hotel. your feedback is valuable to us.

We are sorry to hear about your many unpleasant experiences during your 8 day stay with us. We have communicated your complains to the people concerned and every effort is being made to ensure that such mistakes are not repeated again.

We hope you give us the chance to serve you again in the near future where you will find our services vastly improved and meeting your expectations.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Was there 2 days only. Hotel have really good location, in my opinion one of the best in city, that's why we chose it. It's waking distance to Corncihe (around 20min walk) and around 30 min walk to Marina mall. Also we have nice view from room to Emirates palace, Marina mall, Corniche, LuLu island and city, all this from 1 window. Room is clean, comfortable, I like bathroom, it have doors between main bathroom and toilet and shower, so its comfortable if you not alone. Hotel have big territory, nice to walk around, own beach, but we not really like it, because water surround by land, so I had feeling I swim in swam. Pool is big , but workers was rude and also strong alcohol smell there. I strongly recommend muslim people to avoid this hotel, because they not allow to enter any hotel restaurant in muslim dress such as abaya or disdasha (thobe), so I have to take taxi and go eat outside of hotel, because of this reason. Lot of drunk people was walking around and make noise, especially at night. Also we cant sleep half night, because no soundproof at all, we can hear people walking in next room, like it was in our, so we was many time wakeup in fear, that someone in our room. So I think this hotel is good for loud party people, but not for muslim people or people who like quite relax.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our location and our property and enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk around to the Corniche and Marina mall.

We are also very sorry to hear about your disapproving experience at our swimming pool and the beach. Unfortunately we cannot control the government decision of filling the land across the water in front of our beach and are sorry you did not enjoy your swim there.

It is true we do not allow Muslim dresses in our nightclub - The Yacht Club and our our pub - The Belgian Cafe, but all kinds of attire is allowed in all of our other 4 restaurants. We are also sorry to about the noise level in your room and we will make sure to include your feedback when we review our facilities in the near future.

We hope you will give us the chance to serve you again upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi and see our facilities with a new light.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental for several days at the beginning of March . Before arrival I had been reading trip advisor comments for a few weeks and was awaiting the trip to Abu Dhabi with apprehension , comments for the hotel were varied and not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. But what a surprise from the friendly quick checkin , the very acceptable room.

Food was Ok and service exceptional.
The hotel was immaculate and the room kept clean with minimal intrusion, they seem to know whe I would be out of the room and it was cleaned etc during this period.

I used the shuttle bus twice to the local Mall , and there was no problem in booking or using.

There has been quite a bit of comment re sea views , forget it the view is a couple of Islands with building work -- not much sea to be seen anywhere.

The pool area is clean and you are well looked after and the beach area is just a relaxing place to go -- you can tune out the building noise its not that intrusive.

Overall an excellent hotel and well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and despite your prior apprehensions were not disappointed by our services and facilities.

We are also very happy to note that despite the intrusion of the view on our beach you found it relaxing. We hope you had the chance to visit some of our award winning restaurants within the hotel. You can have a quick look at them on our new dining website.

We hope to receive you again in the future and hoe you will enjoy your stay as much as you did this time.

Thank you once more for a fantastic review and sharing your experience with our other guests.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental (IC) Abu Dhabi during a January 2012 trip. I found my reservation in good order, and the hotel recognized all the Ambassador benefits for which I am eligible. I had left some luggage in the duty free at the airport. When found at the airport and the hotel was notified, I was contacted straight away and the duty manager arranged transport to the airport. When dealing with the front desk for other matters, I found them operating at the same professional level. However, this was not the case when dealing with the concierge or the porter—both left much to be desired. Both seemed unable to discharge their duties at a level you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Although my room offered excellent views there is nothing worth seeing, the hotel faces (at least on my side) a light industrial area. This IC is old and it shows; the entertainment system though in line with other ICs did not work properly, although the hotel maintenance responded promptly—it was never quite right. The furniture was old and tired showing signs of wear. The lights and furniture seemed mismatched, which made things awkward—for example, the stand to place your luggage was in an unlit corner of a room. The bath has a Jacuzzi tub, but it took 30+ minutes to fill it, also there we no handles to assist entry, which again made things awkward. The tile floor was also very slippery. The bedroom also had one of the diabolical room control units that inhabit Mideast ICs—they are terrible. However, the bed (and bath) linens were all good. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant is over-priced, the food quality & selection poor, and not worth a visit. The Italian restaurant is passable in both food and service, but nothing special. The coffee shop in the lobby is best of the three places I visited, but when looking at air vents there is evidence of past water damage (saw the same in the Italian restaurant). All in all, with the exception of the front desk staff this IC has little to recommend it. I cannot see this IC as being anyone’s first choice as a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Number72_7073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest

We are very sorry to note that your stay with us was not up to the standards that you expected.

We are also very sorry that you did not find our concierge desk efficient and the premises to be old, in need of repair and awkward.

At the same time we are also pleased to note that you found our front desk efficient and up to the mark.

Once again - please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 km away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.8 km away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
6.1 km away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
6.3 km away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,425 - ₹ 18,696
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing