We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental (IC) Abu Dhabi during a January 2012 trip. I found my reservation in good order, and the hotel recognized all the Ambassador benefits for which I am eligible. I had left some luggage in the duty free at the airport. When found at the airport and the hotel was notified, I was contacted straight away and the duty manager arranged transport to the airport. When dealing with the front desk for other matters, I found them operating at the same professional level. However, this was not the case when dealing with the concierge or the porter—both left much to be desired. Both seemed unable to discharge their duties at a level you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Although my room offered excellent views there is nothing worth seeing, the hotel faces (at least on my side) a light industrial area. This IC is old and it shows; the entertainment system though in line with other ICs did not work properly, although the hotel maintenance responded promptly—it was never quite right. The furniture was old and tired showing signs of wear. The lights and furniture seemed mismatched, which made things awkward—for example, the stand to place your luggage was in an unlit corner of a room. The bath has a Jacuzzi tub, but it took 30+ minutes to fill it, also there we no handles to assist entry, which again made things awkward. The tile floor was also very slippery. The bedroom also had one of the diabolical room control units that inhabit Mideast ICs—they are terrible. However, the bed (and bath) linens were all good. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant is over-priced, the food quality & selection poor, and not worth a visit. The Italian restaurant is passable in both food and service, but nothing special. The coffee shop in the lobby is best of the three places I visited, but when looking at air vents there is evidence of past water damage (saw the same in the Italian restaurant). All in all, with the exception of the front desk staff this IC has little to recommend it. I cannot see this IC as being anyone’s first choice as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Number72_7073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest

We are very sorry to note that your stay with us was not up to the standards that you expected.

We are also very sorry that you did not find our concierge desk efficient and the premises to be old, in need of repair and awkward.

At the same time we are also pleased to note that you found our front desk efficient and up to the mark.

Once again - please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,645 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

I found myself in Abu Dhabi city at 6pm on a Thursday night without a hotel room and called ahead for the cheapest room, which was AED 550++. I successfully negotiated the roadworks, got myself parked straight outside the door and was in the room within 10 minutes of arrival. I ended up in room 808, a city view double and was very impressed by the whole thing. Very modern hotel with great eating choices. A huge windowed spacious well mirrored room with gigantic bed, all the toys, great bathroom with separate bath, shower and toilet cubicles and huge fluffy towels. Enjoyed the food in the Belgian Beer Cafe downstairs and then took the opportunity to walk the length of the marina boardwalk behind the hotel for a late evening breath of air. Had a super sleep and a long lay in on Friday morning before popping up the road to Marina Mall for a Starbucks. I will stop again when I want that little bit of luxury.

Room Tip: 808 had a view ranging from the Emirates Palace on the left along the back of the Corniche with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear FWTraveller

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel.

We cannot express how happy we are that you have touched on all the good aspects of our hotel - the fast check in, the amenities in the room, the view, the Belgian Cafe (not to mention our other award winning restaurants), the Marina and the convenient location.

We do hope that you would like to come again for a bit of pampering and give us the opportunity to serve you again. You can also come to any of our restaurants individually by booking online and expect the same great service and food!

Thank you once more for a great review and sharing your experience with our other guests.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here half board from 5th 'till 12th March 2012 and were fairly happy with our stay, but found 1 or 2 bad points eg. the food was deffinately not up to 5 star, we usually stay in the Sheraton when here but chose a change and being dissapointed food wise took dinner 1 night in the Shearaton and we confirmed very much that it was not to the same standard.
We also felt "isolated" insofar as to get any where from the hotel we had to take a taxi as there are NO footpaths from the hotel, so unlike the Sheraton where in 1min you can get onto the corniche and walk as far as one likes, very nice on a cool evening.
Sorry Intercontinetal you try hard but the building and the surroundings along with your food let you down.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for a high up pool view room as we were advised and we got one no questions asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beamkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear beamkay

We are very sorry to note that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

We are extremely apologetic that you found the food quality not up to the standard expected from InterContinental.

We have some excellent award winning restaurants within the hotel such as Chamas - The Brazilian Churrascaria, the Fishmarket - on the beach, our Japanese fusion restaurant - The Yacht Club (with celebrity chefs' designed menus) and the multiple award winning - Belgian cafe.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve when you next come to Abu Dhabi and sample one of our outlets. We can assure you - you will not be disappointed.

We are also very sorry to note that you felt isolated on your stay with us as you could not pleasantly walk around. We hope when you visit next - the construction around the hotel would be over and the footpath built so you can walk around to your liking.

Once again please accept our deepest apologies and hope you will give us another chance and one of our restaurants a try.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

the interconti in abu dhabi is a great place, where we spend a few days of holidays.
very friendly people. helping with a smile in theire face all the time. we felt very comfortable and wellcome. the room, food, cleanliness were excellent.

Room Tip: higher floors are less noisy about so many constructions all arround
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear gabrielepenny

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time during your holiday.

It is very heartening to know that you found our staff friendly and welcoming and the facilities of our rooms and food excellent.

We hope you will come again and give us the opportunity to serve you once more. Hopefully the next time you are here the construction works around the hotel would have stopped. :)

Once again - thank you very much for a fantastic review and sharing your good experience with us.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed with family in a suite sea facing.Was a nice experience.Have stayed at the same place before.The pool was enjoyable.The beach is ok.

Room Tip: the sea facing/pool facing rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOHAMMED NIZAM I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear MOHAMMED NIZAM

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us a family friendly hotel.

We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed the services at our pool and found the beach relaxing.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We are also building another pool in the garden adjacent to the beach and hope to see this finished before the year ends.

Thank you once more for your review and sharing your experience with our other guests

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 km away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,358 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#47 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,146 reviews
17.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#26 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,776 reviews
0.8 km away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,488 reviews
16.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: ₹ 9,641 - ₹ 22,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing