We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfectly clean, very friendly team, great views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly clean, very friendly team, great views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Intercon in Abu Dhabi is in a great position just back from the Corniche. There are some incredibly glam places in this city, but for good honest value for a corporate traveller you can't beat a room on the higher floors with the executive club for special check in and out, business facilities, breakfast, morning tea, drinks, afternoon tea and evening drinks all complimentary. the staff were fantastic, always on the ball and very willing to assist.

Room Tip: Go the exec floors and you will save much more than the slight extra costs if, like us, you have tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear tombarnett

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services a good value for your money (every quid we hope) :)

We hope to receive you again in the future and expect you will wish to avail of our Club Lounge facilities once more.

Thank you once more for a fantastic review and sharing your experience with our other guests.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    490
    139
    35
    21
See reviews for
306
632
119
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is the fourth time I stay in this hotel, my last review was entitled : "Third wonderful stay".. Although my room, the food, the cleanliness overall were perfect as usual, my check in was this time very upsetting. Just to mention that it all depends on the person who is behind the counter of the reception when you arrive !!!
My check-In lasted more than 15 minutes. Considering that I am a member of "IHG", this hotel's chain, I would have imagined a much better reception : so many questions, and so much delay for a prepaid stay, we felt like unwelcome strangers; having refused a credit-card's deposit for possible additional expenses, I have been suggested to pay cash every consumption with the refusal of the hotel to put eventual additional charges to my hotel's bill...I asked this person if he was a trainee, he responded he was a Front-Office supervisor.
I suggest to the Management to take measures for correct training of new (European) staff.

I have always been very grateful to the staff in this hotel, especially to Rami, the Front Office Manager, and Miss Lamia, the Guest-Relations Manager, who very kindly and very professionally solved rapidly this issue.
Despite this unhappy reception, my stay was overall very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boutondargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Boutondargent

We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience and extremely apologetic that your fourth stay with us turned out to be an upsetting one right at the start.

We hope that this will not be your last stay with us. We have taken corrective measures to ensure that new staff is well trained and properly informed of not only our patrons but of our first time guests as well.

Once again please accept our deepest apologies and gratitude for your continued patronage. WE hope to receive you again in the future and promise your experience will be just as good as your first three visits, if not better.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

It is a very good hotel. It has excellent lobby and lavish living rooms and impressive dining area.

Room Tip: I recommend any visitor to stay at this hotel. I advise to choose sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SZAZAHID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear SZAZAHID

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed our lobby area, our living rooms and dining facilities. We are also please to note that you liked the view from our sea-view rooms.

We hope you will return in the future and give us the opportunity to serve you again

Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

A little dissapointed by being cut off by the roadworks, but overall good quality.

Room Tip: Pay for club and hope for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chooseyourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the service of our staff as well our Club room facilities.

At the same time we are sorry that you were disappointed with the road-works that were out of the control of the hotel.

We hope you will return again and see the works have been completed and enjoy a non disrupted service by us.

Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We arrived very late in the evening and we could not fault the front desk staff, extremely efficient and they kindly upgraded our suite which was a great start to a fabulous holiday and a very long journey. All the staff throughout our stay be it in the club room which was one of the best we have been in, the restaurant staff or the room cleaner were just so friendly and really made are holiday very special, i have never had so much evian water replenished in any hotel anywhere which as an evian drinker could not have made me happier (small things)!!. We ate in Chamas which was my favourite, Fishmarket twice which was fabulous, we loved the fact you could choose any fish and any sauce oh and the oysters were just great and a new edition to our diet, and the Yacht club which does go on until early mornings (take your earplugs if your not a night bird) it was a great end to the evenings. The beach was a little noisy but you kind of get used to the building work that is going ahead at present, lovely pool area with great service and great pizza for lunch in the Italian. We did venture out to Emirates palace and the new Etihad Towers which was much nicer than the palace we can really recommend beirut restaurant in the Towers if you want a change of scenery however it really is not necessary. Fine bottles of wine are expensive but no more than anywhere else in the world. All in all for a week away for new year we could not fault this hotel yes there are new expensive hotels being built but for relaxed and not stuffy 5 star you really can't go wrong with the intercontinental and to top it all we managed to get Coldplay tickets on New Years Eve, what more could we have asked for!, we will absolutely come back and stay here.

Room Tip: Join the ambassador programme and choose a club room at least on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAAWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear LAAWigan

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are delighted to note of your great experience during your visit to Abu Dhabi and your stay with us.

In particular we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our restaurants, the pool are and our our staff behaviour.

We look forward to welcoming you once again when you come during the winters and hope you find our services ever improving.
Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 km away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
1.1 km away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
0.7 km away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#37 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
6.0 km away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#11 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
17.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,549 - ₹ 26,218
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing