We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I am a resident of Abu Dhabi. Had a business visit to the hotel and used some of the service. Away form the main city, connected by a quiet motorway and offers a breathtaking view of the sea waves. A huge property but very pleasant to the eye in both exterior and interior. Spotlessly clean, extremely friendly staff, fantastic choice and quality of food. Rooms were spacious, with all standard 5 star facility. Did not stay overnight though but felt very good about practically everything.
If $400 per night is not an issue, recommended without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdebasisbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort.
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and positive comments about our resort based on your observation.
I look forward to welcoming you back at our resort and will be delighted to hear about your stay experience with us.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,931 of 2,566 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

The choice was simple - the St.Regis or the Park Hyatt. we got it wrong. Superficially this is a beautiful hotel, but it lacks character and personality, it was empty when we were there, but still the service was at best mediocre. We waited nearly an hour for room service breakfast, and when it came the order was wrong. We also waited 40 minutes for our luggage to b delivered, and 15 minutes for the valet to bring our car. However one night we went up the road to the Park Hyatt - the meal and service in the grill was excellent. That is where we will stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chunkyunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Allan,

I am disappointed to read your comment and of course I am sorry for any shortfalls in our service that you experienced. I would welcome an opportunity to discuss these issues further with you and can be contacted at StRegis.Saadiyat@stregis.com. Or should you visit the city in the weeks ahead, please do contact me directly and I will attempt to change your view.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you are looking for a hotel on the beach then St Regis could be the answer to all your dreams. It is a massive property but many of the rooms have a superb ocean view. The photographs of the turquoise water and white sand are accurate although there are quite a few stones.
My wife and I are SPG gold members and so we given an upgrade to a superior room with sea view. The room was fabulous and the bathroom was magnificent. The bed was very comfortable and all the expected services and facilities were available except in room tea and coffee. The butler service will bring complimentary tea on request along with attending to your every whim.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings throughout the hotel are exceptional, particularly the light fittings. The Iridium Spa is very good but the b/attitude Spa in Grosvenor House is in a different class.
The food is excellent. Breakfast buffet in Olea is as good as anywhere and better than most. The service is very attentive. An equally superb lunch and dinner buffet is available in Olea. Sontaya is a south-east asian restaurant which serves delightful food and where the staff are so pleasant and helpful. The 55 and 5th Grill is very expensive but it does provide a marvelous culinary experience. Again the staff are superb and the sommelier is appropriately knowledgeable. The wine list on an iPad is interesting. The costa in these restaurants is high but worth it...value can be had in Olea if you are hungry. Drink prices are very high.
The pool areas are beautiful and well attended by staff and lifeguards.
The hotel would benefit from a shuttle service which I am told is in the pipeline. Taxis can booked with 15 minutes notice but are reliable.
The staff in general are very good, particularly at the front desk and in the restaurants. As for the reminder of the staff, some are very good and others are trying very hard.
There is a super golf course around the hotel if you need a break from the beach.
Given that this is a brand new hotel with some obvious teething problems I am already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort and thank you for kind comments.
I am glad to hear your stay with us was wonderful and you took the time to truly experience our resort and our culinary offerings.
I will be happy to share your positive comments with our team and will certainly take your suggestion into consideration.
On behalf of the team, thank you again for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the St. Regis when visiting Abu Dhabi for a conference. Even though the hotel is not the closest to the Exhibition Centre, we brought our two kids with us, so for us this was the perfect spot.

The beach at the St. Regis is exactly what we had hoped it would be. Sandy, with turquoise waters and the most beautiful seashells one can possibly find. Since it is February the sea water was not very warm, however it was warm enough for us to go for a swim, including our 2-year old who loved it and didn't want to get out.

The pool selection was quite limited, with one big pool being closed for the winter and one being for adults only, we were left with the choice of one deep pool and the little splash pool at the kids club. It was enough to provide hours of fun though.

The kids club (called Sand Castle) is the best we have seen. The staff was incredibly attentive and patient, equally interested in face painting, sandcastle building or playing ball. Their splash pool has a big shade that covers about half of it, so one can stop worrying about the kids burning while spending hours playing in the water. Everything is enclosed, no option of escaping or getting lost.

Service at the St. Regis is perfect. Every request gets taken care of immediately. Our room was cleaned as soon as we left in the morning (it was ALWAYS done before we came back from the beach after about two hours). The rooms are incredibly soundproof; even when we could hear from the aisle that our neighbours were being very noisy, as soon as we walked into our room, we could no longer hear a single sound. Very impressive. Makes for GREAT sleep.

We ate at all the restaurants in service (there will be more opening soon) and everything was always great. Room service was prompt and food was very good as well. We loved the desserts and tea offered in the lobby, truly delicious.

Overall, we can only say good things about the St. Regis on Saadiyat Island. Our stay was perfect in every way. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort.
I appreciate you taking the time to post the review and thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear you truly enjoyed your stay with us and that your children enjoyed their time at Sandcastle Club, our dedicated facility for our little guests.
Just to let you know, the family pool in addition to our fully functional three outdoor pools, is now also open.
On behalf of the team, thank you again for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We picked st regis to try something new from the dubai beach hotels. Family with 2 young children so we were after something luxurious, relaxing with great food while a fun, safe and happening place for e kids. St regis saadiyat provides all that. I can really recommend it. Probably one of the three best places we've been to (in terms of beach resorts).

One thing to highlight, the hotel has only been open for three months. So, they are still working on it (main pool not yet open etc), there are plenty of small niggles they are fixing and the staff is not yet a well run machinery - BUT - assuming they progress in true st regis style over the next 6-12 months this should cement a place as a true world class beach resort for any traveller.

So my review takes the fact that a lot of work is still going into account but I havent discounted for it. Especially as we knew about it and didnt have much problem with it during our stay (although the kids drooled over the new main pool that wasnt open..)

Resort: fabulous mediterreanenan architecture. Massive place with hotel, villas, apartments and shopping centre. Right on a natural beach with great beach club and dolphines swiming aroun in the persian gulf.

Pools: two pools open and we spent all our time in the west pool which is great. Built on two levels and is almost like a club in itself. Restaurant, lounge, 3 pool sections and private cabanas. 34 degrees in the water, very good service..heaven!!

Rooms: excellent standards, spacious and very nice open plan bathrooms. We had a deluxe room, with balcony facing the ocean and this was def big enough for four of us. Go for an ocean suite if you want a separate room besides the bedroom.

Restaurants: generally very good. Een the buffe restaurant was good, sontaya the asian one we thought had excellent thai food. 55 and 5th (new york style steak house) on a different level. Super fine dining with great food and wine list. Try the short ribs..you will be surprised. Comes at a price but worth it.

So, all in all a great place that we will come back to. I think it wil get even better with time. The only negative thing i have to say is the cleaning wasnt 5 star but like other niggles i am sure the management will sort that out quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Richard,

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort. I thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review which I will be happy to share with the team. Glad to read about your experience at our restaurants which we are very proud of.
While your visit with us was during our first few weeks of operation, it is no excuse that certain spaces within our hotel were not up to the standard that we aim for it to be. I do apologize but I’m certain you will see all the changes when you visit us next.
Thank you again for the recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.3 km away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
12.8 km away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,479 reviews
16.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,502 reviews
15.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
5.8 km away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: ₹ 18,194 - ₹ 95,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing