We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Abu Dhabi City Golf Course

A golfer visiting Abu Dhabi, in the United Arab Emirates, has quite a lot of choice. There are... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2018
patgordon42
,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Total relaxation

Used pool facilities on a daily basis at various times of day x Always greeted with friendly staff... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2017
Cheryl S
Read all 104 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Abu Dhabi
from US$ 83.00
More Info
from US$ 70.00
More Info
from US$ 72.00
More Info
from US$ 69.00
More Info
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
36
44
6
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
44
6
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had ordered seafood pizza, I thought pizza would be a good choice for a place you visit for the first time, it was the worst pizza I ate in the whole world period.

Thank FadySZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

A golfer visiting Abu Dhabi, in the United Arab Emirates, has quite a lot of choice. There are three 18-hold golf courses that are satisfying for golfers of any level. For the most convenient golf, you can’t beat the Abu Dhabi City Golf Club, (ADCGC).

It’s located close to downtown, on the site of the Equestrian Club off 19th street. You can’t miss the sign advertising the 19th Hole Restaurant at the entrance gate. ADCGC has a lot going for it in addition to 9 holes of interesting and challenging golf. There’s a gym and a huge swimming pool and two pro-shops. They have a clubhouse restaurant and bar serving a wide variety of food and drinks with a special outlet upstairs that makes some of the best sushi in the city. One new addition to the clubhouse is a separate, gigantic smoking area where you can try your luck with the Arabic smoking device that features a long hose that drags the smoke through a vat of water before it hits your lungs. The common name for the pipe is “Hubbly Bubbly”. They normally feature a variety of different kinds of tobacco. Some of them are fruit based and all of them completely legal.

What should be of special interest to visitors on an expense account is that the club doesn’t have to charge the tourist tax levied by the Emirate on all hotels, their restaurants and bars. Since there’s no hotel on site, no tourist tax is applicable. That’s a huge savings right off the club head. Most nights you’ll find the place packed with local residents and nationals enjoying themselves in a relatively tax-free environment. They do have to charge the 0.5% VAT.

Getting back to golf, the course is surrounded by a horseracing track. According to Jojie Cruz, Golf Superintendent, the course is a combination of grasses: Bermuda, Paspalum and the occasional unknown variant. He and his staff carefully tend to whatever they can get to grow in this desert environment. Whatever they’re growing it seems to be working because the course plays nicely. The fairways are relatively narrow and there is a surprisingly large amount of water on the course. You can dunk your ball in the water on five of the nine holes.

The racecourse is out of bounds. Should your ball land on the racecourse; after your penalty shot, you’re expected to duck under the fence and retrieve it so a horse is not injured stepping on it. Horse traffic is relatively light and it’s no problem to look both ways before scampering out onto the track. The course is lighted for night play with the last tee off time at eight PM.

For me, the two finishing holes, eight and nine are killers. The 8th is a 610-yard par 8. Oops, my mistake, it’s a par 5, but I “par” it in about 8. It’s long, there’s water to cross and, after the water, there’s a deceptive uphill carry to the green.

The 9th hole has about a 200-yard carry to the water in front of the green leaving an approach shot of about 130 yards. The green itself is dangerously sloped. Your ball can roll back into the water, even after a really decent shot. Backspin is not required to get your ball wet. My all time record on this hole is four balls in the water, and a final score of eleven. That’s with a decent personal handicap of eighteen. Some days are just crap but it was really windy!

You’ll find everything you need to spend an enjoyable day and evening at the Abu Dhabi City Golf Club. If you aren’t traveling with golf gear you can rent just about everything except a golf swing. You can work on that at the driving range.

For more information Google them and go to their website.

captainpatrickgordon.com

Thank patgordon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We have been twice now in the last two weeks and it’s was really enjoyable not to mention the lovely food. I had the butter chicken curry and the house curry and both were absolutely delicious ! The staff were really efficient and friendly. Even the manger came over. Highly recommend this establishment for lunch and supper. The service is brilliant and the restuarant is very well managed. We will defiantly become regulars. Well done, definitely deserves 5 + review.

Thank Dafischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We are regular visitors here but last two visits have been terrible. Service has gone downhill dramatically - sat whilst people working talked - nobody interested in taking orders - should have walked out. Previous time one of our party asked to go to the kitchen to collect his order. Shame - this place used to be good and has so much potential

We will not be back whilst the current service levels are maintained or not as the case maybe!!!

2  Thank Pitmans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This is not the first time I visit this place since it has a broad variety of food offers during week days and further offers on the weekends, scenery is very nice and music played is also great , good place to be visited along with friends and family

Thank vderderian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We had a booking for a Christmas lunch (off the menu, not the brunch as I had a flight to catch). Husband called to confirm the booking the day before and all was good. We arrived and well... we were sat at a table - ostracized from the rest of the crowd. My husband went to order drinks and was told we weren’t a part of the brunch. He went inside to try and sort things out with our booking. No one had any idea. WE KNOW!!! We didn’t book the brunch option... Again he went inside to try and sort things out with staff at the main counter which is where our booking was made. Finally they knew what was going on. We were then moved from a non-Christmas decorated table to a Christmas decorated table. I can honesty say in the past 12 months, service has gone down hill at the establishment. Of all days to have a bad day, it happened to have been on Christmas Day.... We have never done a Christmas brunch / lunch at this establishment before and we certainly won’t be again.

Thank Nads71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Rude staff. No understanding of golf. No one of the course to hurry up slow players. It took 3 hours to play a 9 ball. Staff didn't think this was a problem. It's laughable.
I wouldn't waste my money again. Recommend the Westin instead. Staff there are very helpful and actually know what they are talking about! Worth the money!

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhian L, General Manager at Abu Dhabi City Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Karen,

Please accept our apologies for your bad experience here. Three hours to play 9 holes is certainly unacceptable. We've spoken to our golf operation team and they are unclear on what day this could have occurred. Please could you send a further email to office@adcitygolf.ae detailing the date and time so we can address the issue. Again, please accept our apologies and we look forward to receiving your email

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

An amzung outside setting with friendly waiters an one amazing menu. Loved a very tranquil dinner with amazing cocktails.

Thank LizaV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhian L, Manager at Abu Dhabi City Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time out to review us. We've passed your great comments onto our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Used pool facilities on a daily basis at various times of day x Always greeted with friendly staff happy to help ,small poolside menu with snack food to suit all tastes.alcholic and non alcholic beverages at usual AUE prices.Pool is suitable for all ages clean and well kept. Changing rooms toilets etc well kept.
Main reception.shop and restaurant very modern with a plethora. Of choice andagainnothing too much for staff to meet your requirements all in all wonderful time relaxing away from the hustle bustle of the city.

Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhian L, Manager at Abu Dhabi City Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time out to review us. We've passed on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you again to our Club!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This is the best course anywhere.....perhaps I'm basis having lived and played in Abu Dhabi for many years....was there last April...the course is lush and beautiful as ever although the greens were suffering from the January championship. Beautiful club house...friendly service. Best Nov to April.

1  Thank snkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews