We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic new menu😍”

Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar
Ranked #88 of 1,014 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 70 - US$ 150
Description: Bringing a new street food experience straight from the heart of Mexican food, Isla is the latest addition to the impressive list of franchises developed by HDC in Qatar. Created by Chef Richard Sandoval, internationally recognized as the Father of Modern Mexican Cuisine, Isla elevates Mexican cooking to new heights where guests savour authentic Mexican street comfort foods, in the casual yet upbeat dining room and patio or grab a churro and an exciting beverage to enjoy as you stroll.
Restaurant details
Description: Bringing a new street food experience straight from the heart of Mexican food, Isla is the latest addition to the impressive list of franchises developed by HDC in Qatar. Created by Chef Richard Sandoval, internationally recognized as the Father of Modern Mexican Cuisine, Isla elevates Mexican cooking to new heights where guests savour authentic Mexican street comfort foods, in the casual yet upbeat dining room and patio or grab a churro and an exciting beverage to enjoy as you stroll.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I love the new menu Isla offered.There are a lot of choices and everything was awesome.I tried the jalapeno pops and torta ahogada was really good.Julz served us.Excellent and attentive service as always.Keep up the good work and nice talking with you divine as well.....See you again guys

Thank M27Madrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Q, Manager at Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Madrigal,

We are delighted with your feedback after your last visit to Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar. On the new menu, it is indeed a bang! Developed by Chef Carlos, a Mexican Head Chef with huge experience, he ensured a wide variety of options in it. On what you tried, the Jalapeno pops are indeed amazing! A lot of people crave for them and their taste buds are always satisfied when they try them. Crafted to taste genuinely Mexican by an experienced team, that consistency will remain. The Torta Ahogada is even much more amazing. We are further delighted to know Julz was indeed professional in her hospitality and met every expectation of yours. Definitely, the team will keep that up! It was a pleasure to talk to you as well Madrigal!

We cannot wait to see you again! Do pop in for Tacos Tuesday, all you can eat! Wide selection at a very affordable rate.

Kind regards from me and the entire Isla team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

 Craving Mexican Food Isla Mexican Kitchen is necessary visit; With the New revamped Gringo’s Menu developed by Chef Carlos to reflect traditional flavors in a modern   gourmet presentation.  Jalapenos pops, Chicken wings must try, the tacos are so yummy however for me Frijoles Charros is a must try dish. The amazing slowly cooked meet served over a bed on beans stew is mouth-watering and delicious. Divine the manager is welcoming and attentive to every client’s needs. Ann the waitress was very friendly and well acquainted   with the menu items. Prices are very reasonable versus quality and service.

Thank Wissam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Q, Manager at Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Wissam,

It is indeed a huge delight for us to have received a feedback from you after your last visit to Isla Mexican Kitchen. Yes indeed the new menu is a great one with a wide variety of options to all. Crafted by our Head Chef with many years of experience in the Mexican cuisine, you won't be short of quality nor options. Jalapeno pops, Chicken wings are almost favorable to all! The tacos are indeed a delight as well. Personally for me as well, Frijoles con veneno is absolutely a big bang for your taste buds!
Great to know Ann as a team member met all your expectations being led by a manager who pays attention to details and very welcoming too! Did you know of our latest campaign; "All you can eat is Tacos" every Tuesday starting on 3rd of April? Do pop in again on this day and your taste buds will certainly be very much satisfied with yet another mouth-watering collection of tacos options.

Kind regards from me and the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We were a family of 4 and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. They have a new menu with plenty of choice including a kids menu. Mexican served was of a good quality and service was efficient. Recommended for a casual lunch overlooking the boats moored nearby.

Thank SJK3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Q, Manager at Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear "SJK",

We are delighted with your feedback after your last visit to Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar.Yes our new menu is a much more improved menu with many options for all. The kids menu is a fine inclusion to our menu. On food quality, we ensure that the food is genuinely mexican as we have an experienced Mexican Head Chef who manages the BOH team.On our service, we are delighted the staff met every expectation of yours. Thanks for recommending us!

Did you know we have a live band that plays every Thursday and Friday between 6 pm and 9 pm?
Do pop in at these times and get a thrill.

Kind regards from me and the entire Isla Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Isla Mexican Kitchen is one of my favorite Mexican restaurants here in Qatar. They have a wide variety of menus and they are all worth a try. The interior of the restaurant will give you a Mexican vibe because of its cactus, lights and colorful decorations. A must try dish is the Chimichanga de deshebrada. It is a Pan fried burrito stuffed with Monterrey style beef deshebrada and charro beans. Topped with charred poblano cream and mixed cheese. Served with Mexican rice and a drizzle of sour cream. Their stuff are friendly and very accommodating. I will definitely go back to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melanie Joana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Q, Manager at Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Melanie,

Fantastic to get a feedback from you after your last visit to Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar. Yes indeed, the new menu is full of many options and it is a must try! Thanks for that exact description of Chimichanga deshebrada. A must a try as well I will suggest is the Chamorro de Cordero. This Lamb shank is braised, served with mole and black been puree with some sauteed wild mushrooms.The experienced Mexican Head Chef in the kitchen ensures the food is crafted the genuine Mexican way.
On the decor, thank you for the description indeed. We are working even further to improve on it as well.

I am happy the staff were indeed professional in their service and met every expectation of yours.

We have a Rumba Latino live band that plays every Thursday and Friday, do pop in again at these times and you will be thrilled even further with our ambiance.

Kind regards from me and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

The food is pretty average. Guacamole was pretty much what you would expect anywhere, could have done with a little more salt and lime. The chicken fajitas were ok. There’s was plenty of chicken, but the rice and beans were completely bland. The churros were again ok. The rest of the good was best described as the same with the exception of the vegetarian fajitas. Why put a red chilli in the middle of some mixed capsicum? It was not taken as a nice surprise.

On a side note we were sat next to what was obviously a member of the management trying to impress food bloggers with the new menu that is due soon. Firstly he was sucking up the food bloggers whilst not actually eating any of the food, strange. Secondly he was very rude to the person who was running the floor. Finally the service was slow, but food was coming very quickly to the table with the bloggers, it appeared to us that they were being prioritised over the paying customers.

Overall it was ok. Not really worth a visit.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Q, Manager at Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Chris,

We are glad you sent us a feedback after your last visit to Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar.On our food, sorry to know amount of salt and lime in the guacamole you had was less to you. Perhaps that was just subjective as the recipe for the guacamole is same every day. That said still, your feedback will be given to the Head Chef for him to take a look at. Good to know the you enjoyed the chicken fajitas and churros. On the vegetable fajitas, the Chef might not agree with you as he is a very experienced Mexican Chef and has been doing this for so many years. That is the standard of his recipe. Again, we are sorry if that did not please you. Next time, we will recommend you speak to the manager about these concerns to get them resolved at once. On your side note, it is true we invited bloggers to try our new menu before relaunch. Of course, a member of the management team had to talk them through the menu for them to better understand everything about it. Whether he eats with them or not is not an issue at all from our point of view. Immediate corrective action requests to MOD is not really rude as you say. That is what is needed to speed up the service as you rightly earmarked that the service was slow. Of course no one can be prioritized over a customer.
Please turn these concerns into a positive feedback by speaking to the Manager immediately next time.

We are looking forward to welcome you again Chris.

Kind regards from me and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar also viewed

 

Been to Isla Mexican Kitchen Qatar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing