We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Golden Oldie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mutrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mutrah Hotel
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Golden Oldie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Although Mutrah hotel is the oldest modern hotel in Muscat (opened back in 1970), it's well worth staying there primary because of its position between old town Muscat (where famous Muscat Souk and Corniche are located), about 20 minutes on foot down a gentle hill slope and modern district of Ruwi (banks, main post office and the very pleasant and informative Museum of Sultan's Armed Forces - in fact a combination of historic and military museum). The service was swift and efficient (even at 4 AM when we arrived), the room 302 in which we stayed was spacious, clean and without any trace of smoke smell. Although there is more than one disco bar in the hotel, we couldn't neither hear the music nor feel the vibrations in our room. I can't comment on the quality of breakfast, as it wasn't included in the price. However, there's a rather big supermarket almost opposite the hotel, so self catering hasn't been a problem. It was always possible to find a parking place in the hotel courtyard for the car we've rented. The only place where the age of the hotel really shows are the elevators, which emit a groaning sound when in operation.

Room Tip: Try to take a room on higher floors (as far as possible from the disco bars). Ours (302 at the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    127
    42
    9
    12
See reviews for
29
68
72
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Perfect for independent travellers who want a nice clean hotel with good basic facilities. Ignore any bad comments in the past: the hotel has clearly been renovated and they are making great efforts to please. My room was spacious and clean with air-con, satellite TV, clean white sheets and spotless bathroom. The Indian food in the restaurant is delicious. The hotel has a relaxed friendly atmosphere and the mostly Indian staff are very sweet.The bar is huge and comfy and has a pool table where you can hang out and meet locals.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have nice views. Also, higher floors re probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very friendly staff, basic but OK breakfast, clean rooms but needs modernising. The burning of insense was overwhelmingf, indeed we thought someone had been smoking in the room immediately before we walked in. If you want clean, friendly accomodation and don't mind the slightly run-down atmospher or the high price (compared with , say The Arabian Courtyard in Dubai - see reviews) and the burning of insense then the Mutrah is for you, but not for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FujairahFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Arrived at 11pm at this hotel and were told, without explanation, that there were no rooms available ( I had a confirmed booking weeks ago) and we would be staying in another hotel. We were than made to put all our luggage in a van and brought to another hotel. The second hotel were not expecting us and there ensued a huge discussion in Arabic between 5 people which lasted for about 20 minutes. My pleas to the person that brought us there to tell us what was happening were ignored. Eventually we were given a room, which was dirty.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed in Mutrah hotel for 10 days. It was more than a budget hotel. Spacious, clean rooms with big bathroom and the staff was perfect. They helped me in every way they could and much more. The staff from the restaurant were kind and always with a smile on their face. The hotel is in walking distance fromNear Mutrah souk, the corniche and old Muscat. I definetely recomend it. I was travelling alone and Warda from the reception introduced me to another girl (that was travelling solo too) and we had the rest of our trip together.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat Governorate hotels
7.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#5 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
8.0 km away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.0 km away
Ruwi Hotel
Ruwi Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ruwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Al Falaj Hotel
Al Falaj Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ruwi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
15.7 km away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.0 km away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutrah Hotel

Property: Mutrah Hotel
Address: | Jabrooh, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat Governorate
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,406 - ₹ 13,077
Hotel Class:3 star — Mutrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mutrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutrah Hotel Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing