We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

had a great time in this spectacularly grand hotel. The rooms are fit for royalty and presidents.

Service, food and comfort were all excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Vegy,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading such a straight forward post that says it all!! We are really glad that you had such an amazing stay, looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    173
    42
    7
    10
See reviews for
99
141
60
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel is amazing indeed! I had to do a conference with them and everything went smooth with every detail. Staff are outstanding, facilities are top notch! Location is incredible. If you can splurge a bit, this is the place to stay in Beirut. My sincere thanks to the Phoenicia staff for their incredible hospitality, professionalism, and kindness. You made my stay memorable. Mabruk!

Room Tip: ask for a high rise room to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana_Raykova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Svetlana_Raykova,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for posting such a lovely review. It makes us proud to read that your stay was perfect and awesome in every detail !
Please note that we have communicated your 5 star review with the team as a thank you for their consistent work to provide the highest level of service and standards.
Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Phoenicia's location is very convenient. It's a walking to Zaintuney Bay, corniche and Solidere downtown (watch out for the cars when crossing the street!). It's also near most business offices and, therefore, one doesn't have to suffer through Beirut's traffic.

Room is comfortable. Because we booked late, we couldn't get the king size bed, no smoking room we requested. The receptionist instead arranged to combine the double beds in a no smoking room in the club floor. That worked well for us.

The hotel has a lot of pluses. However, smoking in the public areas (common in Lebanon and the region) and the pricey breakfast are a turn-off. Other than those, it would have been perfect.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo-bebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear JoJo-Bebot,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut and for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the facilities within and the highlights of our location and neighboring surrounding. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad to inform you that discussions are in place for a law to ban smoking in public areas in the future. So hopefully when you come back again it will be to healthier environment.
One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Beirut and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Went to Beirut for new year and stayed at the Phoenicia. A rather bigger hotel than I normally pick but as I had not been to Beirut before and it was new year we decided to stay at the best rated hotel. It was perfect. Extremely comfortable if not slightly old fashioned rooms. Definitely worth getting to know the guys at the concierge desk. They helped us find some really good restaurants and bars. Had a massage in the lovely spa at the hotel which was good, but the great thing about the hotel and the whole of Beirut are the people. Probably the most friendly city I have ever stayed in. We never felt uneasy at any time and everyone welcomed us and spoke to us in bars etc. New years eve was superb. Dress up well in Beirut theynare extremely smart and be prepared for the bill at the end of the night. With the exchange rate it is seriously expensive but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Definitely try to book a room high up and over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Leedsey,

We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback and post this review on trip advisor about Phoenicia Hotel even though time passed on your last stay with us.
Thank you for that and for your detailed comments and recommendations. Hopefully you will be planning a return visit to Beirut this summer so you get a chance to experience our renovated Presidential suites and the other side of Beirut with its hospitality and friendliness all over again.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and thank you again for your feedback,

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I checked in at this marvellous hotel 3 nights ago and everything has been impeccable until today when we decided to relax by the pool and enjoy the hotel for a day. People are allowed to smoke at the sun loungers yet one cannot enjoy shisha there, i was told quite rudely that I must go and sit at a table if I wanted shisha - I then proceeded to sit on a sofa which I should add I had been using every night at which to smoke shisha and was then told no I must sit on a table - I was very annoyed considering the whole plae was practically empty with 6 people sitting in the entire area including me and my husband, I think cOnsidering the quality of the hotel and price of the shisha guests should be allowed to smoke where they like and not be treated like school children, I was ready to write a glowing report on this hotel but am extremely disappointed by the daytime pool staff who I found to be extremely rude and nonsensical. Very unfortunate as the hotel itself is impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheeni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
1.2 km away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
5.2 km away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
2.6 km away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#5 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,284 - ₹ 25,561
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing