We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Lebanese Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
“Elegant Lebanese Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The service and hospitality are always up to the standards in the intercontinental hotels. Staying in phoenicia hotel for 5 days was a wonderful pleasure for it's service and view and location. I just think the price is a bit high but i advise everyone to try it.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Francois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Francois,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading such a straight forward post that says it all!!
As all Intercontinental Hotels, Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, works hard to maintain a Five Star hospitality and service with the Lebanese touch you mentioned in your subject.

We are glad you enjoyed the experience and thank you for recommending Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    167
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
94
138
60
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days in November 2011 and it was indeed elegantly designed. My hotel room had a nice sea view, clean and spacious. I understand that Phoenicia is a 5 star hotel but I still find the room rates ridiculously expensive including their food prices. I was not very impressed with the service either, the reception staff who checked me in seemed a little aloof instead of the usual hospitable 5 star welcoming attitude. When I ordered food from room service the woman who took my order was disappointing and unhelpful, I was asking for her opinion/suggestion on certain Lebanese food that I can try and she answered me with “you can order whatever you like” and the service was also a bit slow. When I checked out and ask for clarification on my bill the reception lady seemed to be a little impatient explaining the figures on my bill statement. Phoenicia’s elegance is unquestionable but the service (which is an important factor in the hotel industry) could have matched the elegance of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BossyMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Shery R,
Thank you for staying with us in November 2011 and for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor.
As a follow up on the correspondence we had, we just like to apologize again for the inconvenience you have encountered during your last stay with us. You may rest assured that your comments were noted with great concern, and detailed investigations with the Front Desk and Room Service staff have been taken, along with the corrective measures to avoid future repeats.
We take great pride in maintaining a reputation for excellence, and you, as a valuable customer, should never experience such situations. I honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Phoenicia Beirut is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for sharing with us your beneficial comments and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at the Phoenicia Beirut, where every member of the Hotel’s team will do his utmost to make your stay as much memorable as enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The room, location and the sea view are Excellent , the reception is big and busy and you can walk out of the hotel and enjoy the hotel central location or enjoy walking on the Cornish road.
Zaytuna bay is within 5minutes walking with varieties of restaurants.
Reception staffs are very helpful

Room Tip: The sea view and marina view are the best rooms, stay away from the side rooms, few rooms have balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harb_hany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Mr. Harb_Hany,
Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we appreciate your feedback and review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Mediterranean view had a lasting impact on you.
We fully agree and we are happy with the close proximity to the neighboring areas and we believe that Zaitunay Bay had a great impact on the surrounding and it has a good selection for entertainment.
Once again, please let us express our appreciation for your review regarding our services and staff …
Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut.

Best Regards
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed there the second week of April and it was just perfect. It is really hard to fault this monument of Lebanese hospitality......and i have tried. my only comment is that the "city view" is actually a "construction view" so i opted for a transfer to sea view which is nice but without a balcony (a total waste of an excellent med. view) so in order to enjoy the view you have to face the window and consciously look.

The location is one of the best in Beirut and even better now with the opening of the Zeitouna Bay across the street. Zeitouna Bay is a collection of high-end Shops and restaurants overlooking the beautiful, yacht friendly, marina.

Oh!!! one more little detail. They have excellent breakfast varieties so make sure you add that to your experience.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhahran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Dhahran,
Thank you for staying with us during the month of April hope you enjoyed the spring sensations and thank you for taking the time to post this review. We highly appreciate your feedback and it makes us proud that you described Phoenicia Hotel as a monument of Lebanese Hospitality! Thank you for that!
We are in a location that highlights it all, from the blue sea to the historical “authentic” views. But stay assured that we will be noting your preferences for a balcony and marina view for future reservations.
Plus, we agree that Zaitunay Bay adds value to our location and a special touch to the area and it is a fantastic place to visit.
Thank you again for your honest review and for the details provided, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we promise you much more varieties at Mosaic our buffet restaurant along with many other specialties to add to your experience.
In the mean time stay connected with us through Facebook and twitter (Phoenicia Beirut) for more offers and news to come.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just spent Easter weekend at the Phoenicia. It was a charming, beautiful hotel. The concierge service of Liliane was very impressive. She answered many of my questions beforehand and helped plan out our visit once we arrived. My husband and I were trying to sort out Easter Mass times prior to our arrival and had no luck on the internet. Liliane tracked down all of the information we needed to make our decision to visit Beirut. She arranged to maximize our visit by organizing a driver for us to visit outside the city.The hotel is lovely, a great location with the nicest most professional personnel! We loved walking all over the city and exploring the various neighborhoods.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a good view! City view is of a bombed out hotel next door. However perhaps tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBHDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear MBHDubai,
Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we would like to wish you a belated Happy Easter and we are happy you enjoyed your Holiday. We appreciate you taking the time to post this review and share your feedback about our hotel and our team members.
We are glad to know that you had a great experience and appreciated our concierge team, especially Liliane’s service and professionalism. Please note that with delight we shared your heartfelt comments with her and with the rest of the team.
Hope the weather was sunny and you enjoyed your walk in Beirut and got the chance to visit and explore its surrounding areas.
Once again thank you for your review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel’s image and service.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
1.1 km away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 119 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
5.2 km away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 119 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.5 km away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#4 of 119 in Beirut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,165 - ₹ 20,419
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing